Registration For Inflatable Boat
rogerdodger said:the rules on registering boats in Oregon is not based on construction of the boat, it is based just on how it is powered: manual powered , sail powered or motor powered …cheers, roger
Also, I believe if this is a new registration, there is a $50 fee on top of the$4.50 per foot registration cost.Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
Or Vessel Renewals & Replacements
All boat registration certificates are valid for 2 calendar years and expire December 31 of the final registration year. The OSMB will mail you a renewal notice before you registration expires.
You can renew vessel registration in any of the following ways:
- Provide information about your boat ANDthe necessary renewal fees using RegLine, the OMSB’s online registration renewal system.
- Take your renewal notice ANDthe applicable renewal feesin person to any OSMB agency.
- Mail the renewal notice ANDall appropriate renewal fees to the address printed on your notice.
Oregon Boat Registration Basics
In Oregon, valid boat registration must be maintained for purchased watercraft and boats. Up-to-date boat titles are also required. However, some types of boats could be exempt from these standards.
Exact rules depend on the type of motorized water vessel being registered. To prove their eligibility for registration, applicants should provide the following forms of documentation:
- Proof of boat ownership
- Proof of identity
- Bill of sale certificate, if applicable
Upon request approval, boat registration stickers are administered to new boaters. These stickers must be affixed to owned water vessels and/or boats.
A replacement is also available for OR boaters. Boaters should request documents via the OR State Marine Board.
You May Like: How Much Does Freedom Boat Club Cost To Join
Complete The Course In Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, its easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
How Do I Get My Oregon Certificate
1. After you complete the course you will be issued a printable copy of your certificate that you can print yourself and use immediately for the next 30 days. 2. The Oregon State Marine Board requires that you purchase a safe boating card for $20.00. The card can be purchased two ways, through the Oregon State Marine Board website or through your account on the BoatUS Foundation e-learning site for $21.00. View instructions for using the system here and access the Boat Oregon website at www.BoatOregon.com. The Oregon State Marine Board WILL accept a photo or scanned copy of your printed temporary certificate as proof of course completion.
Also Check: Does Minnesota Require Boat Insurance
Read Also: How To Clean Mildew Off Boat Seats
Oregon Boater Safety Courses
In Oregon, online boaters safety courses and in-classroom instruction are the education course methods available to drivers. These classes go over important safety concepts that should be considered by state residents.
Understanding this information is imperative in order to safely drive motorized watercraft in the state. Students can expect to learn about how to navigate waterways, safely practice watersports and adhere to boating laws.
The Oregon State Marine Board To Begin Sending Out Registration Renewal Notices
Boaters who own a watercraft registered with the Oregon State Marine Board will receive a registration renewal notice shortly.
SALEM, Ore. — The Oregon State Marine board is beginning to reach out to boaters who own watercraft with registration expiring on December 31, 2020.
For those who have an email on file with the Oregon State Marine Board, expect an email regarding registration this week. Boaters who do not have an email on file will receive a Boat Registration Renewal Notice by mail, the week of November 9.
Any watercraft with a motor or any sailboats 12 feet or longer are required to title and register with the Marine Board.
The agency would like to remind boaters to contact the Marine Board if a craft has been sold. It’s also state law that any new owner of a boat, boathouse, or floating home with valid identifying numbers, apply for a boat title and registration within 30 days of obtaining the craft.
Read Also: Where Can I Sell My Boat Fast
Getting A Boating License In Oregon
Boater education cards are obtained in Oregon after drivers complete safety courses in the state. All required components should be completed for boating privileges to be administered. Online and in-person courses are offered for the convenience of new boaters. The following certification steps are required for new applicants:
How To Obtain A Boating License In Oregon
Oregon boating licenses are granted to eligible residents living in the state. These eligibility requirements are established to ensure only qualified applicants are provided with driving privileges. The OR State Marine Board develops steps for how to get a boating license for residents. Once eligibility is established, drivers can begin the process of obtaining driving privileges for motorized watercraft. Understanding these steps in advance is helpful for navigating the process in the future.
All new boaters must take education courses and pass a final examination to be granted permits. Online boating license classes are available, along with in person courses. Drivers can choose the type of class that best fits their needs. Fees are sometimes assessed for final examinations. Additionally, valid title and registration must be acquired for owners of personal watercraft. Continue reading to find out about the process of obtaining boating privileges in Oregon.
Also Check: How To Get Mold Out Of Vinyl Boat Seats
Read Also: How To Pick A Prop For My Boat
For Used/second Hand Boats
You need to follow a simple 3 step process:
Register Your Boat Before You Hit The Water In Oregon
Although they are often skippered by teens and young adults, boats are not toys. Both the craft and its operator must comply with all Federal and state requirements, no matter whether you live in Oregon or elsewhere.
If youre heading out on the water, whether its or , or elsewhere, be prepared.
Federal regulations require that most watercraft be registered and have an identification number. A validation sticker and registration number must be displayed on the craft. The U.S. Coast Guard enforces the federal laws, rules and operating procedures.
State regulations vary, but may require the operator to be of a minimum age , complete a safe boating course and/or obtain an operators certificate. Oregon and local jurisdictions may also regulate speed limits, hours and areas of operation. Click on a state below for more details.
State Boating Registration websites
Read Also: Apply Boat Registration Numbers
Exemptions From Boat Registration And Titling In State
Is your boat exempt from registration in Oregon? is a question many boaters may encounter. There are few common registration exemptions Oregon that boaters should be aware of. Rather than list which boats are exempt from registration in Oregon, it is more comprehensive to state which boats are not exempt.
The only boats that do not require registration and titling in Oregon are those without motors. All motorboats must be titled and registered regardless of size, construction or type and size of motor. Inflatable rafts with motors, personal watercraft such as jet skis, and sailboats measuring 12 or longer must all be registered.
Required Carbon Monoxide Sticker
By law, any new or used motor vessel, other than a Jet Ski type personal watercraft, must display a sticker that warns passengers of the dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning. Use the Washington State CO warning sticker or a Department of Licensing approved sticker previously installed in another state or by the manufacturer. If you donât receive a sticker when you renew or register, contact your local vehicle licensing office or call 902-3812 or 833-6388 .
For more information or questions related to the warning sticker, call 902-3770, option 5. Download the carbon monoxide informational brochure, Boating and the Dangers of Carbon Monoxide.
Don’t Miss: How Do I Register My Boat In Colorado
Renewing Your State Boat Registration
You may renew boat registration online in Oregon via the RegLine system. Methods of how to renew your boat registration in Oregon also include the following options:
- In-person boat registration renewal in Oregon can be done by visiting a Boat Registration Agent. The agent will charge a processing fee. A temporary permit will be issued for immediate use, and it can take 4 to 6 weeks for the permanent decals to arrive in the mail.
- S. Mail renewal is best utilized by consulting the boat registration renewal coupon that is mailed to the registered owner near registration expiration every two years. Simply return the coupon with fees covering the amount indicated. Decals may take 4 to 6 weeks to arrive, but you may ask the clerk to mail a temporary renewal receipt to you.
When renewing online for the first time, you must first create an account. You will know when to renew a boat registration in OR because all decals expire every other year on December 31.
Boats And Boat Trailers
The Oregon DMV does not require you to register boats. If your loaded trailer weighs under 1,800 lbs., itâs not necessary to register, title or apply for a permit to use it on public roads. However, make sure that your trailer meets safety standards. You can also call the Transportation Safety Division at 986-3883.
Keep in mind that the DMV considers some boat trailers âlight trailers.â If your loaded trailer weighs 1,800 lbs. to 8,000 lbs., you will need to register it under the âlight trailerâ classification. The only exception is for rental trailers, special use trailers, recreational trailers, and fixed loads. See the category below for more information.
Read Also: Is Boat Insurance Required In Washington State
Replace Lost Registration Or Title
Are your boat registration, decals, or title are lost or damaged? Don’t worry! You can request replacements:
- Online by submitting information about your boat ANDthe necessary fees using the Oregon State Marine Board’s RegLine system.OR
- A duplicate vessel title: A completed Replacement Boat Title Application.
- Duplicate boat registration OR decals: A written request for a replacement registration card and/or decals, which includes your name and mailing address AS WELL AS your vessel’s certificate number.
To complete your request for replacements , send the above items to:
- Oregon State Marine Board
- P.O. Box 14145
- Salem, OR 97309
If you need a temporary permit to use your boat while waiting for replacement registration decals to arrive, you can present your vessel’s title at any OSMB agency and get back on the water that day.
Other Facts About Titling And Registering Your Boat
Here are some additional facts about titling and registering your boat.
- A Certificate of Number is issued for two calendar years and is valid until December 31 of the year indicated. Owners of boats that have already been registered will be sent a renewal notice in November.
- If you change your address, you must notify the OSMB within 30 days of the change. To update your address, you may do one of the following:
- Change the address for your account from the OSMB websiteor…
- Send an email to or…
- Mail the request within 30 days of the change.
Recommended Reading: How To Measure For Bimini Top
Renewing And Replacing Oregon Boating Licenses
Boater exam certification forms should remain on drivers when operating boats or motorized vessels in the state. If certificates are lost or stolen, they must be replaced immediately. When law enforcement asks drivers to produce education verification, failing to do so could result in fines and/or tickets being assessed.
An official request for a replacement card should be submitted online in Oregon. Temporary online boating course certificates can be printed while drivers wait for official forms to come in the mail. Additionally, an $8 fee is due when requests are submitted.
Can Passengers Drink On A Boat In Oregon
Under Oregon boating laws, boaters are allowed to drink alcohol if they otherwise are legal to drink, and they may also have open containers of alcohol on board. However, they are not allowed to be intoxicated while operating a boat and that includes being one of several paddlers on a raft, according to the law.
Also Check: How To Get Mold Stains Out Of Boat Seats
Recreational Trailers And Campers
The DMV defines a camper as a structure that isnât permanently attached to the the vehicle but is mounted on the vehicle, has facilities for habitation, and is at least 6 feet long and at least 5.5 feet high . A camper has no more than one axle to support the total weight of the structure.
The DMV defines trailers as campers that are permanently affixed to the vehicle.
You can register your trailer or camper by doing the following:
- Complete an Application for Title and Registration . Registration is valid for 2 years.
- Pay fees.
- You can use the DMVâs Camper and Travel Trailer Schedule of Registration Fees to see how much youâll have to pay for registration. Typically, the DMV charges $81 for up to 10 feet and the fee increases from there.
- The DMV requires your trailer or camper to have a registration plate. If it doesnât, youâll have to pay a plate fee.
- If you need to title your trailer or camper at the same time, you must also pay the title fee.
Where Do I Register My Boat
A good place to start is right here on Discover Boatingjust visit our Boat Registration page, which allows you to start the registration process online. In most states, you can also register a boat with the Department of Motor Vehicles. In some cases it may be with the Department of Fish and Game, the Department of Licensing, or the Department of Natural Resources . A boat can be officially registered in only one state.
Also Check: How Much To Join Freedom Boat Club
Don’t Miss: Best Type Of Boat For Family
Official Oregon Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating licenseno timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the Oregon State Marine Board.
You need boating education in Oregon if you will be operating a boat powered by a motor greater than 10 hp or a personal watercraft .
This course is approved by the state of Oregon and, once successfully completed, will result in your Oregon Boating License.
Boat Registration Numbers And Stickers
A boat registration number is its license plate and is comprised of letters and numbers that must be displayed on the hull, near the bow, on the front third of the boat on both sides. The letters and numbers must be read from left to right and may have a minimum size . The numbers can also be painted on. A registration sticker or decal proves that your boat registration is valid for that year. The length of validity varies by state but can be from one to three years.
Recommended Reading: Boat Cover Patch Repair
Waterway Access And Aquatic Invasive Species Permits
A Waterway Access Permit is required for non-motorized boats 10 feet and longer. The Aquatic Invasive Species Permit is included in Waterway Access Permits are required for paddlecraft 10 feet and longer, and an out-of-state aquatic invasive species permit is required for motorized boats operating in Oregon waterways.
The Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Program
This program was established by the Oregon Legislature ) to help keep Oregons lakes, rivers and streams free of destructive invasive species like zebra and quagga mussels. Boaters on Oregon waters help support this program through the purchase of Waterway Access or Aquatic Invasive Species permits:
What kind of permit do you need?
|Type of boat|
- Anyone traveling through Oregon and not launching watercraft in state waters DOES NOT need a permit.
- The Waterway Access Permit is transferrable to other non-motorized watercraft.
- Children 13 and younger do not need a permit.
*This includes kayaks, canoes, rafts and other inflatables, stand-up paddle boards, etc.
Permit fees help fund the Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Program and a new Oregon State Marine Board Waterway Access Account for the development of non-motorized boating facilities.
Recommended Reading: Banana Boat Deep Tanning Dry Oil Review