Virginia Proctored Challenge Exam
If you are an experienced boater and have a good working knowledge of the navigation rules and Virginia boating laws, you may opt to take an 80-question challenge exam. These exams will be scheduled throughout Virginia. The exam is closed book, no reference material is allowed in the examination room. or other online study material may be utilized to prepare for the exam. We do not offer a study guide.
Do I Need A Boating License To Operate A Boat In Virginia
- All motorboat operators of 10 hp or greater, regardless of age, and all PWC operators 14 years old or older must take a boating safety course to get licensed.
- No one under the age of 14 may operate a PWC.
- Operators 14 and 15 years of age must show proof of completing their education and provide a license.
- If you do not have a state drivers license, you can still obtain a boating license in Virginia.
- You do not have to sign up for a course if you have previously taken a NASBLA-approved boating safety course and still have a card/certificate. Most state boating courses, United States Coast Guard Auxiliary courses, and United States Power Squadrons courses are NASBLA-approved.
The purpose of the required classes and licenses is to have fewer accidents and fatalities in the future. It also helps to better fund enforcement of the laws governing the operation of motorboats and PWCs on our tidal and inland bodies of water.
Do I Need Boat Insurance In West Virginia
Boats in West Virginia are not required to be insured, however it is recommended.
Boats in West Virginia are required to correctly display their registration number and validation stickers.
Registration numbers and stickers must be displayed as follows:
- Numbers must be applied as a decal, painted or permanently affixed to each side of the boats bow .
- The registration number must be in bold block letters that are at least 3 inches high and in a color that contrasts with the color of the boat.
- The numbers in the registration number must be separated from the letters by a hyphen or by an equivalent space.
- The number must be read from left to right.
- Validation decals must be affixed on both sides of the boat and be placed within 6 inches immediately following the assigned West Virginia number.
- These requirements also apply to personal watercraft .
Also Check: How To Clean Mold Off Of Boat Seats
Why Is Boater Education Important
In the United States alone, more than 40 states have educational requirements that must be completed before you can operate a recreational vessel or personal watercraft on state waters. State law enforcement officers and boater safety agencies enforce education requirements to make sure everyones nautical experience is both pleasant and safe. Cooperate with them by following the boating laws and regulations found in your states approved boating license safety course, and carry your boater education certificate on board your vessel in case an enforcement officer asks to inspect it.
Even if your state does not require boaters to complete a boating license safety course before taking to the water, boating safety education can save lives and reduce accidents on the water. Boat Eds safety content, live-action videos, and up-to-date animations can help you learn about responsible boat operation and the rules of the waterways so that you can keep yourself and your passengers safe while boating. An educated boater is a safer boater.
Virginia Boat Registration Basics
In Virginia, a boat registration is required by all motorized boats that are used within the state. A boat title should be requested when registering if the owner is not already in possession of an up-to-date title document. All titling and registration procedures for water vessels are overseen by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles . All motorized water vehicles must be correctly registered and titled before heading out on Virginia waterways.
Registered water vessels should display the boat registration stickers given by the DMV in the correct location to be easily seen by the necessary officials. Upon application for registration, the boat owner will receive a temporary registration document that is valid for 90 days until he or she receives his or her permanent registration card in the mail.
Recommended Reading: Freedom Boat Club Membership Fees
Virginia Boater License Requirements
On this page, you can find Virginia boater license requirements pages. This list is build manually with all the relevant results available on the web. You can click on any of the link and it will take you directly to the page you’re looking for.
You can also use the search option if you can’t find what you’re looking for. Our database has millions of web pages and the most relevant links according to your query. You can also request to remove any not working or irrelevant links on our website. You can use the contact us page to request a web page that is not uploaded on our website.
Virginia Boating Safety Education Requirements
In 2007, the Virginia General Assembly enacted a law to establish a boating safety education compliance requirement. The requirement for boating safety education is phased-in over several years and applies to all Personal Watercraft * operators and operators of boats with motors of 10hp and greater according to the following schedule: PWC operators between the ages of 16 and 20 years of …
Recommended Reading: Best Deck Boat For The Money
Virginia Boat Registration & Titling
The title, registration and license plates for your boat trailer are obtained from the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles . If a registered watercraft is sold, destroyed, abandoned, or stolen, or if there is a change in your mailing address, you are required by law to report this information in writing, within 15 days to the DGIF.
What Is The Proof Of Online Virginia Boat Ed Course Completion
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boater Education Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Boater Education Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 90 days after course completion.
Read Also: Best Bass Boat Cranking Battery
Virginia Boating License & Boat Safety Course
Do you need Virginia Boating education? All PWC operators age 14 and older and all motorboat operators of 10 hp or greater regardless of age need to take a boating safety course. Get boater certified in 3 steps. Study and pass the $34.95 online course. Print your online course completion document. Get ready to go boating!
How Long Does It Take To Get A Boat License
The Online Course & Test take approximately 3 hours to complete. You can print your Temporary Card immediately once you pass the Transport Canada Test, and your Permanent Card will arrive in the mail within 4 weeks!
How much is the Virginia boating license?
Approved Online Course Providers Any of these courses will meet Virginias Boating Safety Education Requirement. Many of these providers are fee-based, with fees paid directly to the course provider on a no pass, no pay basis. The prices range from Free to $29.95.
Also Check: Oklahoma Boat Requirements
West Virginia Boat Registration Basics
Boat registration is required for all water vessels propelled by an electrical, steam, gas, diesel or other fuel propelled or driven motor operating in West Virginia. Both boat title and registration procedures are overseen by the WV Division of Motor Vehicles , which accepts applications accompanied by the necessary processing $15 fee. Registration and title documents issued in West Virginia have a validity of three years.
Upon registration, the boat owner will receive boat registration stickers that he or she must display on his or her water vessel. The water vessel will also be issued a certificate number that will remain with the vessel throughout its lifetime. Boating without a valid registration or title is illegal in West Virginia, akin to driving a motor vehicle on the road without a valid drivers license.
How Long Does It Take To Get A Boating License In Virginia
Do you have to have a license to drive a boat in virginia?
Virginia law requires all motorized watercraft operators born after 1974 to pass a boater safety course and to carry a boater education card.
How long does the online boaters safety course take?
Also Check: Clean Mildew From Boat Seats
West Virginia Boating Destinations
More than 20 of WVs lakes are over 100 acres in size. These lakes cover 20,118 acres of fishable and boatable waters if that werent enough, there are also 2,000 miles of navigable streams, 41 impoundments, and 30 ponds managed by the Division of Natural Resources .
The Mountain State has no shortage of water activities, from boating Summersville lake to paddling the Potomac River, or white-water rafting the New River Gorge, youll be sure to find a boating activity thats right up your alley. Boaters in WV can even cruise right through the capital on the Kanawha River, and float past their gold emblazoned Capitol building.
The West Virginia DNR provides a list of boating access sites and launch ramps, fishing areas and lakes on their website.
What If I Dont Live In The United States But I Want To Learn Boating Safety
Boat Ed resources and educational materials have been developed in conjunction with boating safety experts and state boating safety agencies throughout the United States. State courses are recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard and approved by both the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators and the agency responsible for boating safety in that state.
Boat Ed has also been accredited by Transport Canada to offer a boating safety course and administer tests for the issuance of the Pleasure Craft Operator Card , including replacement cards, for Canadian boaters. The Boat Canada course is offered nationwide and has been recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard and NASBLA.
All states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canadas requirements.
Read Also: Mildew On Vinyl Boat Seats
Do You Need Boat Insurance In Va
Although the law in VA does not mandate that you carry boat insurance, it does require that you register your vessel with the state and take a boating safety course at the completion of which you will receive a certification. Some Virginia marinas also require boat insurance in order for you to dock your vessel there.
Virginia Boating Safety Course: Boatus Foundation
Youngsters can operate a boat under direct supervision of a person who meets the boating safety education requirement. The Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources supports NASBLA approved boating courses. Information on a classroom course near you can be found by calling DWR at 367-1000 or visit the BoatUS Foundation’s Courseline …
Don’t Miss: Banana Boat Animal Testing
Why Should I Take My Boating Safety Course With Boat Ed
Boat Ed is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC., a print and online provider of recreational safety education, and is dedicated to providing print and Internet boating education courses and certification across North America.
Boat Ed is the only boating safety education course and exam provider that develops online courses, eBooks, and print materials on behalf of government boating and boater safety agencies in North America.
Do You Need A License To Drive A Boat In West Virginia
A boat certification is required by all boat operators in West Virginia who were born after December 31, 1986. Getting a boat license or attending an education program is not necessary for WV drivers born before this date.
Oftentimes, drivers of small boats without a motor do not need to meet licensing requirements either. The DNR requires drivers to complete an education program instead of applying for a typical license.
Read Also: Boat Mildew Remover
How Much Is The Virginia Boating License
You can obtain your Virginia Boating Certificate in 3 easy steps: Pay the one- time fee of $29.95 free unlimited retries of the chapter quizzes. Study the Virginia Boating Safety Course and pass the end of chapter quizzes. Print a temporary card and receive your permanent card in the mail within 3-5 weeks.
Approved Interactive Online Course Providers
- These courses are provided by commercial vendors and are not administered by DWR.
- These courses are interactive, requiring the student to interact with the course in order to pass modules and exam.
- These courses do not require timers and can be completed at any pace so long as each module and exam is successfully passed.
- They are NASBLA Approved and accepted by DWR however, DWR does not maintain their student records.
- Any of these courses will meet Virginias Boating Safety Education Requirement.
- Many of these providers are fee-based, with fees paid directly to the course provider on a no pass, no pay basis.
- Should you need to contact them for information or to obtain a replacement certificate, please call them directly at the numbers listed below:
- iLearntoBoat iLearntoBoat 1-800-830-2268
Read Also: Clean Mildew Off Boat Seats
West Virginia Boat License Requirements
Where to get a boating license in West Virginia depends on where a driver can find a state-approved course currently accepting students by them. Drivers can also choose to enroll in an online boaters safety course to meet the states education requirements to avoid attending a course in-person. All classroom-based courses in West Virginia are taught by one of the following state-approved groups:
- The United States Coast Guard Auxiliary
- The United States Power Squadron
- The West Virginia Division of Natural Resources
- Individuals certified by the DNR to teach boating safety
The boating license age when drivers can legally drive a water vessel without supervision is 16 years of age in West Virginia. Drivers between 12 to 15 years of age can operate applicable water vessels under the supervision of an eligible adult driver and boats with less than 10 horsepower without adult supervision.
Some boat drivers are exempt from the typical WV boat license requirements required of other drivers born after 1986. Any boat operator that means any of the following conditions is not obligated to complete a WV boaters safety course:
Virginia Requires A Boating License For Boats And Jet Skis
Last summer I was at a friends lake-home enjoying the boats and jet skis when he asked if I had a boating license, so that I could drive. I didnt even know there was such a thing. Since Im under 50 years old, I apparently needed a boating license. The law went into affect that in a progressive manner, depending on age, all watercraft drivers would need a license.
According to the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries website a law went into affect in July of 2012 requiring drivers of watercraft that are under 50 to have a drivers license.
As of July 1, 2012, all PWC operators age 14 and older and motorboat operators 30 and younger must complete a boating safety course. This is the next phase-in of the Education Compliance Requirement for all Virginia boaters. Beginning July 1, 2013, all motorboat operators ages 40 and younger need to take a boating safety course.
PWC Age Restriction: No person under the age of 14 may operate a PWC. Those operators 14 and 15 MUST show proof of completing an approved and accepted boating safety course either in a classroom or online. The challenge exam or other provisions of the Education Compliance Requirement do not meet the requirements of the age restriction law.
The law requires 6 hours of actual learning and the online programs are timed to ensure you stay active for the entire six hours. I looked at three websites, completed the first session of each and then decided to complete the program with BoaterExam.com.
Recommended Reading: Mildew Remover For Boats
Do You Need A License To Drive A Boat In Maryland
Boating Safety Education Requirement In Maryland, the law states that anyone born on or after July 1, 1972, must possess a certificate of boating safety education in order to operate any motorized vessel. This certificate is non-renewable and must be carried by the student at all times while operating a vessel.
Can You Drive A Boat Without A License In Virginia
Do you need a Boating License in Virginia? Virginia law requires all motorized watercraft operators to pass a boater safety course and to carry a boater education card. The term boating license refers to the boater education card that you receive after successfully completing a boater safety course.
You May Like: How To Keep Birds Off Boat Dock
Ways To Take A Boating Safety Course
- Boating Safety Education Requirement
- Ways to Take a Boating Safety Course
Following are the various ways that you can take a boating safety course, including classroom, home study and online. Some have an associated cost, while others are free find the one that suits you best and make sure you are safe on the water! Once you complete the course, the course completion certificate or card that is provided by the course provider is what is required to operate a vessel.
How To Apply For A Boating License
In many states across the U.S., a boating license is required to operate most common types of large or motorized water vessels on both waterways and open coastal waters. How to get a boating license is decided on a state by state basis as there is no national legislation for licensing requirements. It is also common for states to forgo the licensing process and to instead require residents to complete a state-approved boating program before operating most types of water vessels. Boaters living in these states are usually required to carry their proof of completion of the necessary course as a permit for boat operation.
Many states allow residents to apply for an online boating license or to enroll in an accredited web-based education program. Most states also offer residents classroom-based boat certification courses that can be taken for a minimal fee if not offered for free by the community. All boaters must meet state eligibility requirements in order to operate a water vessel in that state. Boat operators are required to replace lost licenses or education cards if they are lost or stolen. Visit your state-specific page to learn more about licensing procedures and education requirements for boaters in your state:
Select a state to begin:
Select a state to begin:
Recommended Reading: How Much Are Boat Clubs