Thursday, August 11, 2022

New York Safe Boating Course

Free Paddlersmart Course With Purchase

New NY Law Requires Boat Operators To Take Safety Course

The PADDLERsmart! course is perfect for anyone participating in paddle sports including canoeing, kayaking, and stand-up paddleboarding. Whether youve been paddling for years or just getting started, youll learn everything you need to stay safe on the water. $24.95 value. Get it free when you purchase your BOATsmart! Course.

average number of drownings in the United States was 439all drowning-related fatalities in the United States, 30% involved paddle activities100% of all watercraft-related drownings are preventable

Complete The Course In Under 3 Hours

Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, its easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!

New State Archery Range Opens

The Saratoga Sand Plains Archery Range is now open.

The range, located in the Town of Wilton in Saratoga County, will provide recreational opportunities for bow hunters and archers, from novice to expert.

This is the Department of Environmental Conservations first-ever archery range. The 50-yard range has 16 targets, including eight adult lanes from 15 to 50 yards four youth lanes from five to 20 yards, and four elevated ranges up to 40 yards simulating tree stand shots.

The range will be open year-round. Information is available on the DEC website at www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/24418.html.

Also Check: Is Boat Insurance Required In Virginia

Nys Safe Boating Class April 30 2022 9am

This course will take place at:Strong’s MarineMattituck, NY 11952

PRE-REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED. Please register online and bring your paid receipt to class.

This course meets the NYS and USCG requirements for PWC Operation , along with Youth and Adult Boating Certification . Upon successful completion, you will have met the requirements and can operate a PWC or as a youth boater operate a vessel independently. You will receive a certificate upon successful completion of this course- certificate received same day as class.The course is designed as a comprehensive boating course, teaching the fundamentals of safe boating operation. Taught by State Certified Instructors with materials approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators. NYS requires classroom instruction, and this class includes the following topics:Accidents & Emergencies

New York Age And Operator Restrictions

New York State Safe Boating Course at The Smithtown Library Commack ...
  • All operators of motorized vessels will need a New York State Boating Safety Certificate by Jan. 1, 2025.
  • A person under the age of 10 years may operate a recreational boat if he or she is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who either has a New York State Boating Safety Certificate or is not required to have a certificate.

A person 10 years of age or older may operate a recreational boat only if he or she carries the New York State Boating Safety Certificate on board, if required.

  • A person at least 14 years old may operate a PWC only if he or she:
  • Has passed a boating safety course approved by the New York State Parks and
  • Carries the New York State Boating Safety Certificate on board the PWC or is accompanied on board.
  • No person under the age of 14 may operate a PWC legally.
  • No person under the age of 16 may rent a PWC.
  • Recommended Reading: Boat Rentals Lake Union Seattle

    New York Boater Education Card Requirements

    Anyone who operates a motor boat and who was born on or after . You must complete a New York approved boater safety course to get your certificate. All PWC Personal Watercraft operators must hold a New York State Parks approved boating certificate. The law will be phased in over the next 5 years:

    If you were born on or after: You will need a boating safety certificate as of:

    All operators of motorized vessels, regardless of age, will need a boating card by January 1, 2025.

    Nys Safe Boating Class April 23 20: 30am

    This course will take place at:West Marine – BuffaloBuffalo, NY 14207

    PRE-REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED. Please register online and bring your paid receipt to class.

    This course meets the NYS and USCG requirements for PWC Operation , along with Youth and Adult Boating Certification . Upon successful completion, you will have met the requirements and can operate a PWC or as a youth boater operate a vessel independently. You will receive a certificate upon successful completion of this course- certificate received same day as class.The course is designed as a comprehensive boating course, teaching the fundamentals of safe boating operation. Taught by State Certified Instructors with materials approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators. NYS requires classroom instruction, and this class includes the following topics:Accidents & Emergencies

    Don’t Miss: What Do I Need To Register My Boat

    United States Coast Guard Recognized

    The New York Boat Ed Course is recognized by the United States Coast Guard as meeting the standards of the National Recreational Boating Safety Program.

    USCG Auxiliary Course Provider

    Boat Ed is the only boater safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, the uniformed, civilian volunteer arm of the United States Coast Guard.

    Official New York Boater Safety Course

    Experts Encourage Boating Safety Ahead Of Summer Season

    The fastest way to get your boating licenseno timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the New York State Parks.

    New York law requires all personal watercraft operators 14 years of age or older to have a State Boating Safety Certificate. As of Jan. 1, 2020, Briannas Law requires all motorboat operators born on or after Jan. 1, 1993, to carry the State Boating Safety Certificate. The law is being phased in over several years.

    This course is approved by the state of New York and, once successfully completed, will result in your New York Boating License.

    Recommended Reading: How Much Do Boat Clubs Cost In Florida

    The State Boating Safety Certificate

    The State Boating Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.

    Vessel operators who are required to have a State Boating Safety Certificate must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.

    Purchasing A Permanent Boating Education Card From The Boatus Foundation:

    For $13.00 you may purchase a permanent plastic boating education card from the BoatUS Foundation . To order your card, log in at courses.boatus.org and click on “My Courses” on the top menu bar. Under the calendar on the left side of the My Account screen click the print link next to your New York certificate to open the certificate options window. Click “Get Boating Card” and fill in the requested payment information to place your order. Please allow 2-3 weeks from date of purchase to receive your permanent boating education card.

    Recommended Reading: Does Freedom Boat Club Allow Dogs

    What Is The Proof Of Online New York Boat Ed Course Completion

    Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boating Safety Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Boating Safety Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 60 days after course completion.

    New York State Requires Certain Boat Operators To Have A Boating Safety Certificate

    New York State Boating Safety Course Offered: February 25, 2017 ...

    New York State provides boating safety certificates to those individuals who successfully complete a New York State Safe Boating Classroom Course. New York State also recognizes the safety certificates issued by the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary, the US Power Squadron and the US Powerboating. Boating Safety Certificates from several online course providers are approved for New York State residents, such as BoatUS Foundation .

    Also Check: Should I Sell My Boat

    How Can I Get My New York Boating License

    You can obtain your New York State Boating Safety Certificate in 3 easy steps:

  • Pay the one-time fee of $34.95 free unlimited retries of the final exam
  • Study the New York Boating Safety Course, and pass the final exam
  • Print your Certificate of Completion immediately, and receive your permanent New York State Boating Safety Certificate in the mail within 3-4 weeks
  • Nys Safe Boating Class August 20 20: 30am

    This course will take place at:West Marine – BuffaloBuffalo, NY 14207

    PRE-REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED. Please register online and bring your paid receipt to class.

    This course meets the NYS and USCG requirements for PWC Operation , along with Youth and Adult Boating Certification . Upon successful completion, you will have met the requirements and can operate a PWC or as a youth boater operate a vessel independently. You will receive a certificate upon successful completion of this course- certificate received same day as class.The course is designed as a comprehensive boating course, teaching the fundamentals of safe boating operation. Taught by State Certified Instructors with materials approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators. NYS requires classroom instruction, and this class includes the following topics:Accidents & Emergencies

    Read Also: Where Is The Boat Registration Number

    New York State Boating Safety Course

    This class is strongly recommended for boaters of any age, and of any level of experience who want to keep their skills current and up to date.

    A Safe Boating Certificate may be obtained by ANYONE from age 10 and older by completing the 8-hour Safe Boating Course offered weekly at the Nautical School.

    The law in New York requires the following people to have a Boater Safety Certificate.

    • Anyone who is at least 14 years of age and wishes to operate a personal watercraft
    • Anyone who is at least 10 years old, but less than 18 years old and wishes to operate a motor boat without adult supervision.

    If you are less than 10 years old you may not operate a motor boat alone. Someone over 18 years old must be on board with you

    You don’t need to obtain a Boating Safety Certificate if you are:

    • a certified NY Safe Boating Course instructor
    • a holder of a valid New York State Public Vessel Operators license
    • a US Power Squadron instructor
    • a member of the US Coast Guard Auxiliary
    • licensed to operate boats by the US or Canadian Coast Guard

    In addition, police officers, peace officers, fire and rescue personnel and lifeguards may operate boats without a boater safety certificate while carrying out their official duties.

    In addition to teaching the particulars of handling a PWC, the courses will also be beneficial for any boater wishing to learn more about the rules of the road, reading buoys, boat handling, and other boating safety related topics.

    • Accidents and Emergencies

    New York Boating Laws And Regulations

    In-Person Boating Classes Back For New Mandatory Safety Course

    NEW YORK BOATER EDUCATION CARD

    A New York Boater Education Card is not the same thing as a drivers licence. The Boater Education Card, more commonly known as a boating license is a card that proves that you have taken an approved Boating Safety Course. In New York, a Boater Education Card is required for all boaters born on or after May 1, 1996. However, its a good idea for ALL boaters to receive a Boating Safety Education to help keep New Yorks waters a safe place for everyone enjoying them.

    Briannas Law In effect as of January 1st, 2020

    Briannas Law comes into effect on .

    If you were born on or after you will need a boating safety certificate when operating a motorized vessel, starting in 2020.

    If you were born on or after you will need a boating safety certificate when operating a motorized vessel, starting in 2022.

    If you were born on or after you will need a boating safety certificate when operating a motorized vessel, starting in 2023.

    If you were born on or after you will need a boating safety certificate when operating a motorized vessel, starting in 2024.

    All operators of motorized vessels, regardless of age, will need a boating safety certificate by January 1, 2025.

    Under the previous law, owners of new boats had a 120-day grace period from the date of purchase to obtain a safe boating certificate. This accommodation has been eliminated under Briannas Law.

    If you have any questions regarding these changes, please contact us:

    You May Like: What Do I Need To Sell My Boat

    Youre In Thecaptains Seat

    BOATsmart! has been educating boaters since 2003 and is proud to be North Americas Largest independent course provider. Our courses are designed and developed from the ground up in North America for boaters, by real boaters. Each BOATsmart! Course is approved and accredited to prepare boaters to obtain their State Approved Boater Education Card, and all BOATsmart! courses are 100% narrated, illustrated and animated.

    New York Adventure License Program:

    After successful completion of this course, you can choose to have your certification noted, as an anchor icon, on your NY Driverâs License or other identification document issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles . The advantage is that you no will longer need to carry your boating safety certificate with you when boating, provided you have your driverâs license with you. The New York State Adventure License costs $13.50

    For more information click on the link below to be taken to New Yorkâs Adventure license page:

    Read Also: Is Banana Boat After Sun Lotion Good For Sunburn

    Do I Have To Take An Online Exam

    The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the Certification Exam to pass. You have 2 attempts to pass the Certification Exam. If you do not pass the exam in the 2 attempts given, you will be required to repeat the entire course. If you dont complete the exam in one session, dont worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.

    New York Safe Boating Course

    New York State Safe Boating Course at The Smithtown Library Commack ...

    NSA Saratoga Springs MWR Community Recreation is hosting a New York safe boating course on Saturday, June 18 from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the Liberty Center inside the classroom. This course is open to all military ID card holders age 10 and older at the start of the class. The course is eight hours long and passing of an exam is required. The cost to participate is $10 for adults age 18 and older and free for children age 10 to 17. A check can be made out to NYS Parks after the completion of the course. This class is limited to 30 students. Registration is strongly recommended. Walk-ins are welcome if space allows.

    For more information or to register, please call 518-886-0200 ext. 126.

    Who needs a boating safety certificate today?

    All operators of motorized vessels, regardless of age, will need a boating safety certificate by January 1, 2025. If born on or after January 1, 1988 you will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2022. More information on the rules and regulations for New York boat operators, please visit .

    All MWR physical activities follow the latest HPCON status for practicing safe physical distancing and patron limitations.

    The Department of the Navy does not endorse any company, sponsor or their products or services.

    Location

    Read Also: How To Clean Mold On Vinyl Boat Seats

    New York State Adventure License

    If you have a lifetime recreation certificate or sporting license, your New York State Driver License can now become an all-purpose boating, fishing, hunting andparks ID card. Anyone successfully completing the New York Safe Boating Course orapproved online boating safety course may opt to have the anchor icon placed on your NYS DMV issues document. DMV will maintain a record of your having completed the boating safety course, and automatically place the icon onyour license each time it is renewed.

    The advantage to this program is that you will no longer need to carry your boating safety certificate with you when boating, provided you have your DMV credential with you. DMV will maintain a record of your having completed the boating safety course, and automatically place the icon on your license each time it is renewed.

    If you would like a new driver’s license issued immediately, the cost is $12.50. If you would like to wait until your next, regularly scheduled license renewal, there is no charge. There are several ways to apply:

    If you took a New York State Parks Classroom Course:

    • For payments for your new DMV license, go to the NYS Parks Adventure License.
    • For check or money order payments for your new DMV license, please use this form.
    • If you are currently taking or are about to take your classroom course, your instructor will provide the necessary paperwork.

    If you took an online safe boating course:

    Please refer to for more information before you call DMV.

    Need To Take A Ny Boating Safety Course This Year What You Need To Know

        Need to take a New York State-approved boater safety course?

        Last year a new state law took effect, mandating that all motor boat operators, regardless of age, will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2025. The legislation includes a five-year, phase in plan.

        Both online and in-classroom boater safety courses are currently available, according to Brian Nearing, a spokesman for the state Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation, which oversees the courses. Last year, the vast majority of courses taken were online. That trend will undoubtedly continue this coming year.

        As for in-classroom safe boating courses, they may now resume in counties that are in Phase 4 re-opening, according to the Parks website. Contact the instructor listed to confirm if the course you are interested in attending is still being offered. Students must wear face coverings during courses whenever social distancing cannot be maintained.

        The legislation, called Briannas Law was signed into law in 2019 and took effect Jan. 1, 2020. Prior passage of this law, only boaters born on or after May 1, 1996 were required to complete a boater safety course.

        Briannas Law expanded that requirement. Under the 5-year phase-in plan:

        *All motor boat operators born on or after Jan. 1, 1993 needed a boating safety certificate beginning in 2020

        *Those born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2022

        More Upstate NY Outdoors

        Also Check: What Prop Do I Need For My Boat

        Popular Articles
        Related news