Friday, July 1, 2022

What Do I Need On My Boat

Powerboats Less Than 16′

What safety equipment do I need for my boat? | With Andrew Hart & Nick Duigan

Life Jackets One wearable USCG-approved device for each person on board. Any child less than 10 years of age must WEAR a properly fitted, USCG-approved life jacket.

Fire Extinguisher One type B-1 With Exception for vessels with an electric motor and vessels of “open construction” with an outboard motor.

Visual Distress Signal On Lake Erie a USCG-approved signal for night use. On waters other than Lake Erie, a distress flag or USCG-approved signal for day use

Sound Signaling Device On federal waters, a whistle, horn or other device

Anchor & Line Required With Exception for any vessel less than 14 feet

Lights Running lights as prescribed by federal and state law. Anchor light displayed when at anchor.

Ventilation of Engine and Fuel Tank Compartments Required

Backfire Flame Arrestor for Inboard Engines Required

Muffling Device or Underwater Exhaust Required

What Is A Pleasure Craft

A pleasure craft is a vessel that is used for recreation and does not carry passengers. It is a vessel of a prescribed class under the Canada Shipping Act, 2001.

NOTE: For the purposes of this definition, a “passenger” is a person who has paid a fee to be transported in a commercial vessel. A “guest” does not need to pay a fee.

Return to: General Information | Top of Page

Can Someone Of Any Age Operate A Boat

No, there are age restrictions in effect for operating a boat. Restrictions designed to protect the safety of children, prohibit operators under the age of 16 from operating pleasure craft above specified horsepower limits:

  • Children under the age of 12 may not operate a pleasure craft with more than 7.5 kW without adult supervision.
  • Children between 12 years and 16 years of age may not operate a pleasure craft with more than 30 kW without adult supervision.
  • Only persons 16 years of age or older can operate a personal watercraft, regardless of supervision.

Recommended Reading: Does Minnesota Require Boat Insurance

What Center Caps Do I Need For My 2007 Triton Bass Boat Trailer

Question:

Im looking for center caps for 2007 Triton bass boat trailer aluminum wheels that have Triton Boats Oil Bath Hubs on them. See attached picture.Thanks!

asked by: Keith D

Helpful Expert Reply:

While we don’t have the bath covering individually, we do sell the replacement center cap that comes with the covering that will fit your 2007 Triton bass boat trailer. That is the Americana Trailer Wheel Center Cap – Chrome – 3.19″ Pilot – 14″ Wheels. I went ahead and included a review of the cap as well as a picture of a customer review of a neighbor who used the cap on his 2007 Triton bass boat trailer.

Consider The Size Of The Power Cell You Are Going To Purchase

What Size Battery Do I Need For My Boat?

To be able to select the right battery for your boat and your needs, you also have to make sure that you determine the right size of battery you need. We mentioned earlier that size of battery you are going to purchase would have to depend on how much power your boat needs. It means, the larger your boat is and the larger its electrical load it has, the larger size of power cell it needs to keep up with its demand. To guide you on this aspect, you can refer to the battery size section of this article above.

Read Also: How Do I Register My Boat In Colorado

What Do I Need To Bring To Register My Boat

All vessels manufactured after 1972 are required by federal law to have a hull identification number affixed to the vessel by the manufacturer. This 12 digit number is normally located on the outside stern of the vessel on the right side, below the gunwale. This number must be included on the registration certificate and application for registration.When registering a boat for the first time in your name, sales tax applies to the purchase price at the same local rates as applies to vehicles. Sales tax must be paid in your county of residence or the county in which your boat is domiciled . A marina or storage facility is not an acceptable address for registration purposes.What do I need to bring to register a new vessel?

  • Bill of Sale from a licensed dealership with the complete description of the vessel including the HIN, year, make and model serial number of the motor, horse power of the motor. It must include the amount paid for the vehicle, the date of sale, the name, address and signature of both buyer and seller. Sales tax must be itemized

What do I need to bring to register a vessel purchased from an individual in Alabama?

What do I need to bring to register a homemade vessel?

Download a printable checklisthere

What Kind Of Information Does The Pleasure Craft Electronic Licensing System And The Application For A Pleasure Craft Licence Form Require And How Is This Information Used

The Pleasure Craft Electronic Licensing System ) and the “Application for a Pleasure Craft Licence” form asks for basic contact information on the pleasure craft owner, the previous owner, as well as a description of the vessel.

Information may be disclosed to parties involved in search and rescue activities, as well as law enforcement agencies for the purpose of carrying out a lawful investigation and enforcing any law of Canada, including the requirement to pay provincial sales tax.

At Transport Canada, we protect all information you provide in order to obtain a Pleasure Craft Licence according to the appropriate privacy and access to information legislation. The information collected is described in the Personal Information Bank entitled Pleasure Craft Licences . Under the provisions of the Privacy Act and the Access to Information Act individuals have the right of access to, and protection of, their personal information. Instructions for obtaining personal information are provided in Info Source, a copy of which is available in major public and academic libraries or online.

Return to: Application Information | Top of Page

Also Check: How To Look Up Boat Hull Numbers

When To Buy Boat Trailer Tires

Unless youre buying a brand new boat and trailer off the dealer lot, you are more than likely going to be in the market for some new boat trailer tires. If you dont know how old the boat trailer tires are, you can check the DOT code on the side of the tire. The last set of four numbers in the tire DOT code indicates the precise week and year of manufacture. In the example below, this tire was manufactured in the 35th week of 2007.

Now that you have an idea of how old your boat trailer tires are, you need to evaluate the condition of the tires.

This tire is due to be replaced because all of Lincolns head is visible.

An easy way to check if you need new tires is by the depth of the tread. To do this, you can use the Lincoln penny trick. All you do is set the penny, with the head facing down, into one of the grooves in the tire tread. Best to pick a couple of spots on the tire. If you can see the top of Abes head with the coin in position, then its time to start looking for some new tires.

Cracks in the sidewall of the trailer tire should be inspected by a tire expert.

Spring Boat Dewinterization Checklist

Do I need to register my boat? – iboats.com

Spring has sprung and its time to put your boat back in the water. Thank Neptune the winter is over. This year Im going to wake up my boat myself and save some money. But where to begin? How do the pros do this seasonal service? Should I even attempt this? Will it end up costing me a lot more money?

All very good questions and due to the many styles of propulsion and vessel systems, you should read up using your specific owners or service manual. This will be your first step.

Your spring prep is directly related to the comprehensive winterizing of your engine and boat systems. Basically the more you do or have done for winter layup the better your chances in reducing Sit-itis. This is the insidious boat disease that happens, when systems that worked in the fall now do not.

Don’t Miss: Gluten Free Sunscreen

Fenders And Docking Equipment

Next, you’ll want to buy some fenders. At some point, youll likely be pulling up alongside a dock or another boat to tie up, and having at least two fenders to provide a buffer zone will protect your boat as well as whatever youre tying up to on any given day.

Depending on how you use your boat, you may want to get specialty fenders in addition to the basic ones that skippers typically use to port and starboard. A specialty fender can be shaped to protect a pontoon boat, a swim platform, a boats corner or other specific areas. Not to mention, an anchor and line will also come in handy.

Looking for a few tips to help you get the hang of docking your new boat?

Equip For The Conditions

The ResQLink View Buoyant Personal Locator Beacon has a small digital display that confirms that your message has sent and will display your GPS coordinates in case you need to provide your location to search and rescue personnel over a VHF radio.

You can never be too prepared for an emergency and you should consider the specific conditions you may encounter before you head out on your voyage including:

Water temperature: Few environments in the world are as dangerous to humans as cold water. If you operate your boat in the Pacific Northwest, the Great Lakes or in other cold-water regions, bring gear that protects you and your crew from hypothermia.

Poor visibility: High quality navigation lights, sound signals and radar units can lessen the danger of low visibility conditions like fog or rainsqualls.

Distance from help: If your cruising route includes the coast of Mexico, Bermuda or a trip to Hawaii, you’ll be far from the convenience of your local boating supply store and far from the security of the US Coast Guard. The need to be self-sufficient is greatly increased away from inland and coastal US waters.

Rapidly changing weather conditions: Many boating areas are subject to squalls or other fast moving weather systems that can stir up trouble in a hurry. Boats operating in these areas should have gear aboard which can be used defensively, like larger anchors, lightning detectors and grounds, mainsail reefing equipment, drogues and sea anchors.

Don’t Miss: How To Clean Mildew Off Boat Seats

Towing & Trailering Your Boat

Trailering you boat makes it possible to visit new bodies of water, but for many new boat owners towing safely requires another new skill set that is part of boat ownership.

Your Tow Vehicle

The first item to check is that your tow vehicle is rated to tow the boat you will buy.

  • Check the vehicle owners manual carefully to find the maximum tow rating, and the Gross Combined Vehicle Rating , which is the weight of the tow vehicle and the boat and trailer and that weight should include the weight of boat fuel, water and gear.
  • Dont buy a boat only to discover youll need a new truck to tow it.

Insurance Coverage for Roadside Assistance

You may also want to consider getting insurance coverage for roadside assistance, in case your tow vehicle breaks down while trailering your boat. Progressives Roadside Assistance, for example, provides 24/7 coverage including towing, jump starts, winching, fuel delivery, vehicle lockout, and flat tires.

Pro Tip: If your boat sways from side to side when trailering, pull over and redistribute the load. Swaying is very dangerous, and usually results from improper tongue weight . In most cases, tongue weight should be 10 to 15 percent of the overall package weight.

Registering Your Pleasure Craft

Do I need an Anchor for my Boat?

The Canadian Register of Vessels is a title system that keeps track of the owners of vessels. It contains information on each vessel such as ownership and vessel characteristics, e.g. tonnage, construction material and type. When you register, you receive an official number for your vessel, as well as a unique name. It also provides certain benefits, such as the right to fly the Canadian flag.

If you intend to use your vessel as security for a marine mortgage, you are required to register your vessel.

Registration is optional for all pleasure craft, regardless of tonnage and length, as per the Canada Shipping Act, 2001.

There are costs associated with registering. However, the registration is good for as long as you own the vessel. You must carry registration documents on board the vessel at all times, together with any other ownership documents, to help avoid delays clearing U.S. or Canada customs, or in case of a fine.

Transport Canada provides this registration service. For frequently asked questions on registration, please visit the Vessel Registration Office Web site.

Registering your small commercial vessel:

If your vessel is no more than 15 gross tonnage, you may register it in either the Small Vessel Register or the Canadian Register of Vessels. If your vessel is more than 15 gross tonnage, or if you want to register a mortgage, you must register it in the Canadian Register of Vessels.

Licensed vessels:

  • it is sold to someone else or, if it is not sold

You May Like: How To Pick The Right Boat Propeller

Safe & Responsible Boating

Safe boating is always fun boating for everyone. Consider taking a boating safety and education course such as those offered by the US Coast Guard Auxiliary, or by your state or local authorities. You can find out more by visiting our Safe Boating Guide.

Pro Tip: Different boating activities can raise some different safety concerns.

Battery Storage & Maintenance

Proper storage of the marine battery will prolong its life cycle. Winterizing your boat also consists of adequately storing your battery. Trickle chargers can cause damage to your marine boat unless it is set up in a way not to overcharge the battery.

Picking an excellent automatic marine battery charger will save you money in replacement costs. You also want to store your battery in a manner that allows the battery no to stay at a constant temperature.

The Battery cannot be set on concrete as it may expand and leak, or completely discharge depending on the moisture and temperature of the concrete. Always set your battery on a dry wooden surface.

Getting your battery ready for the spring season is not as simple as picking up and going. Here is an excellent video that explains the entire process.

Read Also: Is Banana Boat Sunscreen Cruelty Free

Passive Ais Via Smartphone Or Computer

This is the least expensive way to harness AIS data. From a computer you can visit the website marinetraffic.com and bring up a world map showing AIS vessel data. Zoom in, click, and learn. If using a phone is more your style, an app is also available . Other AIS apps include Boat Beacon , Ship Finder , and Vessel Finder . As we noted earlier in the article, though, third-party-produced websites and apps cannot be expected to be as accurate as designated units and should be considered supplements to navigation, as opposed to something to be relied upon.

Tapping into limited AIS data can be as simple as downloading an app onto your smartphone.

Required Safety Equipment You Need On A Boat By Law

What Size Bilge Pump Do I Need On My Boat? | BoatUS

Boating in Florida requires certain safety equipment. You cannot go out on a boat without the minimum required safety equipment or you can get into big trouble. Understanding the equipment you need will make a big difference.

If you chose to boat with the Jax Boat Club, you won’t have to worry about safety equipment. We provide everything you need to meet or exceed the requirements of the Florida laws.

Don’t Miss: How Much Does A Boat Club Cost

The Rest Of The Gear We Recommend

The lists above will satisfy minimum requirements for operating your boat, but there are other saftey products that have proven their worth when the worst happens on the water. While these products will require a little more investment on your part, they are an investment in the safety of yourself and others on your boat. At West Marine, we are commited to making life on the water as enjoyable as possible and having the right safety gear is part of that.

Powerboats 26′ To Less Than 40′

Life Jackets One wearable device for each person on board PLUS one Type IV throwable device.

Fire Extinguisher Two Type B-1 OR one Type B-2

Visual Distress Signal On Lake Erie a USCG-approved signal for both day and night use. On waters other than Lake Erie, a distress flag or USCG-approved signal for day use.

Sound Signaling Device A whistle, horn or other device. Vessels over 12 meters must have a power whistle.

Anchor & Line Required

Lights Running lights as prescribed by federal and state law. Anchor light displayed when at anchor.

Ventilation of Engine and Fuel Tank Compartments Required

Backfire Flame Arrestor for Inboard Engines Required

Muffling Device or Underwater Exhaust Required

Inland Navigation Rules Required for vessels 12 meters or more in length.

Garbage Placard Required

Oil Pollution Placard Required

Recommended Reading: Is Banana Boat Sunscreen Cruelty Free

How To Get A Motorboat Or Jet Ski License

The Motor Vehicle Commission issues motorboat and personal watercraft licenses for use on fresh, non-tidal waters or lakes, creeks or rivers not affected by tidal conditions. A boat license and New Jersey Boat Safety Certificate are required to operate a power vessel or personal watercraft – jet ski or wave runner – on non-tidal waters of New Jersey. A boat license is not required for non-powered vessels.

Step One: Complete a boating safety course For any power motorboat operation on tidal waters, you must successfully complete a boating safety course approved by the New Jersey State Police to receive a New Jersey Boating Safety Course Certificate. Visit the NJSP Marine Service Bureau website for full details.

Additional information is available:

Boating is Alive & Well in New Jersey On The Water – Go Boating NJ Video

Step Two: Get an initial motorboat or jet ski license You must be at least 16 years old. If you are under the age of 17, you need to present a letter with parental or guardian consent.

Applicants must visit a motor vehicle agency with:

New Jersey Boating Safety Course Certificate Pay the $18 license fee

The MVC accepts American Express® card, MasterCard®, Visa® card, Discover card®, checks, money orders and cash.

A license may be renewed by following the above steps for getting the initial license.

How to title and register a boat

In order to use New Jersey waterways, all boats must be titled and registered except:

How to title and register a homemade boat

Popular Articles
Related news