Registration Number And Decal Placement:
- The numbers must be applied as a decal, painted or permanently affixed to the forward half of each side of the bow .
- The numbers must be affixed above the waterline, where they can be easily seen.
- The number must be in block letters that are at least 3 inches high and in a color that contrasts with the color of the boat.
- The number must be read from left to right.
- The numbers must be separated from the letters by a space.
- Validation decals must be affixed to each side of the boat, in line with the registration number and 3 inches toward the stern.
- These placement requirements also apply to personal watercraft .
Which Boats Require Registration
Requirements for boat registration vary from state to state. In Oregon, you must title and register your boat if it has any type of motorelectric, gas, or dieselno matter the length of the boat. Exceptions include:
- Non-motorized boats
- Sailboats less than 12 feet in length
- Boats registered in other states using Oregon waters for 60 days or less
- Vessels documented by the U.S. Coast Guard whose principal use is in another state
- Unit 4 of 6
Boat-ed.com is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC. Kalkomey is an official state-delegated provider that provides boating education courses and certification and publishing boating safety education materials.
More Online Recreational Safety Courses from Kalkomey
We provide support Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to midnight CST and Saturday and Sunday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST.
About Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC
Kalkomey is the official provider of recreational safety education materials for all 50 states. We provide online boating and hunting and other recreational safety education. View press releases.
Boat Ed is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC.
Required Carbon Monoxide Sticker
By law, any new or used motor vessel, other than a Jet Ski type personal watercraft, must display a sticker that warns passengers of the dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning. Use the Washington State CO warning sticker or a Department of Licensing approved sticker previously installed in another state or by the manufacturer. If you don’t receive a sticker when you renew or register, contact your local vehicle licensing office or call 902-3812 or 833-6388 .
For more information or questions related to the warning sticker, call 902-3770, option 5. Download the carbon monoxide informational brochure, Boating and the Dangers of Carbon Monoxide.
Recommended Reading: Does Aaa Cover Boat Trailers
Requirements For Boater Registration In Oregon
What do you need to register a boat in Oregon? is a common question many boaters may ask themselves. Requirements to register a boat in Oregon are straightforward and begin with completing the application for boat title/registration. Registration instructions include three ways to register a boat: online, in person or by mail, with the online option being the fastest way to obtain a new registration.
If the boat is new, Oregon boat registration instructions state that the applicant must provide the original manufacturers statement of origin . Lastly, submit the documents along with fees to the Marine Board.
For a used boat registration, obtain the Oregon certificate of title from the seller. The seller must sign and date the release of interest line while the buyer must complete the new owner section. The last step is to submit documents with fees to the OSMB.
The OR boat registration form will require boaters to provide vessel description information, including the following items:
- Year, length, hull identification number and name of boat manufacturer
- Primary source of propulsion
- Security interest holder information
Renewing And Replacing Oregon Boating Licenses
Boater exam certification forms should remain on drivers when operating boats or motorized vessels in the state. If certificates are lost or stolen, they must be replaced immediately. When law enforcement asks drivers to produce education verification, failing to do so could result in fines and/or tickets being assessed.
An official request for a replacement card should be submitted online in Oregon. Temporary online boating course certificates can be printed while drivers wait for official forms to come in the mail. Additionally, an $8 fee is due when requests are submitted.
Read Also: How To Clean Mildew Off Boat Seats
Or Mopeds And Scooters
Oregon has different regulations for mopeds, scooters, and electric bicycles.
There are many classifications of scooters, mopeds, and other powered vehicles, you should check the brochure offered by the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division to see what is required for each type of vehicle.
A vehicle is considered a moped if it has:
- No more than 3 wheels.
- A seat for the rider.
- An automatic transmission.
State Boat Registration Fees
Boat registration fees in Oregon apply to any boat with a motor, regardless of its size. Sailboats longer than 12 must also be registered. The boat registration cost in OR covers two years all decals expire December 31. Registration fees are based on a simple formula that takes into consideration the length of the vessel. For every foot in length, $4.50 is assessed.
For example, how much does it cost to register a boat in OR that is 21 long? Base registration fees would be 21 x $4.50 = $94.50. Round up to get $95. Add $5 for the Aquatic Invasive Species Surcharge. Total fees will equal $100.
Don’t Miss: Who Owns Freedom Boat Club
Other Facts About Titling And Registering Your Boat
Here are some additional facts about titling and registering your boat.
- A Certificate of Number is issued for two calendar years and is valid until December 31 of the year indicated. Owners of boats that have already been registered will be sent a renewal notice in November.
- If you change your address, you must notify the OSMB within 30 days of the change. To update your address, you may do one of the following:
- Change the address for your account from the OSMB websiteor…
- Send an email to or…
- Mail the request within 30 days of the change.
How To Apply For Registration Or Title
- Model year and make
- Hull identification number, if any
- U.S. Coast Guard document number, if any.
- If vessel is documented by U.S. Coast Guard, a copy of documentation papers is required. Owners who appear on Certificate of Documentation must be present to sign vessel application.
Boaters must title and register their vessels within 60 days of moving to Washington. If you live in Washington and bought the boat in another state, you must title and register your vessel within 15 days of its purchase. Visit the Washington Department of Licensing for specific requirements related to applications, fees and more.
Also Check: How To Clean Mildew Off Boat Seats
Replacing Your State Boat Registration
To replace a boat registration in Oregon, write a letter requesting a duplicate registration card and duplicate decals. Procedures for registration replacement include providing the boat owners name, mailing address and the certificate number of the boat.
You cannot replace a boat registration online and must send your request to the Marine Board or visit the Marine Board in person and bring proof of ownership. Like the car registration replacement process, replacing registration documents helps vessel operators maintain boating privileges.
Oregon State Marine Board Sends Boat Registration Renewal Notices
COOS BAY The Oregon State Marine Board mailed approximately 75,000 boat registration renewal notices to boaters whose boat registration expires on Dec. 31. Each renewal notice is unique to the owner and their boat.
Boaters have three options to renew. The fastest option is online using the Marine Boards online store at www.boatoregon.com/store. After completing the transaction, boaters can print a temporary permit and go boating right away. There is no transaction fee when using a credit or debit card online. Other options include mailing the payment and coupon to the Marine Board or visiting a local registration agent, who will issue a temporary permit for an additional fee.
Other online services include:
- Apply for a Boater Education Card or a replacement.
- Purchase Aquatic Invasive Species permits for non-motorized boats.
- Apply for the boats Certificate of Title or a replacement.
- Register a new boat.
- Register or renew as an outfitter or guide.
- Apply for a charter boat license.
The cost to register a motorboat or sailboat of 12 feet or longer is $4.50 per foot, rounded to the highest foot, plus a $5 aquatic invasive species fee. The Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention fund pays for inspection stations, decontamination equipment, inspectors, signage, and education materials. The average boat length in Oregon is 16 feet, so the two-year registration costs $77, including AIS fee.
You May Like: How Much To Join Freedom Boat Club
Oregon Boating License Requirements
For Oregon boaters, age, residency status and education level is used to determine eligibility for boating permits. Residents 12 years of age and older must obtain licenses if they would like to operate a watercraft or boat at over 10 horsepower. The Oregon State Marine Board must approve education courses for certificates to the considered valid.
For both boats and personal watercraft such, boating license age restrictions apply. Residents younger than 12 years of age cannot operate personal watercraft or boats. Kids age 12 to 15 can only operate watercraft under the supervision of an adult age 18 or older or driver age 16 with a valid education certificate. The boat license requirement is waived for certain groups in Oregon, such as:
- Residents with Coast Guard credentials
- Residents with commercial fisherman licenses
- Out-of-state boaters
- Boat buyers with a temporary certificate
- Boat renters
How Can I Get My Boat Trailer A License Plate
The registration depends on a multitude of factors. To make lives easy, the State of Oregon has issued clear laws. It has made separate categories for all possibilities that may arise. Moreover, there are separate procedures for different possibilities.
I will discuss most of the categories and procedures one by one.
Recommended Reading: Do You Need Boat Insurance In Nebraska
Motorhomes And Rvs In Oregon
When you buy an RV or motorhome, you must title and register it with the DMV. If you buy the vehicle from a dealership, the dealer will usually handle the registration and title paperwork for you. However, if you buy from a private seller, you’ll need to ensure that you get the appropriate paperwork to submit to the DMV yourself.
To register an RV or motor home with the Oregon DMV:
- Present the appropriately transferred title.
- Pay the appropriate fees, based on the length of the vehicle.
- Length is rounded down to the nearest foot. For example, a motorhome that is 6 to 14 feet long is $86 to register. Longer RVs have higher fees. The DMV provides a complete list of fees.
Motor home and RV registration in Oregon is valid for 2 years. Before your registration expires, you’ll need to renew it. See our page Registration Renewal in Oregon for more information.
Its Boat Registration Renewal Time In Oregon
SALEM. Ore. — The Oregon State Marine Board is emailing boat registration renewals to boaters who have an email on file for boats with registration expiring 12/31/2020.
Boaters without an email on file will receive a mailed Boat Registration Renewal Notice the week of Nov. 9. Each renewal notice is unique to the owner and their boat.
Renewing digitally using the Marine Boards Boat Oregon online store is fast and easy. After completing the transaction, boat owners can print a temporary permit and go boating right away. Registrations are printed the next business day for mailing.
Using the Boat Oregon Store is also more cost-efficient, saving postage and administrative costs, allowing the agency to leverage registration dollars for boating facility improvement projects and on-water marine law enforcement services. Fees also support the aquatic invasive species prevention and abandoned derelict vessel programs.
Another renewal option is U.S. Mail. Boaters who do not have an email address on file will be mailed a registration renewal. Simply return payment and remittance coupon in the return envelope to the Marine Board. Boater owners who receive an emailed registration renewal can also print the email and mail it along with a check or money order.
Its also state law that any new owner of a boat, boathouse, or floating home with valid identifying numbers apply for a boat title and registration within 30 days ).
You May Like: Lightstream Boat Loans
Does A Boat Trailer Need A License Plate In Oregon
Thinking of buying a boat trailer for your recreational boat? As responsible citizens of the state, one question must have arrived in your mind. Does a boat trailer need a license plate in Oregon?
Do not worry, we have got you covered. In this detailed account, you will get all the information you need.
Why does my boat trailer need a license plate? Do all boat trailers need a license plate? Furthermore, are there any exemptions? Moreover, do all boat trailers have the same kind of license plate?
Continue reading, and youll find all the answers you need.
Oregon Boat Registration Basics
In Oregon, valid boat registration must be maintained for purchased watercraft and boats. Up-to-date boat titles are also required. However, some types of boats could be exempt from these standards.
Exact rules depend on the type of motorized water vessel being registered. To prove their eligibility for registration, applicants should provide the following forms of documentation:
- Proof of boat ownership
- Proof of identity
- Bill of sale certificate, if applicable
Upon request approval, boat registration stickers are administered to new boaters. These stickers must be affixed to owned water vessels and/or boats.
A replacement is also available for OR boaters. Boaters should request documents via the OR State Marine Board.
Read Also: How To Get Mildew Off Boat Seats
Registration For Inflatable Boat
rogerdodger said:the rules on registering boats in Oregon is not based on construction of the boat, it is based just on how it is powered: manual powered , sail powered or motor powered …cheers, roger
Also, I believe if this is a new registration, there is a $50 fee on top of the$4.50 per foot registration cost.Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
Do Uscg Documented Vessels Need State Registration Or Decals
There’s a lot of confusion over whether – and when – a Coast Guard Documented vessel needs to be registered with the state. The short answer is that UCSG Documented boats never need to be titled with the state, but may need to be registered with the state depending on how long the boat is on the state’s waters.
First, as to the titling of the vessel, a vessel may either be state titled or federally documented, but not both. Think of USCG documentation like your title – that’s really what it is, even though it has another name. In fact, federal law under 46 U.S.C. § 12106 actually prohibits a USCG Documented vessel from being state titled, and a state cannot require a USCG Documented vessel to display numbers.
However, states may still require registration of USCG Documented vessels for tax and other purposes. What’s the difference between the title and the registration? The title is a formal, colored document used to prove and transfer ownership. The registration typically consists of a registration card and an annual state decal which must affixed to the boat. So while the Coast Guard Documentation is your boat’s title, you may have to also register with a state.
Copy of executed bill of sale to document amount of sales tax due
Proof of payment of sales tax or proof of tax exemption
$50 non-resident commercial vessel fee, if applicable
You May Like: Freedom Boat Club Rates
How To Obtain A Boating License In Oregon
Oregon boating licenses are granted to eligible residents living in the state. These eligibility requirements are established to ensure only qualified applicants are provided with driving privileges. The OR State Marine Board develops steps for how to get a boating license for residents. Once eligibility is established, drivers can begin the process of obtaining driving privileges for motorized watercraft. Understanding these steps in advance is helpful for navigating the process in the future.
All new boaters must take education courses and pass a final examination to be granted permits. Online boating license classes are available, along with in person courses. Drivers can choose the type of class that best fits their needs. Fees are sometimes assessed for final examinations. Additionally, valid title and registration must be acquired for owners of personal watercraft. Continue reading to find out about the process of obtaining boating privileges in Oregon.