What Other Boating Courses Are There
In addition to your PCOC, additional training is highly recommended for all boaters. Courses are available at these schools in Ontario and include hands-on training and classroom instruction on everything from how to skipper or crew a boat, operating a marine radio, how to dock, trailer, anchor etc.
Training programs are available from the most basic skill level up to Yacht Master Certification and, as each school calls their courses by a different name, we recommend you contact a course provider to learn more.
What If I Go Boating In Another Province
The PCOC that you receive after taking the online Boat Canada Course from Boat Ed is national, making it the only card that you need to operate a pleasure craft in any Canadian province.
If you go boating in the United States, the PCOC is recognized by the United States Coast Guard and the U.S. National Association of State Boating Law Administrators as meeting their education standards.
Taking A Boating License Course
The online boating education or license course for most states is administered by a third party, and there may be a course fee of $29 to $50 dollars, which is usually paid after youve successfully completed the course. The state may also charge an administrative fee. The BoatUS Foundation offers free boating license courses for 35 states.
The online course is designed to take about three hours to complete, and is set up in sections or chapters. You dont have to complete the entire course at one sitting you can complete a chapter or two and log off, and then return later to the point you left off. The course is structured to prevent you from simply clicking through the study sections to get to the exam. After each section there is a review exam that must be completed and passed before you can move on to the next section. These courses are not designed to make it difficult to pass the point is to raise awareness by presenting information on every aspect of boating. The course will cover boating basics and terminology, navigation rules, state boating regulations, how to handle boating emergencies, and how to enjoy watersports.
After you complete the course, youll be ready to take the exam. If you pass the exam you can print your boating license and be ready to hit the water.
You May Like: What Cleans Vinyl Boat Seats
Sample Questions From Mich Boating Certification Test
If you think you know about boating, try taking the statewide Michigan Boater Certification Exam.
It’s required if you’re born after Dec. 31, 1978 and want to operate a personal watercraft or if you want to operate any kind of boat and were born on or after July 1, 1996, according to “Boat Michigan,” the 2015 course booklet that leads to the exam.
In Macomb County, about 5,000 7th graders took the class this year and roughly 3% of them passed the 60-question certification exam with perfect scores, according to the Macomb County Sheriff’s Marine Division, which teaches the class. The kids with perfect scores studied hard, deputies said.
Here are some sample questions to test your knowledge of safe boating, navigation and state law. Answers are shown at the end.
1. What is the main purpose of the lateral system of red and green buoys and markers?
a. to show the outer boundaries of federally controlled waterways
b. to provide traffic control devices for commercial vessels
c. to mark the edges of safe water area
d. to provide convenient mooring locations.
2. According to Michigan law, during what hours is it illegal to operate a personal watercraft?
a. between noon and 8 a.m.
b. between sunset and 8 a.m.
c. between one-half hour after sunset and one-half hour before sunrise
d. between one hour befroe sunset and one hour after sunrise.
3. What could happen if you anchor a boat from the stern?
a. The anchor line may get tangled
b. It may cause the boat to swamp
Pleasure Craft Operator Card Vs Pleasure Craft License
> A Pleasure Craft Operator Card and a Pleasure Craft License are two separate items both unique in their own sense. A Pleasure Craft Operator Card pertains to the operator of a pleasure craft. It is the standard form of competency issued after completing a boating license exam.
A Pleasure Craft License refers to an actual vessel and does not relate to the operator. A Pleasure Craft License is unique to each individual boat. They pertain to the registration numbers placed on the side of a vessel as mandated by the Small Vessel Regulations of the Canada Shipping Act. The Pleasure Craft License is most comparable to the license plate on an automobile, and is used to identify individual pleasure crafts.
All pleasure crafts under 15 gross tons and powered by a 10 hp motor or more must be licensed or registered. Even if you boat on a small land lock lake, these restrictions pertain to all boaters in Canada.
You can register your new or used powerboat by acquiring an Application for Vessel License. Your Pleasure Craft License is available by contacting Service Canada. For further information, visit www.servicecanada.gc.ca.
You May Like: Does Geico Boat Insurance Cover Engine Damage
Qualifications And Application Requirements For A Captains License
Now that you know about licenses and endorsements, well go over the specific requirements youll need to receive your credential. Heres what to include in your application to the Coast Guard:
- At Least 19 Years of Age: To receive your captains license, you must be 19 years old. However, if you want to complete all the requirements when youre 18, most of the certificates you need are valid for one year, so you can send in your application as soon as you turn 19.
- Time at Sea: You must have at least 360 days of experience within the past 3 years for a Captains License. 90 of these days must be within the last 3 years.
- Sea Service Forms: Fill out your sea service forms and have the owner or manager of the vessel confirm your time. One day of sea service is equal to eight hours working aboard a vessel this doesnt include overtime. You can count sea service from age 16 onward. In all cases, you need 90 days of your sea service to be within the last three years. After youve compiled all your sea time, confirm you have enough to qualify for your desired license. Double check your forms with this Coast Guard guide to documenting sea service.
Before submitting your application, use the USCG acceptance checklist to double check that youve satisfied all the requirements. You can then either mail in your application or speed things up by scanning your documents and submitting them through the Coast Guards website. The issuance process usually takes one to three months.
Who Needs A Pcoc
In Canada, anyone who operates a pleasure craft must carry proof of competency on board if the pleasure craft has any type of motor and is used for recreational purposes. This includes boats powered by trolling motors.
Proof of competency shows that a person has at least the basic level of boating knowledge that is necessary to operate a pleasure craft safely. The most common proof of competency is a PCOC that a boater receives after passing a Transport Canadaapproved boating safety course. The Canada PCOC is accepted as proof of competency in Alberta and all other provinces.
Don’t Miss: How Much Does Freedom Boat Club Cost Per Month
Now Is The Time To Take A Class
It may not feel like boating season yet, but the BoatUS Foundation for Safety & Clean Water urges boaters to enroll in a boating education course.”We recommend that boaters get educated prior to the kickoff of the boating season to make the most of your time on the water,” says Amanda Suttles Pérez, Director of Education for the BoatUS Foundation.
“Statistics show that taking a boating education course will make you a better and safer boater,” she explains. “Even seasoned boaters can spend the off season brushing up on their knowledge of safe boat operation.”
As an incentive, the Foundation is offering 25% off all its specialized courses purchased through March 31, 2020, using the code SPRING25 . In addition, the Foundation will also offer $25 off any BoatUS Foundation on-water training courses purchased during the same time period .
While the courses are designed to educate, Pérez notes certain questions seem to consistently get the better of test-takers. She hears grumbling from some students, but there’s only one correct answer.
Can you get them right? Test your knowledge with these 10 questions most often answered incorrectly. You’ll find the correct answers at the end of the article.
1. Air moves from ______________ to ______________?a. East to west
How To Get Your Boating License
This article was co-authored by our trained team of editors and researchers who validated it for accuracy and comprehensiveness. wikiHow’s Content Management Team carefully monitors the work from our editorial staff to ensure that each article is backed by trusted research and meets our high quality standards.There are 11 references cited in this article, which can be found at the bottom of the page. This article has been viewed 33,565 times.Learn more…
If you want to operate a boat or jet ski under the age of 18, you will need to obtain a boating license. Operating a boat or jet ski without a license under the age of 18 is illegal. In order to get a boating license you will need to find a course, take a class, and pass a test. If you make it through each stage, you will be able to obtain your license and enjoy boating legally and safely.
Also Check: Cost Of Freedom Boat Club Membership
How To Choose A License Tonnage
The tonnage of license you receive is also dependant on boating experience.
A 100-ton license requires 180 days aboard boats over 51 gross tons or 360 days aboard boats over 34 gross tons.
A 50-ton license requires 180 days on boats over 26 gross tons if your service began after March 2014. If your sea service started before March 2014, you only need one day on a vessel over five gross tons. If you dont meet the requirements to make the 50-ton cutoff, youll receive a 25-ton license.
Figure out the gross tonnage of the boats you crewed on by either contacting the vessel owners or calculating it yourself with the USCG guide to tonnage.
How To Get A Boating License
Each state determines the requirements for operating a powerboat, sailboat or personal watercraft on the waters in its jurisdiction , and most require some sort of boating safety and education certificate, which may be called a boating license. In most cases the boat license course can be completed online, and is followed by a boat license test that is also completed online. The boating safety certificate courses are not as comprehensive as those for an automobile drivers license theres usually no on-water drivers education required, for example.
Follow these simple steps to get your boating license:
Also Check: Oxidation On Boat
Boating Safety Challenge Exams
There is no registration and no fee for this exam. There is also no age limit, but be advised that this test deals with material that may be complex for younger children. We highly recommend taking the full boating safety course to insure you and your family understand the material required to operate and navigate vessels on the water safely.
There is no registration and no fee for this exam. There is also no age limit but be advised that this test deals with material that may be complex for younger children. We highly recommend taking the full boating safety course to insure you and your family understand the material required to operate and navigate vessels on the water safely. Find a classroom course near you.
In order to prepare for this exam to receive certification, there are two study methods available to you at no cost. You can contact DEM/Environmental Police at 222-3070 for the home study packet or you can access an online study course.
Exams are offerred by appointment only. Boaters wishing to take a challenge exam should email with their name, DOB, address, phone number, and email address with the subject line “Challenge Exam Request.” Boaters will receive an email in response with an appointed time and date for their test, as well as the procedure to follow on the assigned day. Please check your spam folder and contact us if you do not see a reply email within 2-3 business days of requesting a test date. Questions? Contact Lt. Schipritt at 222-1981.
How To Renew Your Captains License
Once you receive your captains license, we highly recommend not letting it expire. Even if you dont plan on using it in the near future, its still a good idea to keep renewing it and you only have to do it every five years. If you let it expire and then decide that you want to start operating boats again, youll have to satisfy all of the Coast Guard requirements for getting a captains license from scratch.
Renewing your license is easy. You will need:
- 360 days of sea service within the last five years or a refresher course through a USCG-approved training school. These refresher courses can take as little as one day and cover Rules of the Road, Deck General and Deck Safety.
- A completed application form for renewal this is the same form you use to get your original license, so be sure to specify youre renewing yours
- DOT drug testing enrollment with proof of a test within the last six months
- A USCG mariner medical examination the same type as for your original license
- Payment of fees through the USCG website
If you do let your license expire, there is a one year grace period in which you can renew it without having to complete the full USCG exam again. Even if you decide to pursue another career, many people use their captains license after retirement. Its a great way to make some extra money and keep yourself busy on the water.
Read Also: Register Boat In Colorado
Whats The Annual Salary Of A Captain
According to the United States Bureau of Labor, there are about 36,000 captains in the U.S., and their mean annual salary is about $81,000. Working aboard container ships and private superyachts is the most lucrative in the industry. The highest paying states are Mississippi, New Hampshire, Texas, Oregon and Washington, where the mean salary ranges from $97,000 to more than $120,000.
Notice: Testing At Libraries Is Temporarily Suspended Until Monday September 13 Due To Upgrades
Locations are listed below by geographic regions. Because of COVID 19 and variants, some locations may have restrictions. Be sure to check the locations website or social media to find out what, if any restrictions exist.
1. Who needs a Tennessee boating education certification?
If you are a Tennessee resident born after January 1, 1989, and operating a boat with more than 8.5 horsepower, then you need the certification.
If you are a non-Tennessee resident born after January 1, 1989, and visiting Tennessee and operating a boat with more than 8.5 horsepower, you will need a boating education certification approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators .
Even if you do not need the certification, by getting one, you may save on your boat insurance.
2. How do I replace my lost or stolen boating safety card?
If your boating safety card is lost or stolen, you need to log on to www.gooutdoorstennessee.com. In the licensing section, update with current personal information.
Once all is updated you need to purchase a Type 605 Boat Certification Card and a new card will be mailed to you. You can also purchase the Type 605 from anyplace that sells hunting/fishing licenses.
3. How do I study?
There are many avenues to study:
Study online at
Or request home study materials by emailing or by calling 615-781-6566 and leaving your name and address.
4. How do I take the exam?
Also Check: How To Clean Mildew Off Boat Seats
An Enjoyable Boating Experience Begins With Taking A Course
Boating is most enjoyable when youre well-trained and confident in your knowledge & skills. Depending on the type of boating you enjoy, and the level of difficulty you intend to embrace, there are many courses available from basic through advanced training to coastal navigation, anchoring, and docking.
Why Should I Take My Boating Safety Course From Boat Ed
Boat Ed is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC. Kalkomey is dedicated to providing print and online boating education courses for North American boaters in Canada and the United States. Boat Ed is the only boating safety education course and exam provider that develops online courses, eBooks, and print materials on behalf of government boating and boater safety agencies in North America.
You May Like: How To Register Boat In Missouri
Who Needs A Pleasure Craft Operator Card
April 1, 1999 marked the introduction of the Pleasure Craft Operator Card. The Operator Card was implemented by Transport Canada through a 10 year phase-in period. After the 10 year phase-in, September 15, 2009 marked the final deadline for all boaters to obtain their Operator Card. That means anyone operating a motorized vessel for non-commercial use is required to obtain their boating license. It is important to note there is no grandfather clause that exempts older or experienced boaters from needing to get an Operator Card. There are however, three different forms of competency that you may carry onboard your boat.
The first form of competency is to pass a certified boating license exam and get the Pleasure Craft Operator Card. The easiest way to get your Operator Card is through a provider like BOATsmart!® Canada. They offer a quick and simple process that allows boaters to study and get their Operator Card directly from their website.
A second form of competency is to have successfully completed a boating safety course in Canada, prior to April 1, 1999. In order for your competency to be valid, you must carry the original papers with you on board your boat at all times. If you completed a course but have lost the original papers, you must track down the course provider to get another copy. If this is not possible, you may have to take the boating test and get an Operator Card.