What Is The Best Type Of Boat Insurance
The best type of boat insurance is insurance coverage that adequately meets your legal and contractual obligations and allows you to feel comfortable about your exposure to risk. Because each individual situation is different, it is important that you determine what coverage factors matter most to you and your family. Spend time researching your options and speak with multiple insurance brokers or agencies. Allthingsboat.com has an excellent review of boat insurance providers.
What Is The Difference Between Comprehensive And Limited Boating Insurance
While both types of insurance provide the all-important liability coverage, comprehensive boating insurance provides protection against a far greater number of sources for damage. When you have named-perils coverage, you get a list of damage thats covered. On the other hand, when you have comprehensive coverage, you get a small list of incidents that arent covered while everything else is.
Since comprehensive insurance is only incrementally more expensive yet much more inclusive, it is the best choice for serious boaters.
Other Types Of Protection
Towing assistance and fuel delivery are two other types of protection that may be included in your policy. At Frost and Remer, we would never want you to worry about getting stranded, whether it be in the water or land. To give you peace of mind, we provide these special services.
Most insurance companies offer additional add-ons that may apply to you and your specific watercraft to provide all of the coverage you need. You just have to ask.
Age And Operator Restrictions
Persons less than 12 years of age:
- May operate a boat powered by a motor of no more than 6 hp legally without restrictions.
- May operate a boat powered by a motor of more than 6 hp but no more than 35 hp legally only if they:
- Have been issued a boating safety certificate and have it on board the boat and
- Are directly supervised on board by a person at least 16 years of age.
- May not operate a boat powered by a motor of more than 35 hp legally under any conditions.
Those born on or after July 1, 1996, may operate a boat legally only if they have been issued a boating safety certificate and have it on board the boat.
Those born before July 1, 1996, may operate a boat legally without restrictions.
Boat & Watercraft Insurance
NuStar Insurance Agency can help make your time on the water relaxed and worry-free. We will find you comprehensive protection that protects you, your friends and family, your watercraft and your boating equipment. The average boat costs less than a dollar a day to insure. Youâll enjoy being on the water even more when you arenât worried about your safety, the safety of your passengers, or your investment.
Do you know what to look for in a Michigan watercraft insurance policy? NuStar Insurance Agency can help you determine the right amount of coverage to meet your specific needs. Just contact us today to get started.
Here are some items youâll need to consider when shopping for Michigan boat insurance.
Every need is unique â contact us today to find out how to get the best boat insurance coverage for you.
Also Check: Boat Mechanic Salary Florida
A Comprehensive Guide To Michigan Boating Laws
When youre in Michigan, youre never more than 6 miles from an inland lake or 85 miles from one of the states Great Lakes. With more than 11,000 lakes in the state, its no wonder boating tops the list of favorite things to do for many Michiganders. And with months of sunshine ahead, many are getting their boats back on the water this time of year. But before dropping anchor, there are important Michigan boating laws and safety tips you should be aware of.
Is Boat Insurance Required By Law In Michigan
Unlike auto or health insurance, boat insurance is not required by law in the state of Michigan. Nevertheless, operating a boat without insurance is inherently risky. When an accident occurs, you will be entirely responsible for any and all related expenses if you dont have insurance. It is in your best interest to explore the benefits boat insurance offers.
Read Also: How To Register Boat In Missouri
What If My Trailer And My Toys Are Damaged While Im Parked
Interestingly, being parked or not will make a huge difference.
Say you and your family stop for ice cream as youre going up M-22 to visit Sleeping Bear Dunes and someone crashes into your trailer which you have safely parked far away from the crowds, damaging both your trailer and the motorcycle, jet ski and mountain bikes you were hauling.
So long as you were truly safely parked, the repair/replacement costs for the motorcycle, the jet ski, the mountain bikes and even the trailer, itself, would likely be covered by No-Fault property protection insurance benefits.
Property protection insurance pays benefits up to $1 million to cover accidental . . . damage to tangible property consists of physical injury to or destruction of the property and loss of use of the property so injured or destroyed. , and ) Notably, this includes damage to ehicles and their contents, including trailers when the vehicle is parked in a manner as not to cause unreasonable risk of the damage which occurred. )
Is Insurance Required On A Travel Trailer In Michigan
As I mentioned at the beginning of this blog post, whether a trailer has only two wheels or more than two wheels will determine whether travel trailer insurance is required under Michigans No-Fault law.
It doesnt matter whether its called a travel trailer, a camping trailer or a trailer coach.
Specifically, if a trailer has more than 2 wheels, then it will be deemed a motor vehicle under Michigans No-Fault law and, thus, the law will require that a valid trailer insurance policy be obtained. 500.3101)
On the other hand, if the travel trailer has only two wheels, then it is not a motor vehicle under No-Fault and a travel trailer insurance policy will not be required.
As you will see below, a trailers status as a motor vehicle under No-Fault also plays an important role in fixing damage after a car accident.
Don’t Miss: What Pitch Prop For My Boat
Michigan Boating Accident Coverage: Everything You Need To Know
From an evening ride on a neighborhood lake to a week-long trip around the Upper Peninsula, Michigan offers boating enthusiasts an endless array of options. Nonetheless, even the most experienced operator can be involved in a boating accident. When that happens, it is important to understand what is covered by insurance and when to seek reimbursement from the responsible party. Here is an overview of Michigan boating accident coverage.
How Does Boat Insurance Work
Boat insurance works the same way as car insurance does. If you damage your boat or cause injuries or damages to someone else, you file a claim with your insurer asking them to pay for the damages. If the incident is covered, your insurer pays for the losses or injuries up to your coverage limits.
Important note: One of the biggest myths about boat insurance is that you dont need it because you’re adequately covered under your home insurance policy. While your home’s policy may provide some protection for a smaller boat while it’s on your property, it won’t offer the coverage you need on the water especially if you’re operating a powerboat.
Recommended Reading: How Much Are Boat Clubs
Are There Any Legal Requirements To Operate A Boat
A lot of people dont know this, but Pennsylvania requires persons born after 1982 to complete a brief boating safety course to be legal on the water. If you dont complete the course, you can actually get fined.
Taking the course even if you arent legally required to can actually lower your boat insurance premiums.
Watercraft And Recreational Vehicle Requirements
This page contains title and registration requirements for mopeds, recreational vehicles, off-road vehicles, snowmobiles and watercraft and information about use of Michigan waterways by owners of watercraft registered in another state.
Moped are not titled but must be registered. Three-year sticker expires on April 30. Mopeds may be operated on streets drivers must be at least 15 years old and licensed. Moped must be registered as an ORV if used off-road. Registration must be renewed upon transfer of ownership. Helmet use required if under age 19. See registration fees.
Also known as off-highway vehicles, this classification includes off-road motorcycles, three-, four-, and multi-wheeled all-terrain-vehicles , air and tracked ATVs, and off-road utility vehicles. All ORVs must be titled. Any on-road vehicle may be registered as an ORV. Dual registration is permitted. One-year ORV license is issued by the Department of Natural Resources expires March 31. Fee– $16.25. If used exclusively on private property, an ORV may not require an ORV license.
All trailer coaches, travel trailers, 5th-wheel trailers, pop-up campers, and all trailers over 2,500 lbs. must be titled and registered. Pickup camper units are titled only. Title Fee – $15.00. Registration Fee – Based on empty weight.
Part-time and non-residents
Also Check: How To Get Mold Stains Out Of Boat Seats
Do I Need Trailer Insurance In Michigan
This depends on what kind of trailer you have. According to the Michigan Insurance Code , all motor vehicles must be covered by a No-Fault policy. Therefore, you have to know whether your trailer is considered a motor vehicle under Michigan No-Fault law.
Heres the legal definition:
A vehicle, including a trailer, that is operated or designed for operation on a public highway by power other than muscular power and has more than 2 wheels.
The following vehicles are not considered motor vehicles under No-Fault law:
- Trailers with 2 wheels or less
- Farm tractors or other farming vehicles not subject to the registration requirements of the Michigan Vehicle Code
- Golf carts
- Commercial quadricycles
- Electric bicycles
Accordingly, if you are towing a 2-wheel trailer, you are not legally required to insure it. You must have a Michigan No-Fault policy for trailers with 3 or more wheels, including travel trailers and tractor-trailers.
What Is A Boat Insurance
It is an insurance coverage that takes over the costs incurred on your boat in case of an accident or when it’s stolen or vandalized. It also ensures you receive protection if you happen to damage property or injure someone with your boat accidentally.
Looking for an insurance company that will offer a boat insurance tailor-made for your needs? Janis-Shunta Insurance in Fruitport and Muskegon, MI offers reliable boat insurance solutions to boat owners in Michigan. We will walk you through each insurance policy and come up with the right coverage that will suit you.
The types of coverage we have under boat insurance include:
- Liability coverage- It covers accidents or damages to another personâs boat, property, or an individual. All, which your vessel may have caused.
- Property coverage- It helps protect your boat from specific risks and covers cost of repairs after an accident occurs to your vessel
- Uninsured watercraft coverage- Covers injuries that may occur to your passengers in the event of another craft colliding with yours.
- Medical payments coverage- It covers resulting expenses from an accident like medical bills, X-rays, etc.
At Janis-Shunta Insurance in Fruitport and Muskegon, MI, we understand the value of your boat. To help guide you through, we have Michigan agents ready to answer all your questions and assist you where they can. Our rating tools are only available for home and auto insurance. We look forward to having you on board.
You May Like: Missouri Boat Title
Why Is Boating Insurance Recommended
Boating insurance is recommended for two main reasons, both of which can save you thousands of dollars.
Liability Protection And More
Our comprehensive protection and indemnity package protects you against liabilities to others that may arise as a boat owner including:
- Towing and Roadside Assistance: Not all boating accidents happen on the water, unfortunately, and auto insurance wont protect your boat while youre towing it. SkiSafe provides coverage for your boat whether youre towing it on the water or on the road.
- Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability: We can protect you against liability for bodily injury and property damage related to your boat ownership. SkiSafe also pays for all legal costs related to your defense, and those expenses will not reduce the liability available under your policy.
- Medical Payments: Boater safety is the most important thing for SkiSafe, and thats why our policies cover no-fault medical payments for injuries up to $25,000.
Recommended Reading: Boat Seat Cleaner And Protector
Do I Need To Report A Boating Accident To The Us Coast Guard
If a boating accident meets one or more of the following criteria, it must be reported to the U.S. Coast Guard.
- Someone is killed
- One or more people are seriously injured or require treatment beyond basic first aid
- Someone is missing or has fallen overboard and there is reason to believe they were Injured or killed
- The vessel has been damaged beyond repair
- The total property damage caused by the accident appears to be $2,000 or more
What States Require Boat Insurance
As of right now, only two states have boat insurance lawsâArkansas and Utah. In Arkansas, all motorboats powered by engines of more than 50 horsepower, and all PWC, must be covered by a liability insurance policy. The policy must provide at least $50,000 of liability coverage, and it is illegal to operate the PWC without the required insurance.
In Utah, all motorboats and PWC are required to carry ownerâs or operatorâs liability insurance when operated on Utah waters. Motorboats equipped with engines less than 50 horsepower and airboats are exempt. It is illegal to operate a PWC on Utah waters without the required insurance.
Utahâs boat insurance policy requires the following minimum coverage limits per occurrence:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person.
- $50,000 for total bodily injury if multiple people are hurt in the accident.
- $15,000 for property damage.
There are some instances of states requiring insurance for boats used in some state parks or kept in some state-operated marinasâcheck with your state marine board or alternative governing agency to see if you are impacted.
Don’t Miss: How Much Does It Cost To Join A Boat Club
Who Else May Require You To Carry Boat Insurance
If you intend to finance the purchase of a boat, your bank will require you to provide proof of insurance for the watercraft. Typically, the policy will need to cover the full value of the boat, and your bank may set minimum requirements for specific types of coverage. In addition, you will need to list the bank as a lienholder on the policy so that it will be included as a co-payee on any compensation in the event of a loss payment.
Most ports and marinas will require you to carry boat insurance in order to use their facilities.
For example, if you want to moor your boat at Port of Bellingham in Washington, you must carry a policy with at least $300,000 in general, legal and pollution liability with a policy term of no less than one year. As another example, the Hawaii Division of Boats and Ocean Recreation requires all vessels moored at its facilities to carry at least $500,000 in liability insurance.
Some marinas, such as the Hawaii Division of Boats and Ocean Recreation, may even require that the marina itself be listed as an “additional insured” or “additional interest” on the policy. You’ll normally need to provide proof of insurance before you can sign a contract for a slip or mooring.
How Do I Pay For Damage If My Trailer Is Rear
If your trailer is a motor vehicle for No-Fault purposes and is insured by a valid No-Fault auto insurance policy, then you can file a mini tort claim to make the at-fault driver pay for damage to your trailer.
The maximum mini tort recovery limit is currently $1,000, but, as a result of the Michigan mini tort law change that was part of the new No-Fault law, the mini tort limit will increase to $3,000 for accidents occurring after July 1, 2020.
Significantly, if your trailer damage results from a rear-end crash, then Michigan law may be able to help you prove your by making it easier to show the other driver was at-fault. Under MCL 257.402, the driver of a car that rear-ends another vehicle shall be deemed prima facie guilty of negligence.
Read Also: What Size Anchor For 23 Foot Boat
How Much Does Boat Insurance Cost
According to the Insurance Information Institute, some homeowner insurance policies cover damage on small boats or watercraft with less than 25 mph horsepower.
Be careful, though, because coverage tends to be low sometimes only $1,000 or 10% of your homes value. Larger watercraft need to carry their own policies.
- Safe boater: You have no violations or accidents recorded for the last three years.
- Pay in full: If you pay the entire year upfront.
- Original owner: If you have been the only owner on your boat.
- Homeowner policy: If you own a home, townhome, or condo .
- Multiple boats: You have more than one watercraft or boat to insure.
- Safety course: Completed a state-approved boating course.
- Multiple policyholders: If you insure a car, home, or anything else, you could receive a discount for bundling.
Some insurers place limitations and restrictions on the type of boats they will cover. Be sure to double check before moving forward with any policy or boat purchase.