Kansas Kayaking Laws Summary
That only summarizes Kansas boating laws applied to kayaking and canoeing. The details are more in-depth and specific. Read on to find out how to paddle legally in Kansas.
Amazon and Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some of the links below are affiliate links, which means we will earn a commission on the products or services you purchase using the links.
Boat Registration Renewals & Replacements
Boat registrations are valid for 3 years. Approximately 6 weeks before your registration expiration date, the KDWPT will mail you a renewal notice.
You can renew your boat’s registration by submittinginformation about your boat AND the applicable renewal fees:
- Online: Use the KDWPT’s boat renewal portal .
The Vessel Must Display The Boat Number And Expiration Decal As Stated Below
- Both port and starboard sides of the bow must display the registration number.
- Registration number must read from left to right on both port and starboard sides of the bow.
- Number must be in at least three inch high;BLOCK;letters.
- Color of numbers must contrast sharply with the background as to be both distinctly visible and legible.
- A space or a hyphen equal in width to a letter/number must separate the letters and numbers. example: KA 1125 AA;or KA-1125-AA.
- Both sides of the bow must not display any other numbers.
- The boat expiration decal must be in line with the number on both port and starboard sides of the bow.
To register your boat/watercraft for the state of Kansas or to read more about Kansas Boat Numbers Registration Decal Display Laws, you can visit the Registering your boat page of the Kansas Wildlife, Parks and tourism website using this Link
You May Like: How To Remove Mold Off Boat Seats
Boater Safety Courses In Kansas
All boaters between the ages of 12 and 20 years must take a boater safety course in Kansas and obtain a Kansas Boater Education Card to legally operate any motorized watercraft or sailboat. There are two main Kansas boating safety course options: in person or online. Although taking an official boater safety course in Kansas is not mandatory for older boat operators, taking a class can make you a safer boater and even reduce the cost of boat insurance premiums.
Which Boats Require Registration
Requirements for vessel registration vary from state to state. In Kansas, all vessels powered by gasoline, diesel, electric motors, or sail must be registered and numbered in Kansas. Sailboards and personal watercraft are considered vessels. Exceptions to registration are:
- Vessels without any kind of motor or sail
- Vessels properly registered in another state and using Kansas waters for up to 60 consecutive days
- Unit 4 of 6
Boat-ed.com is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC. Kalkomey is an official state-delegated provider that provides boating education courses and certification and publishing boating safety education materials.
More Online Recreational Safety Courses from Kalkomey
We provide support Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to midnight CST and Saturday and Sunday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST.
About Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC
Kalkomey is the official provider of recreational safety education materials for all 50 states. We provide online boating and hunting and other recreational safety education. View press releases.
Boat Ed is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC.
Also Check: Do I Need To Register An Inflatable Boat
Where Do I Register My Boat
A good place to start is right here on Discover Boatingjust visit our Boat Registration page, which allows you to start the registration process online.;In most states, you can also register a boat with the Department of Motor Vehicles. In some cases it may be with the Department of Fish and Game, the Department of Licensing, or the Department of Natural Resources . A boat can be officially registered in only one state.
Boat Registration Numbers And Stickers
A boat registration number is its license plate and is comprised of letters and numbers that must be displayed on the hull, near the bow, on the front third of the boat on both sides. The letters and numbers must be read from left to right and may have a minimum size . The numbers can also be painted on. A registration sticker or decal proves that your boat registration is valid for that year. The length of validity varies by state but can be from one to three years.
Don’t Miss: How To Make Money With Your Boat
Kansas Boat Registration Number Decal Display Laws
Registering your boat in the state of Kansas? You will need to abide by the Kansas boat number registration decal display laws found on Kansas Wildlife, Parks and Tourism website.
We outline the basic display law requirements here on this page but more in depth information regarding Kansas watercraft regulations can be found on the website linked above.
Do I Need Boat Insurance In Kansas
Boats in Kansas are not required to be insured, however it is recommended.
Boats in Kansas are required to correctly display their registration number and validations stickers.;
Registration numbers and stickers must be displayed as follows:
- The numbers must be applied as a decal, painted or permanently affixed to each side of the boats bow .
- The numbers must be in bold block letters that are at least 3 inches high and in a color that contrasts with the color of the boat.
- The numbers must be separated from the letters by a hyphen or by an equivalent space.
- The numbers must be read from left to right.
- Validation decals must be affixed on both sides of the boat and placed 3 inches aft of the numbers.
Note: Sailboards do not require registration numbers to be displayed. However, the decal must be attached to the front half of the top of the sailboard.
You May Like: Does Geico Do Boat Insurance
Ks Vessel Registration And Procedures
In Kansas, you can register your boat eitherin personORmail. Regardless of which option you choose, begin by gathering the following items:
- Proof of sales tax paidif you purchased the boat from:
- A Kansas dealer: Sales tax receipt OR STD 8 tax form.
- An out-of-state dealer: Bill of sale indicating sales tax paid.
- If you didn’t pay the tax, do so at a Kansas county treasurer’s office and include the receipt with your registration application.
Then,complete the registration process by providing the items above:
- In person at any of the following locations:
If you have additional questions about registering your boat with the KDWPT, call their boat registration line at 672-5911.
Boat Registration In Kansas
There’s a little more work involved in registering a boat in Kansas, as there are certain measurements required, painting to do, stickers to apply, plus other little things to do.
You must register your boat with the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism if it is powered by a motor, whether gasoline, diesel, or electric.
If you are in Kansas temporarily, you may operate your boat without registering it in Kansas, as long as it is properly registered out of state. You can use it in Kansas for up to 60 consecutive days before the state requires you to register it.
NOTE: Regardless of where your boat is registered, you must have your Certificate of Number onboard with you at all times.
To register your boat in Kansas, you’ll need to either:
Visit one of the following KDWPT offices in person:
Read Also: What Is Agreed Value On Boat Insurance
Help Prevent The Spread Of Non
- Inspect all surfaces of your boat and remove aquatic plants or animals before leaving any body of water.
- Ensure you flush raw-water cooling systems and clean sea-strainers before moving your boat from one body of water to another.
- Empty and dry any buckets before leaving a body of water.;
- Remove any plant fragments from bait wells, fishing gear, trailers, dive gear or props.;
- Dispose of plant fragments and bait into a garbage receptacle on land.;;
- Avoid chopping vegetation with your boats propeller.
- Clean and dry all live-wells prior to transporting your boat.
- Drain all water from your motor and bilge and dry all areas. t.
- Thoroughly wash your boat, including the hull, before putting it into a new body of water.
- Refer to specific drying times.
United States Coast Guard Documented Vessel Certification And Registration
If you are a Missouri resident, you have 30 days from acquiring the documented vessel to apply for a Documented Vessel Certificate of Registration . If you do not apply within 30 days, you will incur a penalty of $10 on the 31st day, increasing another $10 for every 30 days you are late up to a maximum penalty of $30.
If you are a nonresident, you have 60 days from acquiring or bringing the documented vessel into Missouri to apply for a Documented Vessel Certificate of Registration, if the vessel is to be kept in Missouri over 60 consecutive days. If you do not apply, there is a penalty of $10 on the 61st day, increasing another $10 for every 30 days you are late up to a maximum penalty of $30.
To obtain a Certificate of Registration and decal for a vessel documented with the United States Coast Guard, the owner must submit the following items to the Motor Vehicle Bureau’s central office:
Outboard motors attached to documented vessels must be;titled and registered.;
You will pay the following fees:
- “In-Lieu” taxes;based on the purchase date and price of the boat or vessel or proof that applicable taxes have been paid;
- $6.00 processing fee
Recommended Reading: Does Boat Insurance Cover The Motor
Kansas Kayaking Fire Extinguisher Laws
Do I need a fire extinguisher on my motorized kayak in Kansas? No, you are not required to carry a fire extinguisher on boats less than 16 feet long so long as they dont have an inboard engine, no closed compartments for fuel, double bottom construction, or permanently installed fuel tanks.
Regardless of the law, we highly recommend carrying a small class B-I fire extinguisher if you have a trolling motor on your kayak or canoe. The worst thing in the world is a fire on a boat with no way to put it out.
Exemptions From Boat Registration And Titling In Missouri
Common boat registration exemptions in Missouri are similar to those in other states. It is important to know which boats are exempt from registration in Missouri so that you do not have to unnecessarily go through this procedure. Exempt vessels include the following:
- Boats of any length that are propelled solely by oars or paddles.
- Sailboats and sailboards under 12 in length.
- Ship lifeboats used only for lifesaving purposes.
- Vessels owned by the U.S. government.
- Vessels owned by foreign governments being used in MO for 60 consecutive days or less.
- Boats with valid out-of-state registrations that are being used or stored in Missouri for 60 consecutive days or less.
- Vessels that are documented by the U.S. Coast Guard.
Recommended Reading: Where Can I Store My Boat
Boat/vessel/outboard Motor Titling And Registration
NOTE: Effective August 28, 2012, Missouri law requires that any outboard motor manufactured on or after July 1 of any year shall be labeled âYear Manufacturedâ with the calendar year immediately following the year manufactured, unless the Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin indicates a specific model or program year. For more information, you may refer to the instructions on the back of the Application for Missouri Boat/Vessel or Outboard Motor Title and Registration .
Kansas Boating And Alcohol Laws
It is illegal to operate any boat on Kansas waterways while they are under the influence of alcohol, drugs or a combination thereof.
In Kansas, a person is considered to be under the influence if:
- They are under the influence of alcohol to a degree that they are incapable of operating safely.
- They are under the influence of any controlled substance, any other drug, or any combination of alcohol, controlled substance, or drugs that renders them incapable of operating safely.
- They have a Breath or Blood Alcohol Concentration level of 0.08% or higher at the time or within 2 hours after the person operated or attempted to operate the boat.
- They are a minor and they have a BAC level of 0.02% or higher at the time or within 2 hours after the person operated or attempted to operate the boat.
You May Like: Is Banana Boat Sunscreen Good
What Lights Do I Need On My Kayak At Night
These lights must be displayed when away from the dock:
- Between sunrise and sunset
- During periods of restricted visibility
Motorboats less than 40 long must have a white light visible 360 degrees for 2 miles. And they must have bow lights with red on the port side and green on the starboard side.
Manually propelled boats must carry a flashlight or lantern that emits white light. And it must be ready at hand to deploy it in time to avoid a collision.
Now, deploying a light to avoid a collision vs having it continuously visible are 2 different things. Id suggest having a pole-mounted white light visible at all times to satisfy the requirement instead.
NOTE: Red or Blue oscillating lights are reserved for police.
Lights While Not Underway
Vessels at anchor between sunset and sunrise shall display white light visible 360 degrees for 2 miles.
Bill Of Sale For Boat
A Bill of Sale for a boat must have adequate information to positively link the BOS to the boat, similar to the example WRD BOS.
Owners of Georgia registered boats must notify the Department, in writing, of sale or transfer, theft or recovery, or destruction or abandonment of a boat within 15 days.
The following should be on the BOS:
- GA or Other State Registration Number
- HIN #
- Hull Material
- Sellers and Buyers Signature
It is a judgment call whether WRD believes the BOS received is adequate to link the vessel to the BOS in a reasonably sufficient manner, or whether other documents such as a transferred title, a manufacturers statement of origin, or other information supports the submitted BOS. A BOS does not have to be witnessed OR notarized, although this is acceptable.
If it is determined that a BOS is not available at all or is not adequate, the customer should obtain an adequate BOS. If a BOS cannot be obtained, the Affidavit of Vessel Ownership process may be completed.
Read Also: Does Banana Boat Deep Tanning Dry Oil Work
Replacing Your Missouri Boat Registration
You must replace a boat registration in Missouri any time your decal or pocket card has been lost, stolen or mutilated beyond legibility. You may easily order a boat registration replacement in MO by submitting a completed and notarized Form 2686, Application for Watercraft/Outboard Registration and Replacement Decal, providing a copy of your most recent registration receipt or title, and paying the applicable fee.
Mo Vessels Requiring Title & Registration
The Missouri DOR requires ALL mechanically propelled vessels to be titled and registered, with the following exemptions:
- Boats propelled by oars or paddles only.
- Sailboats or sailboards less than 12 ft in length.
- Ship lifeboat used only for that purpose.
- Watercraft registered out-of-state being stored or used in Missouri for less than 60 consecutive days.
- Vessels owned by foreign governments being used in Missouri for less than 60 consecutive days.
- U.S. government-owned vessels.
Still not sure whether your boat requires a title and registration? Call the MO DOR’s vessel titling and registration number at 526-3669.
Read Also: How To Install Boat Hatch Actuator
Boat Vessel And Outboard Motor Title Penalties
You have 60 days from the date of purchase to title your newly purchased boat, vessel, or outboard motor. If you do not title the boat, vessel, or outboard motor, there is a title penalty of $10 on the 61st day after purchase. The penalty increases another $10 for every 30 days you are late with a maximum penalty of $30.
You have 60 days from bringing the boat, vessel, or outboard motor into Missouri to title the boat, vessel, or outboard motor;if it is to be kept in Missouri over 60 consecutive days. If you do not title the boat, vessel, or outboard motor, there is a title penalty of $10 on the 61st day. The penalty increases another $10 for every 30 days you are late with a maximum penalty of $30.
Renewing Your Missouri Boat Registration
You may not renew boat registration online in MO and you must renew at your local DOR motor vehicle office. Another option for renewing your registration is to mail it to the address listed on your registration renewal notice. Regardless of how you submit your boat registration renewal in MO, you need to pay the fee listed on the table above and provide a personal property tax receipt that shows payment of taxes due on your vessel.
Note: It is easy to remember when to renew because they are always due on June 30th in the year specified on the decal.
Also Check: Should I Get Boat Insurance
Exemptions From Boat Registration And Titling In Kansas
KDWPT policies dictate which boats are exempt from registration in KS, but all boats are exempt from titling since Kansas does not title watercraft. Common boat registration exemptions in KS include:
- Boats without motors propelled only by paddles or oars.
- Vessels with valid out-of-state registrations that are not being used in KS for more than 60 days.
- Vessels documented by the U.S. Coast Guard.