Renewing And Replacing A Missouri Boating License
Many residents wonder, Do Missouri boating licenses expire? Because you receive a safety certificate instead of an actual license in MO, there is no set expiration date for this credential. Moreover, because the certificate does not expire, it also does not need to be renewed.
If your boat education card gets damaged or lost, you must obtain a duplicate. To get this replacement, contact the establishment that issued the card to you and follow the steps that they provide.
Titling And Registration Of Trailers
You have 30 days from the date of purchase to title and pay sales tax on your newly purchased trailer. If you do not title the trailer within 30 days, there is a title penalty of $25 on the 31st day after purchase. The penalty increases another $25 for every 30 days you are late with a maximum penalty of $200.
Missouri Kayaking Bwi Laws
Can you get a DUI on a kayak in Missouri? Yes, you can get a DUI on a kayak in Missouri. In Missouri, its against the law to operate a vessel while in an intoxicated condition. You can get the equivalent of a DUI, a BWI in Missouri with a Blood Alcohol Content of 0.08%. Missouri Boating While Intoxicated Statute
Related Article: Can You Get a DUI on a Kayak?
Don’t Miss: How Do I Register My Boat
Boat/vessel/outboard Motor Titling And Registration
NOTE: Effective August 28, 2012, Missouri law requires that any outboard motor manufactured on or after July 1 of any year shall be labeled âYear Manufacturedâ with the calendar year immediately following the year manufactured, unless the Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin indicates a specific model or program year. For more information, you may refer to the instructions on the back of the Application for Missouri Boat/Vessel or Outboard Motor Title and Registration .
Do You Need A License To Drive A Boat In Missouri
You are required to get a boat education card if you were born after January 1, 1984 and wish to operate any type of motorized vessel on the lakes in Missouri. On the other hand, residents who are born on or before that date or who are only operating their vessel on streams, rivers and private waters are not required to obtain this card.
Furthermore, motorists who have been convicted or found guilty of certain boating-related crimes will be required to pass a boater certification course.
Recommended Reading: How Much Is Nautical Boat Club Membership
Missouri Kayaking Sounding Devices Laws
Do I need a whistle on a kayak in Missouri? All vessels between 16 and 40 feet in length must carry a whistle or horn on board to signal position when necessary.
The sounding device should be capable of producing a continuous sound for two seconds that is audible for at least one-half mile.
The best sounding device for kayakers and canoeists is a whistle attached to your PFD in a place thats quick and easy to deploy.
Heres what we consider to be the best whistle for kayaking.
Registering A Boat In Missouri
Registering A Boat In Missouri. Start studying missouri boating license exam. Small canoes and boats that only go in ponds will not need a registration.
One other possible reason to go ahead and register a. Finally, you need to consider where you are going boating. Boat registration and licenses in missouri. Any watercraft that has a motor or is twelve feet or longer must be registered with the state of missouri. Within 60 days of moving to washington with the boat.
Recommended Reading: What’s The Best Rc Boat To Buy
What Is Safer Canoe Or Kayak
While a canoe is undoubtedly harder to capsize than a kayak though theyre both pretty stable, honestly a kayak has the advantage of being able to be righted in the event of a rollover. Safety techniques such as the Eskimo roll are recommended learning for kayakers looking to do extended touring or sea kayaking.
United States Coast Guard Documented Vessel Certification And Registration
If you are a Missouri resident, you have 30 days from acquiring the documented vessel to apply for a Documented Vessel Certificate of Registration . If you do not apply within 30 days, you will incur a penalty of $10 on the 31st day, increasing another $10 for every 30 days you are late up to a maximum penalty of $30.
If you are a nonresident, you have 60 days from acquiring or bringing the documented vessel into Missouri to apply for a Documented Vessel Certificate of Registration, if the vessel is to be kept in Missouri over 60 consecutive days. If you do not apply, there is a penalty of $10 on the 61st day, increasing another $10 for every 30 days you are late up to a maximum penalty of $30.
To obtain a Certificate of Registration and decal for a vessel documented with the United States Coast Guard, the owner must submit the following items to the Motor Vehicle Bureau’s central office:
Outboard motors attached to documented vessels must be titled and registered.
You will pay the following fees:
- “In-Lieu” taxes based on the purchase date and price of the boat or vessel or proof that applicable taxes have been paid;
- $12.00 processing fee
Also Check: How To Install Boat Hatch Actuator
How To License A Boat Bought In Missouri With No Title
If you plan to buy a boat in Missouri, but the owner has lost the title, she must first obtain a duplicate title from the Missouri Department of Revenue by filing an Application for Missouri Title and License. Once you complete the purchase, you must file your own application for title and registration.
Complete The Course In Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, its easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Don’t Miss: How Do I Rent My Boat Out
Exemptions From Boat Registration And Titling In Missouri
Common boat registration exemptions in Missouri are similar to those in other states. It is important to know which boats are exempt from registration in Missouri so that you do not have to unnecessarily go through this procedure. Exempt vessels include the following:
- Boats of any length that are propelled solely by oars or paddles.
- Sailboats and sailboards under 12 in length.
- Ship lifeboats used only for lifesaving purposes.
- Vessels owned by the U.S. government.
- Vessels owned by foreign governments being used in MO for 60 consecutive days or less.
- Boats with valid out-of-state registrations that are being used or stored in Missouri for 60 consecutive days or less.
- Vessels that are documented by the U.S. Coast Guard.
Boater Safety Courses In Missouri
A boater safety course in Missouri is delivered by the State Water Patrol. One of the more convenient Missouri boating safety course options includes online classes. Keep in mind that while an online boater safety course may provide you with skills, you can only receive a boater education card after taking a course led by the State Water Patrol.
Read Also: How To Sell Your Boat Privately
Renewing Your Missouri Boat Registration
You may not renew boat registration online in MO and you must renew at your local DOR motor vehicle office. Another option for renewing your registration is to mail it to the address listed on your registration renewal notice. Regardless of how you submit your boat registration renewal in MO, you need to pay the fee listed on the table above and provide a personal property tax receipt that shows payment of taxes due on your vessel.
Note: It is easy to remember when to renew because they are always due on June 30th in the year specified on the decal.
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course In Missouri
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division.
Official course provider approved by:
Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division 1510 East Elm Street Jefferson City, MO 65102
Read Also: How To Find Expiration Date On Banana Boat Sunscreen
The State Comes Alive With Boaters Enjoying Water Sports On The Lakes And Rivers
If so, you’ve found the perfect guide! Missouri boat license and boater education requirements. You got your boat before you head to the water, two things you need to do to be legal in no number other than the registration number awarded to a boat/vessel or granted reciprocity shall be painted, attached, or otherwise, displayed on. Missouri department of revenue . This way, you can legally operate. Missouri law requires all motorized boat and pwc operators born after january 1, 1984, to pass a boater safety. Boat angel makes it easy for missouri residents to get rid of any size or style boat working or not. Any sale that takes place without a properly assigned under missouri law, all privately owned motorboats, as well as sailboats over 12 feet long, must be titled and registered. Vessels previously registered in other states must be title in missouri within 60 days of being brought into the state. Any watercraft that has a motor or is twelve feet or longer must be registered with the state of missouri. If you recently acquired a boat, you may need to title and register it with the missouri department of revenue . The official missouri interactive boater safety course. In the summertime, missouri is a fantastic place to rent a boat and get out on the water.
Obtaining A Temporary Permit
Upon purchase of a newly acquired boat, vessel, or outboard motor you may purchase a temporary permit to operate the boat, vessel, or outboard motor on Missouriâs waterways.
- If the unit is not a documented vessel, a temporary permit will be issued for a period of up to 30 days, and must expire prior to the 60th day from the purchase date of the boat, vessel, or outboard motor. If the unit is a documented vessel, a temporary permit will be issued for a period of up to 60 days from the temporary permit issuance date.
- The applicant may be a Missouri or out-of-state resident.
- Temporary permits are non-renewable.
- Temporary permits may not be purchased once application for title and registration has been made.
- Temporary permits may NOT be purchased for a salvage boat, vessel, or outboard motor.
To obtain a temporary permit, please bring the following items with you to any Missouri license office:
- Temporary Watercraft Certificate of Number – $11.00
- Temporary Outboard Motor Registration Number – $8.00
The temporary permit must be carried in the boat or vessel while the unit is in operation.
Also Check: Can I Register My Boat Online In Massachusetts
How To Obtain A Boating License In Missouri
Instead of getting a Missouri boating license, you must obtain a boater education card in order to operate a vessel on state lakes. To obtain this card, you must complete an approved education course. However, keep in mind that not everyone is required to obtain this card. As a general rule, this credential is only necessary for motorists who were born after January 1, 1984. If you were born on or before January 1, 1984, you are not required to get a boat safety certificate in MO.
Additionally, this certificate is only necessary for operating watercraft on Missouri lakes. Therefore, you do not need this certificate if you are operating a vessel on rivers, streams or private bodies of water. In any case, even if you do not need to obtain this certificate, it is recommended that you still participate in a boater education course before you operate any vessel on the water for your own safety and the safety of those around you.
New Registrations And Renewals
Registration may be obtained only from the county treasurer in the boaters county of residence. Boat owners may renew registration with the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles or their county treasurers office.
|Vessels less than 16 feet in length and all canoes regardless of length||$23.00*|
|Vessels 16 feet or over but less than 26 feet in length||$46.00*|
|Vessels 26 feet or over but less than 40 feet in length||$67.50*|
|Vessels 40 feet in length and over||$115.00*|
|Dealers or manufacturers of motorboats for demonstration or testing purposes||$46.00*|
|To replace a lost or destroyed certificate||$5.00*|
* An additional $4 issuing fee is applied to all registrations listed above. Registration applications submitted after the beginning of any registration period for a motorboat not previously registered in Nebraska by the applicant will be reduced by 1/36 for each full month passed.
Don’t Miss: Who Makes The Best Jon Boat
General Information About Numbers
We’ll guide you through the process of creating Missouri boat numbers when you click design now. Each state has specific verbiage as to their requirements. See the Missouri specific section below. The general requirements for boat registrations numbers are as follows:
- A minimum of 3″ letter height
- A block style font such as
- Generally located on the forward hull portion of the boat next to the DNR tag
- A contrasting color to base color of your boat.
- Letters separated by a space or a dash
Missouri Boating License Fees
The fee for getting a boater education card in Missouri will vary depending on the course you opt for. For example, the State Highway Patrol charges a $15 fee for the card, but does not charge a fee for the course. On the other hand, you may be required to pay more if you choose to undergo a program offered by different institutions.
You May Like: How Long Are Boat Loans Usually
Missouri Kayak Laws Summary
- Missouri Kayaking Laws Missouri law considers kayaks and canoes to be non-mechanically propelled vessels.
- Missouri Kayak Registration Non-motorized vessels are exempt from registration in Missouri.
- Motorized Kayak Registration All mechanically propelled vessels must be titled and registered with the Missouri Department of Revenue. This includes a trolling motor on a canoe or kayak.
- Kayak Operator Licensing in Missouri Operators must have a Missouri drivers license or boating safety identification card.
- Motorized Kayaking Age Operators of a motorboat or personal watercraft must be at least 14 years of age or under direct supervision of another person 16 years of age or older.
- Kayaking BUI Law Missouri has a Boating While Intoxicated law. In Missouri, a BUI charge is a class B misdemeanor offense with the ability to become up to a class B felony. A person is operating illegally when they operate a vessel while in an intoxicated condition.
- Kayaking Life Jacket Law All vessels must be equipped with a wearable for each person on board.
- Kayak Lights Law Nonmotorized vessels must at least carry a white lantern or flashlight that can be visible from all directions.
- Kayaking Sounding Devices Vessels more than 16 feet long are required to carry on board a whistle or horn to make an efficient sound signaling position.
- Kayaking VDS Law All federal waterways in Missouri require USCG approved Visual Distress Signals .
Which Boats Must Be Registered
Sailboats 12 feet and longer and all;motorboats;and;personal watercraft;must be registered, numbered, and have two decals . Non-motorized sailboats less than 12 feet long and manually propelled boats, regardless of length, are exempt from registration and taxation. Also exempt are a vessels lifeboat and government-owned boats.
Boating registration is covered under:;MCA 61-3-107;and;MCA 23-2-508.
Also Check: Who Makes Triton Boat Covers
Boat Vessel And Documented Vessel Registration Renewal Requirements
A boat, vessel, or documented vessel registration must be renewed every three years. The registration expires on June 30th in the year specified on the decal. There is no late renewal penalty.Outboard motor decals are not required to be renewed.
To obtain information regarding your renewal, you may visit the Department’s Renewal Requirements Inquiry system.
To renew a boat, vessel, or documented vessel registration, the owner must submit the following;
For a boat or vessel renewal you will pay:
- The $6.00 processing fee.
Boat Registration Numbers And Stickers
A boat registration number is its license plate and is comprised of letters and numbers that must be displayed on the hull, near the bow, on the front third of the boat on both sides. The letters and numbers must be read from left to right and may have a minimum size . The numbers can also be painted on. A registration sticker or decal proves that your boat registration is valid for that year. The length of validity varies by state but can be from one to three years.
Don’t Miss: What Does Boat Insurance Not Cover