Arkansas Boating Laws And Regulations
Who needs an Arkansas Boater ID Card?
There is no restriction on the age of boat operators. If you are under 14 years of age, you must have your Boater Education Card onboard and operate the boat under the direct, onboard supervision of an adult over 17 years of age, while operating a boat propelled by a motor of 10 HP or more. While operating a personal watercraft, you must have a person above the age of 21 along with you to supervise and help in an emergency.
Get your Official North American Boating License
Get your Official North American Boating License
The Official NASBLA and State-Approved Canada Boating Course, Test & License.
ARKANSAS LIFE JACKET REQUIREMENTS
BOATING AND ALCOHOL
Boating and alcohol laws vary from state to state. In Arkansas no person shall operate any motorized boat while they are under the influence of alcohol, drugs or a combination thereof.
In Arkansas, a person is considered to be under the influence if:
- They have a Blood Alcohol Concentration level of 0.08 or higher.
- They are under the influence of alcohol.
- They are under the influence of any drug or a combination of drugs and alcohol.
- The have a BAC level of 0.02 or higher and are under 21 years of age.
In Arkansas, a person convicted of operating a motorized boat while under the influence will be subject to the following penalties:
More severe penalties exist for additional convictions.
Arkansas boating laws are enforced by:
BOAT REGISTRATION AND TITLING
Where Do You Have To Keep The Boat Registration Number In Arkansas
The number must be colored, implemented as a decal, or otherwise attached to the front half of each side of the motorboat and placed prominently. On either side of the boat, the number must be aligned from left to right. The number must be a minimum of three inches tall, bold, and must use BLOCK letters. The color of the numbers must not camouflage with the background. Letters and numbers have to be separated by hyphens or space. Any other number must not be present around the Boat Registration Number on either side of the boat.
Registering Your Boat With The New Hampshire Dmv
All motor-operated boats operated on public waters in New Hampshire must be registered with the stateâs Division of Motor Vehicles. This includes any boat with an inboard or outboard motor, excluding sailboats under 12 feet. Boats owned by the U.S. government and those just passing through are exempt.
Youâll want to start your registration process by filling in a DMV boat registration form, called DSMV form 157A. Youâll also need proof of ownership, like a bill of sale in your name and your picture identification.
If your boat doesnât have a 12-digit hull identification number, you must also obtain a DSMV form called Verification of Vessel Identification. It has to be completed and signed by a New Hampshire law enforcement officer under penalty of perjury.
Expect to pay a registration fee. The fee depends on the length, age and type of boat. Check both RSA 270-E:5 Vessel Registration Fees, and RSA 72-A:3 Boat Fees to figure out the fee for your boat. Or, you can call the DMV and ask about boat registration fees.
Once you collect these documents, you can register the boat in person at certain DMV offices in New Hampshire. Check the DMV website for a list of those accepting boat registration. You can also register your boat at an authorized boat agent. These are often town clerks, but see the list in the DMV website. Alternatively you can mail the documents to the Concord DMV at: NH Dept. of Safety, DMV Boat Registrations, 23 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03305.
Also Check: Does Aaa Cover Boat Trailers
Caveats And Exceptions In Registering Your Vehicle In Arkansas
- You must title and register your car with the Arkansas OMV within 30 days of making a purchase or having the vehicle’s title signed over to you .
- For online registration, your title will not be mailed until all documents have been received and processed.
- Customers applying for or using a Title Purpose Only Certificate cannot register online. A TPOC does not require proof of insurance and no license plate will be issued, only a title is received.
Do I Have To Take An Online Exam
The Online Boating Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you dont complete the exam in one session, dont worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
You May Like: How Much Do Boat Mechanics Make In Florida
Arkansas Specific Registration Laws
Please review your state specific requirements before purchasing identification decals as they do vary from state to state. Our designer is setup to comply with the general requirements above. If you require a specific requirement not in our designer, just leave a comment at checkout and we’ll adust your design . We are providing a link to the official state of Arkansas identification number guidelinesHere.
How To Register A Boat In Arkansas
Registration of a boat refers to a proper pen and paper registration under Arkansas to be eligible to sail on public waters. The Act 733 under the 92nd Arkansas General Assembly Regular Session of 2019 says, from the beginning of January 1st, 2020, the boats that are manufactured during 2020 and after that year are required to be titled through the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration Office for motor vehicles. The owner must register the boat within 30days from purchasing it.
Arkansas certificate and validations are compulsory to operate. To acquire the certificate, it is necessary to show a properly filled-in form, pay the required fee and verify the Hull Identification Number under the Revenue Office of the country of the owner of the country where the boat is primarily operated. The certificate of number is valid for 3years.
You May Like: Best Anchor For 23 Foot Boat
I Just Moved To Bradford New Hampshire How Do I Register My Vehicle
- If you have a 2000 model year or newer AND the original out-of-state title in hand, you will need to bring the title, your out of state registration and proof of residency. DMV requires all 2000 and newer vehicles to be titled, this is a one time $27.00 fee. If you have a 1999 model year or older we will need to see proof to verify the VIN but are not required to title the vehicle.
- If you have a lienholder bring all lienholder information from when the original lien was set up . We will need the address for your title is being held, this may be different from the address you make payments. The State of NH will contact your lienholder for the title. You will also need to bring your out-of-state registration and proof of Bradford residency.
What types of plates can I get?
Standard Passenger Plates
Moose Plates $30 additional yearly cost Moose Plates Q & A
Vanity Plates $40 additional yearly cost
State Park Plates $85 additional yearly cost NH Sate Park Q & A
Can I get Antique Plates?
The DMV has requirements that must be met to get Antique Plates.
Any motor vehicle, including a truck, regardless of its weight, over 25 years old, which is maintained for use in exhibitions, club activities, parades, and other functions of public interest.
The Town Clerks office will process the Town portion and then you will have to go to a DMV location to process the State portion.
Can I get a title for my Antique Vehicle?
We cannot guarantee that an antique title can be produced.
General Information About Numbers
We’ll guide you through the process of creating Arkansas boat numbers when you click design now. Each state has specific verbiage as to their requirements. See the Arkansas specific section below. The general requirements for boat registrations numbers are as follows:
- A minimum of 3″ letter height
- A block style font such as
- Generally located on the forward hull portion of the boat next to the DNR tag
- A contrasting color to base color of your boat.
- Letters separated by a space or a dash
Also Check: Removing Mold Stains From Vinyl Boat Seats
Which Boats Require Registration
Requirements for vessel registration vary from state to state. In New Hampshire, you must have a Certificate of Registration and validation decals to operate a vessel legally on public waters. This includes motorboats of any size and sailboats or sailboards 12 feet in length or longer. The only exceptions are:
- Sailboats and sailboards under 12 feet in length
- Other small, non-motorized vessels, such as canoes and kayaks
- Vessels registered in other states using New Hampshire waters for 30 or fewer consecutive days
- Vessels owned or operated by the U.S. government
- Unit 4 of 6
You May Like: How To Clean Mildew From Boat Seats
What Is A Hull Identification Number
The Hull Identification Number is a 12 or 14 character serial number that uniquely identifies a boat. The HIN is analogous to a VIN on a car. All boats manufactured or imported on or after November 1, 1972, must bear a HIN, and this HIN must be identified during the boat registration process. Vessels manufactured or imported before 1972 are EXEMPT because they often do not have a HIN.
The HIN is found on a metal or plastic plate, typically on the transom of the boat, usually on the right starboard side of the transom within two inches of the top of transom, gunwale, or hull/deck joint, whichever is lowest. On vessels without transoms, or impractical to use transoms, the HIN is usually affixed to the starboard outboard side of hull, aft, within one foot of the stern and within two inches of the top of the hull side, gunwale or hull/deck joint, whichever is lowest. On catamarans and pontoon boats with replaceable hulls, the HIN is usually affixed to the aft crossbeam, within one foot of the starboard hull attachment.
Read Also: Sell My Boat Fast
Boat/vessel/outboard Motor Titling And Registration
NOTE: Effective August 28, 2012, Missouri law requires that any outboard motor manufactured on or after July 1 of any year shall be labeled âYear Manufacturedâ with the calendar year immediately following the year manufactured, unless the Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin indicates a specific model or program year. For more information, you may refer to the instructions on the back of the Application for Missouri Boat/Vessel or Outboard Motor Title and Registration .
New Hampshire Boating License Fees
The cost of getting your boat education card varies depending on the program you enroll in. You may be able to enroll in a course that is provided for at low-cost or that is free of charge. However, most classes charge approximately $40 to $45 total. To discover what you must pay, contact the program directly to inquire about their fees.
Recommended Reading: Where Can I Sell My Boat Fast
The Town Clerks Office Registers Automobiles Trucks Rvs Boats All Other Watercraft Trailers Motorcycles And Atvs
PLEASE NOTE: There are additional fees to cover the cost of the credit card processing . These fees go directly to our third party processor and are not retained by the town/city. Credit card convenience fees cannot be refunded. If your payment is returned there will be additional penalty fees.
New residents to the state have 60 days to register their vehicle and obtain a NH drivers license.
I am a Bradford resident, what do I need to register my new vehicle?
- DEALERSHIP purchase: If you purchased a vehicle through a NH dealership you will need to bring the title application. If you wish to transfer plates from your old vehicle to your new vehicle you will need to bring the current registration associated with the plates you wish to transfer. The DMV requires a certified registration to be turned in at the time of transfer. We can reprint the registration but it will be an additional $18.00 fee. When transferring plates whomevers name is listed first is considered the owner of the plates and those plates can only be transferred to a vehicle in that persons name. If there are two people listed the plate belongs to the first person listed and cannot be transferred into the second owners name.
If your vehicle has a GVW over 26,000 lbs we can only process the Town portion and you will have to go to a DMV location to finish the process. It will not be a valid registration until you complete the state portion with the DMV.
Boater Safety Courses In Arkansas
All boaters born on or after January 1, 1986 must take an official boater safety course in Arkansas before operating a boat. A boater safety course in AR can fulfill this requirement. However, all courses must be approved by the AGFC. Approved ways to take a safety course in AR include free instructor-led classes taught by the AGFC, and Boat Arkansas. This is an approved online boater course, and certification costs $24.50.
Also Check: Do Jet Skis Have Titles In Wisconsin
Renewing Your Arkansas Boat Registration
If you are wondering how to renew your boat registration in Arkansas, you may do so in person at your state revenue office or by mail. Boat registration renewal in AR costs the same as the current initial registration fee for your size of vessel. Make sure you send any mail renewals no later than 15 days prior to the expiration date.
As with initial registration, you should provide HIN verification by presenting a clear printed photo of the number or a legible pencil rubbing of it. Send the required registration items to:
Department of Finance and AdministrationOffice of Motor VehiclesP.O. Box 3153
Little Rock, AR 72203-3153
Boat Is Registered In Georgia
Seller should give the buyer a signed and detailed bill of sale and the Georgia boat registration card. The bill of sale must contain sufficient information to identify the boat, such as hull identification number, year, make, model, Georgia boat registration number, etc.
Buyer should obtain the detailed bill of sale and the sellers registration card. If the seller is not the owner of record on the Georgia registration card, the seller should also give the buyer copies of bills of sale that form a chain back to the owner of record to show the boat was legally transferred by the owner of record to each subsequent owner if these bills of sale are available.
The previous owners registration card should be retained by the buyer until their registration card is receivedafter their registration card is received we suggest the previous owners registration card be destroyed.
Most Georgia registered boats have an eTitle in the state registration system. If a Georgia paper title for the vessel exists, it must be transferred and given to the buyer.
Read Also: Does Aaa Cover Boat Trailers
New Hampshire Boater License
A New Hampshire online boating license or one obtained in person is what some people call the document that is actually a boating education certificate. Although the terms boater license and boating certificate are used interchangeably, only the certificate is required in NH in order to legally operate a boat in the state.
Recommended Reading: Clean Mildew Off Boat Seats
Where Do You Go To Register Your Boat In Arkansas
The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration manages the registration of boats and title via its Office of Motor Vehicles located in Little Rock. Propeller boat motors are not eligible for hold-on registration and titling in Arkansas. The registration is valid for the next 3years. Prior to the renewal of registration, all the individual tax payments may be cleared, or else registration may get canceled.
Also Check: Who Makes The Best Jon Boat
Registering Your New Hampshire Boat Trailer
Youâll have to register your trailer if it is 15 years old or newer. Youâll also have to title the trailer if it weighs over 3,000 pounds and was manufactured later than 1999. The trailer registration process starts at your local town clerkâs office. Bring identification and proof of residency and call ahead to find out the charges.
If you have your trailer title, present the certificate of title or a copy of your title application for registration. If your trailer is exempt from titling, present a bill of sale, proof of the Vehicle Identification Number, or a copy of an earlier New Hampshire registration.
You can usually process the entire registration transaction at the same office. If you need to title the trailer, you may have to file a title application with the DMV.
How Do You Register A Boat
The laws and requirements for registering a boat also vary by state, however, most boats with mechanical propulsion will need to be registered. In many states, the existing title can be signed over to the new owner, who then takes it to the Department of Motor Vehicles along with any relevant forms, where they can apply for a new title and registration. Any required taxes must be paid before new documents will be issued.
Don’t Miss: How To Keep Birds Off Boat Canopy
Can You Title A Boat With A Bill Of Sale
In most states, in order to obtain a new boat title, youll typically need the existing title from the previous owner – although some states may accept just a bill of sale with the existing HIN . If the title has been lost or misplaced you will likely have to apply for a new title through a separate process before you can move on to the registration process. Most titles have language on them that indicates the seller is releasing the vessel to the buyer.