Boats Bought From Dealers
If you bought your vessel from a dealer, most of the registration process will be completed at the dealership. You will need:
- A boat registration application, provided by the dealer.
- The dealer will need to stamp your application as proof of sales tax paid.
Then, you can submit the above items:
- In person OR by mail to the address on the boat registration application.
- Online by uploading your application to the TWRA’s registration portal.
Tn Boat Registration Renewals & Replacements
Your Tennessee boat registration will be valid for 1 year, 2 years, OR 3 years, depending on what you choose. Before your registration expires, the TWRA will send you a renewal notification.
You can renew your vessel registration:
- Online by submitting the required details about your boat ANDthe necessary renewal fees using the Wildlife Resources Agency’s automated renewal system .
- In person at any TN business selling TWRA fishing and hunting licenses, by providing your:
- Boat registration number.
- Appropriate renewal fees.
Register Your New Watercraft:
- Options are limited for in-person registrations so check the deputy registrar of motor vehicles listings . The DNR License Center, 500 Lafayette Road in St. Paul is closed and cannot process registrations.
If your new boat is longer than 16′, your dealer will apply for title and registration on your behalf, and is responsible for providing you with license materials.
When you register your boat for the first time, know its length, manufacturer, type of hull material , type of propulsion, model, year, serial or hull identification number and have a sales receipt that shows you have paid the sales tax.
Length is the straight-line distance from the foremost part of the boat to the rearmost part of the boat . Bowsprits, outboard motor brackets, rudders and other attachments are not included in the measurement.
A watercraft license is not required for: Non-motorized watercraft 10 ft or less, or a watercraft owned by a person from another state and that state does not require licensing of that type of watercraft and it is not within Minnesota for more than 90 consecutive days. See MN Boating Guide for more information.
Boat registrations are good for 3 calendar years .
You May Like: What Is The Best Boat Wax
Updating Your Contact Information
It is important the department has your updated address on file so you receive registration renewal notices and other registration materials sent by the Department. State law requires boat owners to notify the department within 15 days after moving. )
To update your contact information you can log into your DNR GoWILD customer account. After logging in, you will be asked to verify or edit your address and contact information.
If you have difficulties accessing your DNR GoWILD account, you may also . We ask that you include:
- your customer ID number ,
- first and last name,
Title Or Register Your Boat
You must register with LDWF all motorized vessels/watercraft, including sailboats 12 feet or longer, used in Louisiana waters. You much also register non-motorized houseboats.
You must title a boat or outboard motor that is financed or currently titled in another state when youre registering it in Louisiana, a homemade boat, or a boat that has an incorrect hull identification number.
How do I register my boat?
For motorized boats, complete a Boat Registration/Boat and Motor Title Application and submit it, along with original notarized documentation demonstrating boat ownership , any other documents required for the special cases listed below, and a check, cashiers check, or money order for applicable fees.
For non-motorized houseboats, complete and submit a Non-Motorized Houseboat Registration Application, along with the Affidavit of Ownership of a Non-Motorized Houseboat, and pictures of the houseboat.
Apply either in person at LDWF Headquarters at 2000 Quail Drive in Baton Rouge during normal business hours, 8 am to 4 pm, Monday through Friday, or by mail to:LDWF Attn: Boat Registration/Boat and Motor Title Application PO Box 14796
If you have not received your registration certificate and decals within 45 days of applying, please call .
How much does registration cost?
|For each foot greater than 38||Add $2 per foot|
How do I renew my boat registration?
Renewal fees are the same as registration fees .
How do I transfer ownership of my boat?
Recommended Reading: How Much Is The Boat Ride To Mackinac Island
Boat Registration Renewal Changes
- Effective January 1, 2020 all registrations will be renewed every year instead of every 3 years.
- The expiration month of your watercraft decals will be the month the personal property taxes on your boat are due to the county along with the $10.00 annual registration renewal fee.
- Beginning January 2021, your annual registration renewal fee of $10.00 will be billed by your county along with your property taxes.
Currently Registered Boats: Current numbers and decals will remain valid until they expire. Counties wont begin billing current owners for the annual registration until January of 2021, and only then once their current registration is due to expire. Property tax notices and registration renewal fees will be due the month the registration decals expire. So, for a registration renewed in 2019, that owners tax bill should not reflect a charge for annual registration until 2022.
Current Owners: The expiration month on the vessels current decal will continue to be the month that property taxes are due on that boat. For example, if the boat registration expires in June, then both property taxes and annual registration fees for the coming year will be due in June. .
Non-taxable Boats Titled and Registered in S.C.: SCDNR will continue to mail renewal notices for boats that are non-taxable . Their expiration month will not change, and the renewal notices will become annual.
Vessels From Private Sellers
In general, to register a vessel bought from a private seller in Tennessee, you’ll need to submit the following:
- A completed boat registration application, available only at your local county clerk’s office.
- After paying sales tax, the county clerk will stamp your application as proof.
Then, you can turn in the required items above:
- By mail OR in person to the address on your application for boat registration.
- Online by uploading your registration application on the TWRA’s registration system.
NOTE: Certain TN counties may require additional items to register boats bought from private sellerscall your county clerk’s office to confirm you have all the required materials.
Don’t Miss: Are You Required To Have Boat Insurance In Texas
Registration By Dealers Or Manufacturers
Dealers or manufacturers may apply for registration which can be transferred from one vessel to another. A copy of the business license and sales tax number must accompany the application for a dealer or manufacturer number. Such vessels are to be used for demonstration purposes only and more than one vessel may not be operated simultaneously with the same number. In addition, vessels being demonstrated must have the Certificate of Number on board and the registration number must be correctly displayed. However, such vessels may display the number by having it attached to removable signs which can be temporarily but firmly attached to the vessel. Both original and renewal dealer/manufacture registrations must come to the central office in Nashville and cant be renewed online.
Applying For Duplicate Certificates
If a valid Florida vessel registration is lost or destroyed, a duplicate can be obtained from a county tax collector or license plate agent by submitting Form HSMV 87015. If a Florida certificate of title is lost or destroyed, the titled owner can get a duplicate by submitting a completed Form HSMV 82101 and a $6 fee to a county tax collector or license plate agent. The application will be processed and the duplicate title mailed within five working days from receipt of the application. For those counties issuing expedited duplicates and FLHSMV offices, a fee of $11 is assessed.
You May Like: How Do I Get Wifi On My Boat
Renewing Or Updating A Pleasure Craft Licence
A Pleasure Craft Licence that was issued or updated after 2010 is valid for 10 years. At the end of that period, you must renew your licence.
If you change your name, address, or particulars of the pleasure craft after you obtain a Pleasure Craft Licence, you must update your licence.
Note: Updating your name will require a copy of one of the name change document listed below. This document can be uploaded in the additional document slot in the document upload section of the online application.
- an adoption order
- a legal change of name document
- a marriage certificate or marriage registration
- a request to amend a record of landing or a confirmation of permanent residence
You may renew or update a licence by regular mail or online, using the procedures outlined above at Obtaining a Pleasure Craft Licence.
Using A Pleasure Craft Licence
After you receive your Pleasure Craft Licence, you must use it as follows:
- Carry the Pleasure Craft Licence on board the vessel at all times.
- Display the number on both sides of your boat’s bow. The number must appear in block characters which are:
- at least 7.5 centimetres high
- in a colour that contrasts with the colour of the bow
There is a $250 fine if you are found operating a vessel without a licence.
Also Check: How Much Are Boat Loan Interest Rates
Birthday Bonus For Georgia Boat Owners
Starting July 2013, Georgia residents who have a boat registered with the state can fish on their birthday as part of their boat registration fee.
Its a one-day bonus for the states some 300,000 resident boat owners. This offer from the Georgia Department of Natural Resources also covers use of some DNR shooting ranges, plus some other sporting privileges. To take advantage of it, boat owners just have to get outdoors.
The birthday bonus is a one-day resident combination license that not only allows Georgians 16 and older who own a vessel and have a valid, current registration to fish , it covers many other recreational opportunities, including fishing at public fishing areas, accessing state lands where a Georgia Outdoor Recreational Pass is otherwise required, hunting small game and feral hogs on private land, and using shooting ranges where a license is required.
The license is good for the primary boat owners birthday during the three years the boat registration is valid.
Boat owners must carry a Georgia ID, such as a drivers license, and their plastic vessel registration card to show proof of a valid vessel registration. Activities like mountain trout fishing and big-game and migratory bird hunting require additional paid licenses. Saltwater fishing requires an additional free permit.
Nj Boater License & Safety Courses
To operate certain vessels on New Jersey waters, you may need to have a boat license AND/OR Boat Safety Certificate.
You can get your Boat Safety Certificate by completing a boater education course AND passing an exam:
- In the classroomâcheck your local listings for approved education providers.
- Onlineâmake sure the provider you choose offers an in-person final exam in your area.
You’ll need to have a boat license to operate motorboats and jet skis on NJ’s fresh non-tidal waters. To apply for a boat license, you must be at least 16 years old and submit the following items at your local MVC agency:
- Your Boat Safety Certificate.
Read Also: What Is The Best Ski Boat For Money
How To Renew Boat And Personal Watercraft Registration Renewal
Registered boat and personal watercraft owners will receive a registration renewal notice about 1 month before their current registration expires. To renew by mail, return the renewal notice using the self-addressed envelope along with a check payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts for the amount specified on the notice.
Note: Please write your registration number on the check.
Registered boat and personal watercraft owners will receive a registration renewal notice about 1 month before their current registration expires. To renew in person, bring the following to any of our 5 registration offices:
Licensed Marine Dealer Distributor Or Manufacturer
To become a licensed dealer, you must be in the business of buying, selling, selling on consignment, displaying for sale, and exchanging vessels or outboard motors at an established or permanent place of business in the state of Texas. Each location must have a sign conspicuously displayed showing the name of the dealership so that it may be clearly seen by the public and have sufficient space to maintain an office, service area, and display of products.
The dealer application form PWD 310 must be completed in full and submitted with the following:
- Copy of the sales tax permit
- Verification of assumed names
- List of dealer agreements and
- Submit application, supporting documents, and required $500.00 fee to Texas Parks & Wildlife Headquarters in Austin.
PWD 310 Supplemental Information Rules and statutes pertaining to Dealer, Distributor and/or Manufacturer Licenses.
To become a licensed distributor or manufacturer, you must be engaged in the business of manufacturing new and unused vessels and outboard motors for the purpose of sale or trade or offer for sale, sell, or process for distribution new vessels or outboard motors to dealers in the state of Texas.
The distributor or manufacturer application form PWD 310 must be completed in full and submitted with the following:
Dealers must also submit the following:
To a new owner:
Also Check: What Does Geico Boat Insurance Cover
Boat Is Registered In Another State
From a vessel title state: Buyer should obtain a detailed bill of sale from the seller and the original out of state title showing transfer to their name, and the original state registration card if available. All transfers of ownership must be on the title.
From a non-title state: Buyer should obtain a detailed bill of sale from the seller and the original state registration card. The seller should be the owner if record in that state, and if not bills of sale back to the owner of record must be submitted.
All are Title States/Territories except those below.
Non-Title States and Territories :
What Is A Hull Identification Number
The Hull Identification Number is a 12 or 14 character serial number that uniquely identifies a boat. The HIN is analogous to a VIN on a car. All boats manufactured or imported on or after November 1, 1972, must bear a HIN, and this HIN must be identified during the boat registration process. Vessels manufactured or imported before 1972 are EXEMPT because they often do not have a HIN.
The HIN is found on a metal or plastic plate, typically on the transom of the boat, usually on the right starboard side of the transom within two inches of the top of transom, gunwale, or hull/deck joint, whichever is lowest. On vessels without transoms, or impractical to use transoms, the HIN is usually affixed to the starboard outboard side of hull, aft, within one foot of the stern and within two inches of the top of the hull side, gunwale or hull/deck joint, whichever is lowest. On catamarans and pontoon boats with replaceable hulls, the HIN is usually affixed to the aft crossbeam, within one foot of the starboard hull attachment.
Don’t Miss: Who Has The Best Boat Insurance
Selling/buying A Used Boat: What Documents Do I Give The Buyer/receive From The Seller
The documents that will later be used to transfer or register a boat in Georgia from a private sale may vary, depending if the boat is already registered in Georgia, if the boat has a paper title issued, if the boat has been reported sold, and if the seller is the owner of record in the Georgia registration system. There are many possible scenarios, but these below are the most common.
A Bill of Sale for a boat must have adequate information to positively link the BOS to the boat.
Check Your Vehicle Identification Number Before You Renew
You will need to correct your vehicle identification number before you can renew your licence plate sticker online.
If the vehicle identification number on your dashboard and vehicle permit does not match, you will need to visit ServiceOntario to correct it. You will need to bring the following documents:
- the vehicle permit the vehicle portion of the permit is required
- your Canada Inter-Province Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Card
- one of the following documents:
- original vehicle manufacturers warranty
- copy of manufacturers invoice
- original or copy of the bill/certificate of sale from the original selling dealer
- letter from an authorized dealer for your make of vehicle verifying the correct vehicle identification number of the vehicle
- copy of certificate of title/certificate of origin
- copy of new vehicle information statement .
- original safety standards certificate, form SR-E-214, only if the last 6 characters of the vehicle identification number are correct
- sworn affidavit by the vehicle owner explaining the vehicle identification number error
If you do not have insurance, you must get it from an insurance provider licensed to do business in Ontario. Proof of insurance is required to renew your licence plate sticker.
You May Like: How To Pick The Right Boat Propeller
How Do I Get A Hull Identification Number
- Boat owners should use every effort to determine if a boat has an existing HIN or resolve problems with a HIN for use in the registration process.
- A HIN is required for boats manufactured after November 1, 1972. If the HIN is unavailable and unknown, the boat owner must first contact the boat manufacturer to obtain a replacement HIN .
- If the HIN is known but the plate is missing or the HIN not inscribed on the boat, the boat owner is responsible for permanently affixing the HIN to the boat.
- If the HIN is an improper format, the applicant will be asked to electronically upload or send a picture or pencil tracing of the HIN to DNR for verification and further instruction.
- If the manufacturer is out of business or will not assist the boat owner, a DNR HIN Inspection is necessary. DNR will assign a HIN number after the inspection process and the boat owner is responsible for permanently affixing the HIN to the boat. Information on arranging an inspection can be found at .