Can You Register A Trailer In Florida Without A Title
You are a Florida resident and want to buy a boat trailer. Under Florida law, if you purchase a trailer, it must be tagged and renewed before its registration expires.
In that case, you can do it at a license plate office or the county tax collectors office. However, you can sometimes register a boat trailer at a landfill office too. These offices will issue a registration for you based on the empty weight of your trailer.
Now the question is, Can you register a trailer in Florida without a title? If the answer is yes, then how? If not, what to do?
How To Register A Boat In Florida With No Title
What to do if you want to sell a boat but dont have the title
In the state of Florida, you must register your boat with a title in most instances. A purchaser of a new or used vessel has 30 days in which to do this. Failure, according to the Florida motor vehicles and tag/titles department is a 2nd degree misdemeanor. Does this mean that if you do not have a title that you cannot operate the vessel legally or sell your vessel? Not necessarily. There are exemptions from titling as well as some methods for gaining a title for registration. Here is what you need to know if you need to know how to register a boat in Florida with No title.
Are there exemptions from Titling a boat in Florida?
There are exemptions for titling. These exemptions are that the boat is non-motorized and less than 16 feet long. If it has an outboard motor, even a singular low HP it must be titled. If the vessel is owned by the U.S. Government or if the vessel is Federally documented it does not need a title. A boat which is deemed as Amphibious by the DHSMV and have a vehicle title do not need a boat title. Any boat which is used only for demonstration, testing, or sales promotional purposes by a dealer or manufacturer does not need a title.
The only other exemptions are vessels issued a valid registration certificate and numbers by other states and vessels which are used exclusively on private lakes and ponds.
What if the boat is from out of state?
What about lifeboats?
Birthday Bonus For Georgia Boat Owners
Starting July 2013, Georgia residents who have a boat registered with the state can fish on their birthday as part of their boat registration fee.
Its a one-day bonus for the states some 300,000 resident boat owners. This offer from the Georgia Department of Natural Resources also covers use of some DNR shooting ranges, plus some other sporting privileges. To take advantage of it, boat owners just have to get outdoors.
The birthday bonus is a one-day resident combination license that not only allows Georgians 16 and older who own a vessel and have a valid, current registration to fish , it covers many other recreational opportunities, including fishing at public fishing areas, accessing state lands where a Georgia Outdoor Recreational Pass is otherwise required, hunting small game and feral hogs on private land, and using shooting ranges where a license is required.
The license is good for the primary boat owners birthday during the three years the boat registration is valid.
Boat owners must carry a Georgia ID, such as a drivers license, and their plastic vessel registration card to show proof of a valid vessel registration. Activities like mountain trout fishing and big-game and migratory bird hunting require additional paid licenses. Saltwater fishing requires an additional free permit.
Don’t Miss: How Much To Join Freedom Boat Club
Can I Register My Boat Online In Florida
4.8/5A Florida boata boataFloridawillaregistrationThea boat registrationonline boat
Also, how do I register a boat in Florida?
The proof of ownership must include a complete description of the vessel, including manufacturer’s name, year, type, hull material, propulsion, fuel, use of vessel, hull identification number and length. Used vessel currently titled in FLFlorida title accurately completed for transfer to purchaser.
Secondly, do I have to register my boat in Florida? Vessels must be registered and numbered within 30 days of purchase. If your vessel has a current and valid registration or certificate of number from another U.S. state or territory, you may operate it in Florida for 90 days before you are required to register it in Florida.
Secondly, can I register my boat online?
Register Your Boat OnlineRequirements vary from state to state, and depending on the size and type of your boat, registration numbers and validation stickers may need to be displayed. Click on your state to find out how to register your boat, requirements, regulations and to get more information.
Can I renew my boat registration online in Florida?
Renew OnlineFLHSMV offers a quick, convenient way to renew a vehicle or vessel registration online at GoRenew.com. The following motor vehicle services are offered through GoRenew: One or two-year registration renewals for motor vehicles. One or two-year registration renewals for vessels.
Application With A Florida Title
To complete a Florida Title Transfer for a Vessel, you will need the following documents:
- Original FL Title
- Proof of Identification
- Bill of Sale
- Power of Attorney
- Application for Duplicate Title
To transfer a Florida Title of a used boat to the new owner complete the transfer information of the current seller’s title. If the vessel is purchased through a dealer, the dealer reassignment also must be completed. Sales tax will be collected if applicable. In the event the title is lost, a duplicate title may be applied for using form HSMV 82101. The vessel owner will need to be present with valid proof of identification. When the vessel owner is not present, the owner can sign a Power of Attorney, form HSMV 82053, to allow the purchaser or agent to act on his behalf. Have you misplaced or lost your FL Vessel Title? If you wish to apply for a duplicate title with transfer, both the purchaser and the seller must be present.
- FL Title Transfer :$8.25
- Out of State Title Transfer : $12.25
- Fast Title Fee : $5.00
- Lien Fee : $1.00
- Duplicate Title: $9.00
Registration Fees:The annual renewal fee is calculated based on the length of your vessel. Remember to RENEW your Vessel on your Birthday!
- < 12ft. $10.75
Recommended Reading: Is Boat Insurance Required In Washington State
Transferring A Boat Title When Buying A Boat
If you want to operate a boat in American waters, it must be registered and/or titled in the state where you live. Part of the process of buying a boat from another individual is transferring the title into your name.
While the process is fairly straightforward, any mistakes could result in disputes over the ownership of the boat.
1) Have the seller sign the title. Before you can have the title to your newly purchased boat transferred into your name, the seller must fill out the transfer section on the back of the title and sign it. If there is more than one name on the title, make sure all parties approve of the sale.
Beware of messy domestic situations, like divorce, if there is more than one owner listed.
Some states require the title to be signed in the presence of a Notary Public. If there is space for a notary seal on the back of the title, make sure to wait until you and the seller are in front of a notary otherwise the signature may be invalid.
If you are transferring the title to a new state it is best to have the title and bill of sale notarized in any case.
Documentation from an authorized representative: Some sellers may have an authorized representative, such as a dealer or an attorney, complete the title transfer for them. An authorized representative should have a contract, power of attorney, or other documents that make it clear they are the legal, authorized representative of the title owner of the boat.
Applying For Duplicate Certificates
If a valid Florida vessel registration is lost or destroyed, a duplicate can be obtained from a county tax collector or license plate agent by submitting Form HSMV 87015. If a Florida certificate of title is lost or destroyed, the titled owner can get a duplicate by submitting a completed Form HSMV 82101 and a $6 fee to a county tax collector or license plate agent. The application will be processed and the duplicate title mailed within five working days from receipt of the application. For those counties issuing expedited duplicates and FLHSMV offices, a fee of $11 is assessed.
You May Like: Boat Carpet Mold Removal
Is Florida A Title State For Boats
All motorized vessels operating on Floridas public waterways must be titled and registered. Chapter 328, Florida Statutes, designates that FLHSMV is responsible for issuing vessel registrations and titles. Applications for titles and registrations must be filed at a county tax collector or license plate agent office.
When Vacationing In Florida
A party who is vacationing in Florida for 90 days or less does not need to register and title a boat trailer. Florida recognizes valid registration certificates and numbers issued to visiting boaters for 90 days or less. A party who stays in Florida over 90 days and registers his boat trailer may retain his out-of-state registration number if he plans to return to his home state within a reasonable period of time.
Also Check: How To Clean Algae Off Fiberglass Boat
Do You Need A Lien On A Boat To Get A Loan
If the boat is not large enough to be documented with the Coast Guard, a formal mortgage would not be prepared however, the lender would still record its lien against a state title or equivalent document. In either event, the lien would be released once the loan has been repaid. Do you offer pre-approvals?
What Boats Are Exempt From Boat Registration In Florida
The following boats and vessels are exempt from boat registration in Florida:
- Vessels stored and used solely on private lakes/ponds
- Non-motorized vessels less than 16 feet in length
- Federally documented vessels and vessels owned by the United States government, the State of Florida or any of its political subdivisions
- Vessels used exclusively as a ships lifeboat
- Non-motorized canoes, kayaks, racing shells/sculls regardless of length
Recommended Reading: Which Propeller Is Best For My Boat
Fl Boat Registration Requirements
To register your boat, head to the license plate agent or county tax collector’s office nearest to you with the following:
- Completed boatregistration application.
- Not offered online can only be obtained in person at from the license plate agent/tax collector office.
Please note that some counties may tack on additional fees.
Is It Legal To Sell A Boat In Florida
All good advice, but these tricks neglect one crucial element: The best way to sell a boat in Florida is the legal way. For buyers and brokers in Florida who are dealing with water-faring vessels that already have a title from the state, the seller simply releases the boats title to the purchaser.
According to the Florida Department of Revenue, a boat dealer is a person or business that sells boats, offers or imports boats for retail sale in Florida. This applies to yacht brokers, too, who are subject to the same sales and use tax laws as boat dealers.
Read Also: Boat Cover Patch
Florida Boat Registration In Florida
Owners have the option of registering their vessel for either one year or two years. The only boats excepted from the registration requirements are boats without motors that are less than 16 feet in length. Any Florida resident who buys a boat has 30 days in which to get it registered at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles . Even Coast Guard vessels must be registered with the state.
The same state agency that registers cars also registers vessels in Florida. The Florida DMV also is responsible for issuing and maintaining boat registration records in Florida. They collect registration fees and hold the boat registration records for 10 years.
Read More:Florida Boat Sale Laws
Registering Or Purchasing An Inherited Boat
When a person dies, title to their property, including any vessels they owned, becomes vested in another person. A formal legal process guides this action. Legal documents may be available to show who gained ownership of a vessel from the estate, or who has legal authority, such as an Executor or Administrator of an estate, to dispose of a vessel.
To transfer registration, the Department of Natural Resources must have a legal document reflecting the change in ownership of the vessel. We have past instances where we learn ownership of a vessel is in dispute. For example, someone may have sold a deceased’s vessel to a third party and others in the family or spouse claim the seller had no ownership claim to legally sell the vessel. Therefore, the person that sold the boat was not the owner and the buyer is unable to legally transfer registration.
Also Check: Freedom Boat Club Seattle Cost
Boat Titles & Registration
Florida statutes 327 and 328 regulate the administration and enforcement of vessel registration and titling laws, as well as boating safety. All motor vessels, operated on state waters must be numbered and titled in Florida, except those used exclusively on private lakes. A non-resident vessel which is already registered by another state can be operated in Florida waters for 90 days before Florida registration is required.
What is the time period for boat registration?
Registration carries with it the payment of a fee, and the issuance of a Florida registration number and decal that must be affixed to the vessel. All boats are registered starting at midnight of your birthday and expire at midnight of your birthday the following year. Fees are based on the length of the vessel with the exception of canoes and non-motorized vessels less than 12 feet in length. Click here for a Vessel Fee Schedule
Do I have to register my canoe?
Pursuant to section 327.25 Florida Statute, only canoes which are propelled by motors must be registered.
When must my vessel be titled in the State of Florida?
What must be done if I have a documented vessel?
All federally documented vessels which are relocated to this state and are domiciled here for greater than 90 days must obtain a Florida registration. Documented vessels are not required to be titled in the State of Florida.
For more information, please contact the St. Johns County Tax Collector Office at or .
Transferring A Boat Title When Selling A Boat
1) Gather required proof of ownership. In general, youll need your copy of the title for the boat and the title for the outboard motor. In some states, these may be two separate title documents.
If you had the boat financed and there is a lien on the title, youll also need documentation for the release of that lien from the finance company. In some cases, the finance company will keep the title on file with them.
Whatever the case, verify that the title is clear from any liens before transferring ownership.
2) Complete a bill of sale. An official bill of sale provides a record of the sale and the amount for which you sold the boat. Some states require the buyer to present a written bill of sale when they apply to transfer the title.
Take the bill of sale to a notary public so your signature and the buyers signature can be notarized. You should have two copies notarized, one for you and one for the buyer.
If the transaction is later disputed, a notarized document will more likely hold up in court.
3) Fill in the transfer section of the title. On the back of the boat title, there will be a section to record the transfer of the boat to another person. Write the buyers name, address, and other information required.
To complete the transfer of the title to the buyer, you must sign the back of the title below the transfer section.
Read Also: Freedom Boat Club Cost Jacksonville
Transferring Title After Divorce In Florida
Most married couples have a mortgage on their home, and some couples even have multiple mortgages as well as home equity loans. Luckily, at Marina Title, in cases where divorcing spouses agree to sell their home, we can provide mobile closing services and even schedule separate closing dates for each of the divorcing spouses.
If one of the divorcing spouses agrees to or is ordered by the court to give up his or her interest in a marital home, then Marina Title can help the former spouses create and execute a Florida quitclaim deed. However, the spouse that has to give up their interest in the home may be reluctant to do so because of an existing joint mortgage, as removing his or her name from the title will not release his or her legal obligations to the mortgage lender. Generally, the best way to accomplish a smooth settlement is to have both divorcing spouses sign the quitclaim deed simultaneously, with the spouse that is receiving the marital property taking a new mortgage in his or her sole name in order to pay off the existing joint mortgage.
If one of the former spouses refuses to sign the quitclaim deed, the other former spouse can force him or her to sign it. However, that might not be necessary, as the final judgment of dissolution of marriage will likely state that both parties must sign the deed. If the reluctant spouse still refuses to sign, then the receiving spouse can take him or her back to court.