Saturday, November 19, 2022

Do You Have To Have Boat Insurance In South Carolina

Who In South Carolina Needs Errors & Omissions Insurance

Best and Worst Center Consoles (After Inspecting 8 Hours at the Charleston South Carolina Boat Show)

If you work in a professional position in which your clients may claim that you provided inadequate services, or in which negligence or other errors could result in your clients experiencing injuries, financial losses, or other damages, you may benefit from the protections of an errors and omissions insurance policy.

Though these policies are not required by law, they may be required by professional licensing boards.

Insurance companies have E& O policies designed to meet the specific coverage needs of people in several professions, including:

  • Attorneys and legal consultants
  • Travel agents
  • Interior decorators

These are just a few of the hundreds of professions that can benefit from the protections of an errors and omissions insurance policy. A local independent agent can help you determine whether a policy is a good idea for you.

How To Connect With An Independent Agent In South Carolina

When you’re searching for builders risk insurance for your next project, use a professional. Since coverage options can be tricky, it’s crucial to have someone knowledgeable. South Carolina has a network of reliable resources to help.

An independent insurance agent has access to several markets, saving you time and money. They work on your behalf at zero cost to you. Connect with a local expert on TrustedChoice to get started.

TrustedChoice.com Article | Reviewed byJeffrey Green

How Much Is Boat Insurance Per Month

The amount you pay per month for boat insurance depends on how valuable your boat is, what insurance plan you choose, and a number of other factors. A basic liability plan can cost you as little as a $100 every year, while a comprehensive plan for a mid-range pontoon can cost as much as $45 a month.

If insuring your pontoon sounds a bit pricey, dont worry. Here are some ways you can reduce the monthly payment:

  • Find a policy that suits your needs, and dont pay extra for things you wont use.
  • Maximizing your boats safety features can reduce your monthly payment.
  • Complete a boating safety course and show your agent the certificate.
  • If your pontoon isnt getting a lot of use, lengthen the lay-up period.

When you show your insurance agent that youre serious about boat safety, you could end up getting a discount of 5% or more.

Read Also: Does Banana Boat Deep Tanning Dry Oil Work

Charleston Boating Law Attorneys

We recommend any boat owners around Charleston, or anywhere else in South Carolina, to be familiar with the laws of the water. We also urge everyone to take a boating safety course before going on the water. Boats dont have brakes! A good course is provided by the Department of Natural Resources , and information can be found by .

After handling boating accident personal injury cases, defending those accused of boating crimes such as BUI, and personally engaging boating activities throughout our lives, the attorneys at Futeral & Nelson know the boating laws in South Carolina. If you ever need legal assistance relating to your boat, please call us and schedule a consultation.

Boating can be very fun, but dont let your fun come at the expense of your safety and the safety of others. We hope you have a great boating season ahead!

Boating Accidents In South Carolina

Hurricane Prep: How Much Time Do You Have

As weve said, boats are dangerous. There are no brakes, seatbelts, or airbags. You arent enclosed on a boat like you are in a car, and the possibility of getting thrown out of a boat is great. The possibility of drowning exists. We cant stress enough that operators of boats should ensure they have the knowledge and experience required to take their passengers out and get them home safely.

If an accident does occur, then the operator of the vessel has a duty to render assistance to the persons on the other vessel so long as he or she can do so without risking danger to his or her own vessel or passengers. Leaving the scene of the accident is a crime. Further, the operator of a vessel involved in an accident must report the accident to DNR whenever the accident results in loss of life, loss of consciousness, medical treatment, disability in excess of 24 hours, or property damage.

Boating accidents are different from car accidents. Not only are the laws different, but everything behind the accident is different. There are no skid marks, evidence of the accident is harder to piece together, and there are often less witnesses on the water than on the road. If you are in a boating accident, the attorneys at Futeral & Nelson will be happy to speak with you regarding your case.

You May Like: What Size Trolling Motor Do I Need For My Boat

What Is Barber Shop Insurance

Each industry will come with a unique set of coverages that apply based on risk exposures. If you own a barbershop, standard coverage options help you set a foundation of protection.

Revenue of barber shops in the US in recent years

The amount of revenue and profit your South Carolina barber shop could make is limitless. It’s best to understand how your insurance works and what you’re covered for under each policy.

Why Do You Need Insurance For Your Boat Or Personal Watercraft

You’ll enjoy the water ever more when you’re not worried about the safety of yourself, your passengers or your investment. Here are a few things to consider:

  • If you’re in an accident or your watercraft is stolen, it costs money, often a lot of money, to fix or replace it.
  • If you or any passengers are injured in an accident, medical costs can be extremely expensive.
  • If your watercraft is responsible for damage or injury to others, you may be sued for much more than you’re worth.
  • Your watercraft also needs protection when it’s on land. Accidents can happen while towing a watercraft.

Recommended Reading: What Battery Do I Need For My Boat

Boating Insurance In South Carolina

Boating insurance is not required in South Carolina. However, as personal injury lawyers, we cant stress enough the importance of obtaining insurance. It is very cheap in comparison to automobile insurance, so there is really no excuse to pass on boating insurance. If you are financing the boat, the bank might require that you have some form insurance. If you do obtain a policy, consider the following items:

All-in-all, call more than one insurance company and ask lots of questions. Make sure any quotes you receive and made both with and within the add-ons that you are unsure of. Ultimately, even if you never need the policy, the peace of mind might be worth it alone. And if you ever do need the policy, you will be glad you bought it. Additionally, there are also some private companies that offer their own form of towing insurance. Consider whether you want to pay the yearly fee to know you are covered if your engine ever fails and you cant make it back. These towing companies can be very expensive if you have to hire them while you were not under contract with them. Finally, double-check your automobile policy to make sure it covers your trailer when you are driving on the road.

Regardless Of What You Think Injuries Can Happen

A Marine Insurance Primer, with Adam Meyer

Just because youre a cautious boater who obeys all of the safety regulations doesnt mean that you wont cause an accident. We can take all the steps in the world to avoid collisions, it still doesnt make us impervious to the random freak accident.

Boating accidents are serious, much more so than a fender bender on the road. Making one mistake, like towing a tuber too fast or hitting a jet skier, can seriously injure or even kill someone. For this reason, you want to have a good insurance policy that protects you and your boat.

A comprehensive policy will cover your pontoon as well as injuries to yourself and others. If this isnt something youre interested in, you should get a liability plan at the very least. This way, youre protected in the event that you cause an accident that hurts someone else. You dont want to be stuck with hospital bills and expensive legal fees because you were uninsured and injured someone.

Also Check: Can I Register My Boat Online In Texas

Criminal Offenses Regarding Boating In South Carolina

  • Boating Under the Influence A person can be charged with Boating Under the Influence if theres probable cause to believe that the person was operating a vessel while under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or both. If convicted, the person can face a jail sentence, fines, loss of boating privileges, and impounding of the boat. . The penalties become much stricter if the intoxicated driver causes property damage, bodily injury, or death.
  • Negligent Operation of a Boat A person can be charged negligent operation of a boating device if the person boats in a careless manner. Operating a boat at more than idle speed in a no wake zone, failing to maintain a proper lookout for other boats or persons, operating too fast for conditions on the water, racing, or pulling a skier through a designated swimming area can each constitute negligent operation.
  • Reckless Boating A person can be charged with reckless boating if the person boats in a reckless, willful, or wanton manner. Weaving through congested vessel traffic at more than idle speed, jumping the wake of another vessel within two hundred feet of that vessel, crossing the path or wake of another vessel when the visibility around the other vessel is obstructed, and maintaining a collision course with another vessel or object and swerving away in near to the other vessel or object can each constitute reckless boating. Two offenses for reckless boating can result in suspension of boating privileges.

So How Much Does Pontoon Boat Insurance Cost

If youre reading this article with the expectations of getting a definitive answer to this question then Im afraid youre going to be disappointed. Like most other things money-related, insurance is a complex industry. There are a lot of factors that go into determining how much youll pay to insure your pontoon boat. Adjusters consider a number of things before quoting you, like your boats value, state and municipal laws, and your other insurance policies.

In this post, Ill explain more about boating insurance and clear up some common misconceptions.

Recommended Reading: Must Have For Boat Owners

Personal Property And Unattached Equipment

Risk Factor

Your boat or watercraft likely holds personal items and various types of equipment including fishing gear, safety equipment, water skis, deck chairs, and other items. If such items are stolen from your boat, they can be quite costly to replace.

Solution

Personal property and unattached equipment insurance can pay for personal property that you leave in your boat in the event it is stolen.

Boat And Watercraft Insurance Customized To Your Needs

Five Best Lakes in South Carolina for Recreational Boating
What are the financial risks involved with owning a boat?

Getting out on the water should be carefree, but owning and running a boat brings several financial risks. Watercraft insurance means you can stop worrying about those risks and get back to relaxing on your boat.

Damage and liability coverage features.

Boat insurance policies usually have two standard elements, with two optional extras that are worth considering. One standard feature is insurance coverage for physical damage to the boat, whether that be from a collision, fire, severe weather, theft, or vandalism. The other standard feature in a boat insurance policy is liability, meaning youre covered for damage you cause to other boats or people, along with the associated legal costs. Look for insurance policies that cover the costs of cleaning up any oil spillages if your boat is severely damaged, as well.

Also Check: Where To Buy Boat Parts Online

Does Builders Risk Insurance Cover Theft

Theft is very important to a builders risk policy. Materials are left out on job sites for months and can be stolen at any time. Builders risk insurance will cover against theft.

The amounts of coverage vary. Typically, you preselect the limits of protection your project needs for theft of materials. The carrier may have guidelines for what they will offer depending on the size of your project.

Although builders risk insurance is geared towards construction, you can also consider it as a homeowner. If you’re building a home in South Carolina, a builders risk policy will need to be purchased before the projected starts. In South Carolina, $891,835,000 in homeowners claims were paid in 2019. For protection against a potential loss, look at the right policy.

Usually, the builder obtains coverage until the closing on the house. However, anyone with a financial interest in the project should get coverage and be listed on all policies involved.

What Does Your Workers Compensation Insurance Policy Cover

Workers compensation insurance protects employers and employees alike. Employees do not need to worry that a workplace injury will cause them financial hardship, and employers can avoid expensive liability lawsuits. South Carolinas business owners can expect their workers compensation policy to include the following:

  • Treatment of workplace injuries: Covers accidental injuries in the workplace. An employee at an automotive manufacturing plant dislocates his arm in a work accident.
  • Treatment of work-related illnesses: Covers treatment of illnesses caused by exposure to toxic substance in the workplace. A chemical production engineer breathes in noxious fumes.
  • Follow-up treatment: Many workplace injuries and illnesses clear up quickly on their own. Others require extensive follow-up treatment. Workers compensation can cover the cost.
  • Lost wage compensation: When employees must take time off to recuperate from workplace injuries or illnesses, workers’ compensation ensures they will still receive income.
  • Death benefits: Nearly 100 workplace injuries result in death every year in SC. When this happens, workers comp insurance can provide benefits to surviving family members.
  • Don’t Miss: How To Sell Your Boat Privately

    Dont Expect To Be Covered By Your Homeowners Policy

    The notion that homeowners insurance covers boats is one of the biggest misconceptions that new pontooners make. Its never a good idea to assume that anything is covered by insurance, so take the time to carefully read your policy. Otherwise, youre setting yourself up for a bad day in the event that your pontoon gets damaged.

    Part of the reason that people have this misunderstanding about homeowners insurance is because some policies do cover boats. However, these boats small, usually without an engine, and inexpensive. Your pontoon, which is probably worth anywhere between $15,000 and $45,000, will not be covered by homeowners insurance in any circumstances.

    Renting A Boat In South Carolina: Do I Need A License

    Do NOT Buy These Boats Part 2 (You’ll Regret It If You Do)

    Now that summer is upon us, more people are enjoying time out on the water along South Carolinas coastline or on one of our states many lakes and rivers. And for many of us, that means renting a boat for a day or a weekend.

    If you will be going out on a boat for the first time, or just the first time in a long time, its important to make sure you know the legal requirements surrounding renting or operating a boat in South Carolina.

    Recommended Reading: How Do I Register My Boat With The Coast Guard

    Who Else May Require You To Carry Boat Insurance

    If you intend to finance the purchase of a boat, your bank will require you to provide proof of insurance for the watercraft. Typically, the policy will need to cover the full value of the boat, and your bank may set minimum requirements for specific types of coverage. In addition, you will need to list the bank as a lienholder on the policy so that it will be included as a co-payee on any compensation in the event of a loss payment.

    Most ports and marinas will require you to carry boat insurance in order to use their facilities.

    For example, if you want to moor your boat at Port of Bellingham in Washington, you must carry a policy with at least $300,000 in general, legal and pollution liability with a policy term of no less than one year. As another example, the Hawaii Division of Boats and Ocean Recreation requires all vessels moored at its facilities to carry at least $500,000 in liability insurance.

    Some marinas, such as the Hawaii Division of Boats and Ocean Recreation, may even require that the marina itself be listed as an “additional insured” or “additional interest” on the policy. You’ll normally need to provide proof of insurance before you can sign a contract for a slip or mooring.

    What Happens If Law Enforcement Thinks Im Boating Under The Influence

    If law enforcement believes you are under the influence, at some point you may be asked to perform standardized field sobriety tests . These SFSTs should be performed on shore for example, by taking the operator to a dock. However, there are still inherent problems, particularly with balance tests in a situation where the operator has been on a moving boat being tossed about in the water.

    To address this issue, the government has developed The Afloat Test Battery or Seated Battery of SFSTs. These tests are perhaps even less reliable than the SFSTs, and you have every right to refuse to submit to them.

    You also need to understand that the concept of implied consent applies to boating as well as driving. Implied consent means that by operating a watercraft of any sort, you are implicitly consenting to chemical tests of breath, blood, or urine to determine the presence of drugs or alcohol should you be arrested. You can read the full text of the law here, but these are the highlights:

  • If you arrested for BUI, you implicitly agree to a chemical test. This is usually a breath test.*
  • That chemical test has to be administered by a person trained and certified by the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division , using methods approved by SLED.
  • You could be forced to pay the $50 fee for the breath test if you plead guilty or are convicted of BUI.
  • If your test registers a .05 BAC or lower, it is presumed you were not under the influence of alcohol
  • Read Also: How To Find Expiration Date On Banana Boat Sunscreen

    Popular Articles
    Related news