Massachusetts Boat License Requirements
The boating license age is one of the most important eligibility requirements to be aware of when applying for a safety certificate. Applicants must be between 12 and 15 years of age to get a certificate for a motorboat, or be 16 or 17 years of age to get a certificate for a personal watercraft. The other boat license requirements include passing the required course.
Ma Boats Requiring Title & Registration
You’re required to registerALL motorized boats used on Massachusetts’ public waters, with the following exceptions:
- Vessels currently registered in another state that will be used in Massachusetts for no more than 60 days.
- Watercraft without a motor.
- Boats documented with the U.S. Coast Guard.
Additionally, you must title vessels measuring 14 ft or more that are designed to be motorized. This includes all boats with motors AND those with the equipment necessary to attach a motor. You are also required to pay your;sales or;use tax of 6.25% by the 20th day of the month following your boat purchase.
Vessels exempt from the titling requirements include:
- Watercraft owned by an entity of the U.S. government.
- Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast Guard.
- Dealers’ boats used only for promotional demonstrations.
- Vessels registered in another state being used on MA waters for up to 60 days.
If you’re not sure whether your boat qualifies for titling and/or registration, call the Boat, ATV, and Snowmobile Registration Bureau at 626-1610.;
What Is Needed To Register A Boat In Massachusetts
A: In Massachusetts, initial registration and titling is done by filling out the departments registration application at any of five Registration offices. The boat owner must submit proof of ownership, a bill of sale, proof of payment of Massachusetts sales tax, and the appropriate registration and/or title fees.
You may ask, Do you have to register a inflatable boat with a trolling motor?
Non-motorized canoes, kayaks, punts, rowboats, or rubber rafts when paddled, poled, or oared and sailboats under 14 feet in length when windblown. Adding an outboard or trolling motor to one of these types requires titling and registration.
You May Like: What Size Boat Battery Do I Need
Massachusetts Boating License Fees
Getting a boating license/certificate is available at no cost for residents who are 12 years of age or older, as long as the approved boating safety course does not charge a fee. For instance, the company called Boat Massachusetts is a recognized institution that is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators and provides classes for free. The certificate that is awarded after completion of the course is also provided at no cost.
Trailer Sales And Use Tax
Per General Laws,;Chapter 64H, the law is generally the same for paying sales or use tax to the Commonwealth on;the purchase of a trailer as it is for boats, off-highway recreational vehicles, and snowmobiles.
However, the method for paying is different as the ST-6 is not to be used for paying sales or use tax on a trailer. The tax on trailers is generally paid to the;Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles; as part of the registration process.
Kindly visit the;Motor Vehicle Sales and Use Tax Guide to learn more.
For information about trailer excise tax, please visit the;Motor Vehicle Excise Guide.;
You May Like: Should I Get Boat Insurance
Q: I Purchased My Boat From A Car Dealer
A: Car dealers that are not registered boat dealers must first title the boat in the car dealer’s name before legally selling the boat. The car dealer must also pay a sales tax to the Department of Revenue before titling the boat. Once the car dealer has applied for and received the title from the state, the sale can be made.
How To Renew Boat And Personal Watercraft Registration Renewal
Registered boat and;personal watercraft;owners will receive a registration renewal notice about 1 month before their current registration expires. To renew by mail, return the renewal notice using the self-addressed envelope along with a check payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts for the amount specified on the notice.;
Note: Please write your registration number on the check.
Registered boat and;personal watercraft;owners will receive a registration renewal notice about 1 month before their current registration expires. To renew in person, bring the following to;any of our 5 registration offices:
Also Check: What Type Of Boat Battery Do I Need
How To Request Request A Duplicate Registration For Your Boat Or Personal Watercraft
You will need a credit card .
Our online renewal application will take you through the steps.
- If you have created an account in our new online system after September 1, 2016, use your new username and password to login.
- To create a new account, you will need: the registered owners last name, date of birth, postal code , an email address, and the boat registration number.
- After completing your online transaction, you will need to print a temporary registration, which allows you to;operate your vessel for 15 days while your duplicate registration is being processed.
- Please carry your signed temporary registration while using your vessel.
- There is an additional $1.50 system processing fee charged for all online registration related transactions. You can avoid this fee by applying by mail or in person.
- Browser Requirements: This system works best with Internet Explorer 10 and 11, Mozilla Firefox 32, Safari 6, Chrome 37 and Opera 24.
- Please enable all pop-ups on this site before proceeding.
General Information About Numbers
We’ll guide you through the process of creating Massachusetts boat numbers when you click design now. Each state has specific verbiage as to their requirements. See the Massachusetts specific section below. The general requirements for boat registrations numbers are as follows:
- A minimum of 3″ letter height
- A block style font such as
- Generally located on the forward hull portion of the boat next to the DNR tag
- A contrasting color to base color of your boat.
- Letters separated by a space or a dash
Read Also: What Removes Mildew From Boat Seats
Boat And Recreation Vehicle Registration And Titling Bureau
The Boat and Recreation Vehicle Registration and Titling Bureau is responsible for registering motorboats, snowmobiles, and recreation vehicles in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. We have five conveniently located registration offices to serve our customers throughout the state.
Exemptions From Boat Registration And Titling In Massachusetts
Common boat registration exemptions in Massachusetts include non-motorized boats. Note that vessels with out-of-state registrations used in MA for no more than 60 days per year are exempt. When determining which boats are exempt from registration in Massachusetts, keep in mind that vessels with a documented U.S. Coast Guard registration are also exempt.
Don’t Miss: Does Boat Insurance Cover The Motor
Q: Am I Required To Register My Boat
A: ;State law requires the registration of any boat that is powered by a motor and operated on public waterways in Massachusetts. Registration is required even if the motor is not the primary means of propulsion for that boat. Some examples of boats that require registration include fishing boats with motors, recreational motorboats, canoes or sailboats that use motors , and personal watercraft such as Jet Skis or wet bikes. Boats exempt from registration requirements include those that do not use motors, and documented vessels . Vessels used solely by a city, county, state, or federal agency will be issued a certificate of registration and number at no charge
Q: What If My Registration Has Expired
A: You can renew online at www.mass.gov/ole, by mail or visit one of our registration offices.
When registering in person, bring a copy of your old registration . ;You will be required to complete an application. ;Please bring with you a check or money order payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Please include on your check the applicable registration number for our reference. Your registration will be brought up to date to reflect a two year boat, snowmobile or Off-Highway Vehicle registration. OHV/Snowmobile registrations for non-residents will reflect a one year registration. ;Please note: ;If your registration has been expired for 48 months or longer, you will not be able to renew it online. Please visit one of our registration offices to process your renewal.
Recommended Reading: How To Get Barnacles Off Boat
What Boats Need To Be Registered Nh
People Also Asked, What do i need to register my boat in new hampshire?
How to Register a Boat in New Hampshire: To register a boat in New Hampshire, the owner of the boat must provide the following:
Also know, do boats have titles in NH?New Hampshire is a registration only state and does not issue boat titles. New Hampshire does not have provisions for bonded or conditional boat registrations. Boat registration records in New Hampshire are administered by the Division of Motor Vehicles.
Boat Trailer Registration Massachusetts
In Massachusetts, you not only have to register your boat, you also have to concern yourself with boat trailer registration. Not every boat trailer must be titled, but all must be registered. The procedure is similar to registering an automobile or truck in the state. Initial registration is slightly more complicated than renewal registration.
You May Like: What Size Cranking Battery For Bass Boat
Q: Do I Need To Apply For A Certificate Of Title
A:;All boats 14 feet or greater in length that are designed for use with a motor, or that use a motor at any time, must be titled. For example, sailboats 14 feet or longer with a backup motor in use, or sailboats designed for use with a backup motor, must be titled. Even canoes 14 feet or longer that use a motor of any type must be titled. Boats exempt from titling requirements include U.S. government-owned vessels; federally documented vessels; boats used solely for demonstration, testing, sales, or promotional purposes by a dealer or manufacturer; and boats registered in another state which are not located in the Commonwealth for more than 60 consecutive day
Other Facts About Titling And Registering Your Vessel
Here are some additional facts about titling and registering your motorboat in Massachusetts.
- A Certificate of Number is valid for two years from the date it is issued. Owners of vessels that have already been registered will be sent a renewal notice to their residence at least one month prior to the expiration of their current registration.
- All vessels 14 feet or greater in length that require registration also must be titled. The title application must be made to the Massachusetts Environmental Police within 20 days of purchasing a vessel. The title certificate is valid for the life of the vessel or until the vessel is sold or otherwise transferred, at which time the new owner must transfer the title.
- The Massachusetts Environmental Police must be notified within 15 days of any of these events:
- The sale, trade, or transfer of ownership of a registered vessel
- The abandonment, destruction, loss, or theft of a registered vessel
- The change of address of the owner of a registered vessel
- The destruction or loss of a Certificate of Number or validation decal
Recommended Reading: How To Sell My Boat
Procedure For Initial Boat Trailer Registration
When you first buy a boat trailer, you need to register it with the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles before you use it in the state. The process begins with Form RMV-1, an application for registration of a motor vehicle in Massachusetts. Form RMV-1 is available online as a fillable form and in paper form at any Registry of Motor Vehicles office.
You’ll need to insure your boat trailer. In the process, ask your insurance agent for a completed Form RMV-2. Your insurer must sign and stamp the form to prove to the state that you have obtained insurance. If you’re filling in the form yourself and intend to take it to your insurer to sign, be sure to include your identifying information as well as information about the boat trailer, including make, model, color and gross weight.
You can locate the gross weight of the trailer from the trailer’s certificate of origin. If your boat trailer’s gross weight is over 3,000 pounds, you will also have to title it. Check either the “registration only” or “registration and title” box at the top of the form, depending on which applies.
It’s also necessary to provide information about any liens on the trailer’s title. Give full identifying information about all lien holders. This is to ensure that liens get paid or transferred if you decide to sell the trailer.
Renew & Replace Ma Registration & Title
Vessel registrations in Massachusetts are valid for 2 years. The Boat, ATV, and Snowmobile Registration Bureau will mail you a renewal notice about 1 month before your expiration date.
You can renew your boat registration by providing details about your vessel AND the applicable renewal fees:
- Online: Use the Massachusetts Environmental Police’s renewal portal.
- : Use the pre-addressed envelope included with your renewal notice.
- In person: Visit a regional registration office with your current registration.
Also Check: What Is Agreed Value On Boat Insurance
Q: I Haven’t Registered Or Titled My Boat Before What Should I Do
A: In Massachusetts, initial registration and titling is done by filling out the department’s registration application at any of five Registration offices. The boat owner must submit proof of ownership, a bill of sale, proof of payment of Massachusetts sales tax, and the appropriate registration and/or title fees. For new boats, an original manufacturer’s statement of origin must be provided as proof of ownership. An MSO, title, or previous registration can serve as proof of ownership for used boats.
In order to complete the application, you must provide the vessel’s Hull Identification Number and the boat’s year of manufacture, make, and length. State law requires that the title application must be made and the sales tax paid within 20 days of purchasing a boat. The Division also stores information such as the engine manufacturer, serial number, and horsepower for record keeping purposes.
Register Your Boat Under Polish Flag Valid Forever No Renewals
You can register in Poland under your own name or as corporate owner Any nationality can own a yacht under the Polish flag under their personal name. It is not required that the owner of the yacht resides in Poland or even in the EU / EEA. The place of residence of the owner is not relevant at all.
Can I register in Poland as NON EU citizen? Yes you can, you do not have to be a resident or citizen of Poland or even the EU / EEA to register under Polish flag. Due to a recent change, anybody can register a boat under the Polish flag and hold the boat under their personal name. Before it was required to own an EU company for non EU citizens to register, but that is no longer the case.
How long does it take to register? The provisional Polish registration will be supplied in 2 days. We will send it to you by email and the permanent registration document takes up to 3-4 weeks from the day that we receive all documents from you. Important: with the 2 day, provisional registration you will be able to use your boat already legally.
Can I register as Commercial or Bareboat charter in Poland? Yes, you can register for private, commercial or bareboat vessel use. The cost to register your boat are same for all three.What does the Polish yacht registration look like? It comes in a credit card format in English and Polish and is valid worldwide.
Also Check: What Is The Best Boat Cover Material
Massachusetts Boating Rules And Regulations
There are multiple boating regulations that must be followed. Overall, operating a motorboat or personal watercraft can be extremely dangerous if the proper precautions are not taken. Thus, Massachusetts boat requirements are set in place to help boat operators keep themselves, their passengers and everyone else safe while on a waterway.
General boating laws include information about where and when motorboats can be operated in addition to much more. The following is prohibited:
- Operating a vessel under the influence of alcohol or drugs. A blood alcohol concentration of .08 is the current standard in Massachusetts.
- Operating a motorboat within 150 feet of a public or private swimming area.
- Operating at an excessive speed considering the current weather conditions, boat traffic and other hazards. Operating at a speed greater than 45 m.p.h. on inland waters is considered negligent and is prohibited.
- Operating a motorboat during the nighttime while towing tubers, water-skiers, etc.
- Operating a motorboat that does not have properly working lights.
- Operating at greater than six mph when within 150 feet of a swimmer, water-skier, marina, boat launch, mooring area or when the operators vision is obscured in any way.
- Operating in an overloaded condition by carrying more than capacity.
- Operating with passengers on any area of the boat where there may be a chance of falling overboard.
Q: How Long Are The Registration And Title Good For And How Much Do They Cost
A: The title certificate is good for the life of the boat, or until the boat is sold or otherwise transferred, at which time the new owner must obtain a another title. ;The title fee is $27.50. This is a one-time charge.
The boat registration certificate is valid for two years from the date of issuance. Cost is based on the length of the vessel. ;
Also Check: Can I Use Banana Boat Sunscreen On My Face