Alabama Boating Laws And Regulations
BOATER EDUCATION ID CARD
Under the Roberson/Archer Act of 1944, any person operating a motorized boat on Alabama waters must obtain an Alabama Boater Safety Certificationthis includes the operators of personal watercraft operators .
Boat operators are required to carry their Alabama Boater Safety Certification, also called a boating license, on board with them during boat operation and they must have the certification available for law enforcement to inspect, if they request to do so.
You must be 12 years of age or older in order to obtain Boater Safety Certification in the state of Alabama. To obtain certification, you must do the following:
- Visit the Department of Public Safety Drivers License Examining Office in their county of residence.
- Submit an application and pay a $5 fee.
- Show photo identification to the license examiner.
- Answer medical questions.
- Successfully complete a written or oral exam, or provide proof of exemption .
- Provide the proper documentation to the Probate or License Commissioners office in order to have the V Class placed on their drivers license .
Boater safety certifications can be cancelled, revoked or suspended if a person is found operating a boat while under the influence, or operating a boat in a careless or reckless manner.
Age and Horsepower Restrictions
It is illegal for any person under 12 years of age to operate a motorized boat , at any time.
Get your Official North American Boating License
Boat Insurance Requirements By State
Generally speaking, you won’t be required by your state to purchase boat insurance. In fact, only a handful of states require boaters to purchase insurance, and the requirement is often limited to boats with engines rated to have at least 50 horsepower. The table below lists the insurance requirements for each state.
|Arkansas||Liability insurance with at least $50,000 in coverage is required for all boats powered by engines of more than 50 horsepower.|
|Hawaii||Only for boats parked in Department of Land and Natural Resources Division of Boating and Ocean Recreation facilities. Liability insurance with at least $500,000 in coverage is required for all boats parked in DOBOR facilities, including harbors and offshore moorings. The insurance policy must name the State of Hawaii, DOBOR as the “additional insured” or “additional interest”. The policy should cover salvage costs for grounded or sunken vessels, damage to docks, pollution containment and wreck removals.|
Renewing And Replacing An Alabama Boating License
Do boating licenses expire in Alabama? The Alabama certificate must be renewed every four years when a drivers automobile license must be renewed. Renewing the certification is free of charge and happens automatically unless the driver has had his or her boat permit suspended or revoked since last renewing the card.
If an individuals boater education card has been lost or damaged, the driver must apply for a replacement by visiting his or her nearest probate judge or license commissioners office. The boat operator will not have to retake the knowledge exam, but he or she will be asked to provide his or her ID. Making false statements while renewing or replacing a card will result in criminal misdemeanor charges.
Don’t Miss: How To Remove Oxidation From Boat
Boat Is Registered In Another State
From a vessel title state: Buyer should obtain a detailed bill of sale from the seller and the original out of state title showing transfer to their name, and the original state registration card if available. All transfers of ownership must be on the title.
From a non-title state: Buyer should obtain a detailed bill of sale from the seller and the original state registration card. The seller should be the owner if record in that state, and if not bills of sale back to the owner of record must be submitted.
All are Title States/Territories except those below.
Non-Title States and Territories :
Why You Should Have Boat Insurance
Boat and watercraft insurance may not be required in Alabama, but there are some advantages to getting a policy from Highpoint Insurance Group. First, it gives you peace of mind while you enjoy the clear water along the coast. In case of an accident, you will want to replace your vessel or fishing equipment, and this may be difficult without insurance. Medical costs can add up quickly if there is an accident with injuries. If you are responsible for the accident, the cost to repay everything and injuries can be substantial. The dangers arenât just in the water, and your boat needs protection while on land as well.
Also Check: How Do I Register My Boat With The Coast Guard
Quality Boat Insurance From Allstate Comes With The Support Of An Agent Who’s Ready To Help You Understand Your Watercraft Insurance Coverage Options
The alabama law enforcement agency who oversees the marine patrol does not require boat insurance. Quality boat insurance from allstate comes with the support of an agent who’s ready to help you understand your watercraft insurance coverage options. How much does boat & watercraft insurance cost? Brad johnson guide insurance agency lanny norris state farm insurance thomas waters state farm insurance auto insurance, life insurance, Find out what waterways keep your covered. Answer any questions you have about boat & watercraft insurance through do you know what to look for in an alabama watercraft insurance policy? Most states do not require boating insurance, but legal requirements are not the only consideration. The states where boat insurance is mandatory are arkansas and utah. Georgia does not require boat insurance its not required by law, in most states. Also, get insured in property damage, wreckage removal, medical coverage, emergency assistance, and more. However, you will likely be required to have insurance if you finance your boat. The parts of a watercraft that are typically covered. If you are in alabama and need boat insurance, marine underwriters agency can help.
Home Insurance In Alabama And Florida
Home insurance is a vital part of owning your own home. After all, if things go wrong and you are the only one responsible for the repairs. One wrong turn can change your life if you are not adequately protected. Align Insurance Group offers home insurance to clients along the Alabama and Florida Gulf Coast. So, if you do not yet have a policy, or if you are unhappy with your current one, call us today.
If you have a mortgage on your home, you likely have a requirement to keep home insurance. If you do not have a mortgage, you may not legally need it but not having it puts you at considerable personal risk. Your policy may cover a range of situations depending on the type. If you live in a high foot traffic area, you may want to increase your protection from lawsuits. If you have a lot of family or guests in and out of your residence, you can purchase coverage to balance that risk as well. Have a pool, a specific breed of dog, or other unique situations? We can help with those too. HomeownerÃ¢s insurance is designed to protect you and your assets, so be sure to get the coverage your lifestyle needs.
Remember that homeownerâs insurance does not cover flooding, so if you live in a risk zone or you just simply want the peace of mind, ask about additional flood coverage for your area.
Contact Align Insurance Group today for your Alabama or Florida Gulf Coast home insurance.
Also Check: Do You Need Boat Insurance In Nc
When Is Proof Of Insurance Required
Even though most states dont legally require you to carry boat insurance, other situations may require proof of insurance for your watercraft.
Docking your boat at a marina
If you plan on docking your boat at a marina, many will require you to show proof of insurance before signing the contract. That being so, make sure to read the fine print and understand the requirements before proceeding with any contractual agreement.
For example, marinas such as the Charleston City Marina in South Carolina and the Kemah Boardwalk Marina in Kemah, Texas require docked boats to have liability insurance of at least $300,000.
Marinas like Brickyard Cove in Pt. Richmond, CA require an endorsement on your policy as additional interest or additional insured to avoid claims of negligence.
Harbors will carry their own liability insurance so they can protect claims where they may be at fault.
Financing your boat purchase
If you have financed your boat, your bank may require you to carry boat insurance. If the bank is using the boat as collateral for the loan, they will require you to list them as payee for loss or damage of the boat.
Unlike home and auto coverage, some policies dont require you to carry year-round coverage. But if you have financed your boat, your lender will most likely ask you to carry coverage even when the boat is stored. Your vessel may still be exposed to risks, such as theft and storm damage, while in storage.
Why Is Boating Insurance Recommended
Boating insurance is recommended for two main reasons, both of which can save you thousands of dollars.
Recommended Reading: How Much Are Floating Boat Docks
Boat & Watercraft Insurance
CIS Insurance can help make your time on the water relaxed and worry-free. We will find you comprehensive protection that protects you, your friends and family, your watercraft and your boating equipment. The average boat costs less than a dollar a day to insure. Youâll enjoy being on the water even more when you arenât worried about your safety, the safety of your passengers, or your investment.
Do you know what to look for in an Alabama watercraft insurance policy? CIS Insurance can help you determine the right amount of coverage to meet your specific needs. Just contact us today to get started.
Here are some items youâll need to consider when shopping for Alabama boat insurance.
Every need is unique â contact us today to find out how to get the best boat insurance coverage for you.
Boating Under The Influence
No person shall drive or be in actual physical control of a vessel or manipulate any water skis, aquaplane, or any other marine transportation device while:
- there is 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the blood.
- under the influence of alcohol.
- under the influence of a controlled substance.
- under the combined influence of alcohol and a controlled substance.
- under the influence of any substance which impairs the mental or physical faculties of the person.
Refusal to submit to a field breath test or other approved testing shall result in the same punishment as provided for operators of motor vehicles on the state highways .
Also Check: What’s My Boat Worth
Age And Operator Restrictions
If you are under 12 years of age: You may not obtain your Alabama boater safety certification, and you may not operate a vessel under any circumstances.
If you are 12 or 13 years of age: You may obtain your Alabama boater safety certification. After obtaining the certification, you may operate a vessel legally only if supervised on board by a person who:
- Is at least 21 years of age and
- Carries a valid proof of his or her Alabama boater safety certification and
- Is in position to take immediate physical control of the vessel.
If you are 14 years of age or older: You may operate a motorized vessel legally on Alabama waters for up to 45 days per calendar year without supervision. After 45 days, you must have a valid proof of boater safety certification.
Learn More About Boat Insurance From Byars
is a locally owned and operated independent insurance agency with five offices in the greater Birmingham area including Jasper, Gardendale, Homewood, Alabaster, and Cullman that has developed into a major provider of commercial and personal insurance. Since 1946, the agency has expanded its scope of business and delivers a wide-range of insurance products with quality coverage at competitive prices. has been designated a Best Practices Agency by the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America and was also named Best Companies to Work For in Alabama by Business Alabama in 2016, 2017, 2018. 2019. We Build People, Protect Relationships. is Where Relationships Matter.
You May Like: Does Boat Insurance Cover The Motor
Find What You Should Be Paying For Coverage
Our independent agents shop around to find you the best coverage.
If having fun on the water appeals to you, then you might find yourself in the market to buy a boat. You could purchase a boat for fishing, speed boating or sailing, or a pontoon to float around casually. Just as you insure your car and your home, it’s a good idea to get adequate insurance coverage for your boat.
As you research your options for boat insurance, you might have some questions about the cost, what kind of coverage you should purchase, and what insurance company carries the best policies for your dollar.
An independent insurance agent can help answer your insurance questions and get you on the right track for saving on your boat policy. Contact an independent agent today to get started.
Save on Boat Insurance
Our independent agents shop around to find you the best coverage.
Is Boat Insurance Mandatory In Florida
How To Get A Boat Legal In FloridaThere is no state law that requires any Florida boater to buy boat insurance, but if you do not own your boat free and clear, your lender is likely to require boat insurance as part of the financing contract. And if you keep your boat at a marina, the marina may require you protect it with boat insurance.
All boats in Florida have to be registered and titled with the state, unless the vessel is less than 16 feet long and has no motor. Thus, some small sailboats, kayaks, canoes, and rowboats are excluded from this requirement. And you dont have to show proof of insurance to register and title a vessel like you do with an automobile.
Additionally, you will be required to pass a safety course and get a boating safety ID card and to carry life vests and some other safety equipment on your boat when in use.
Why It Makes Sense To Carry Boat InsuranceLack of legal necessity aside, it only makes sense to protect yourself, your passengers, and your vessel with boat insurance if you plan to ply Floridian waters. The very popularity of Floridas lakes, rivers, canals, and shorelines increases the odds of an accident, and the frequency of storms and hurricanes also is a major risk. And even if you dont get caught out in a storm, your boat could get damaged at the dock.
Formulating Your Boat Insurance Policy
Recommended Reading: How To Transfer Boat Registration
Which States Require A Boat License
According to the United States Coast Guard and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, the second most common boating accident is due to inexperience. This has led to 480 boating accidents in 2016 alone.
Boating is far less regulated than operating a motor vehicle such as a car. Only a handful of states require you to have an actual boating license, including:
However, even though most states dont require a license, they may still have other requirements.
Brad Goldberry, Agency Producer with Farmers Insurance says, State licensing differs from state to state, but many states require some kind of personal boating license or course.
Before you head out on the water, make sure you review your states requirements. Its always better to be safe than sorry.
Can I Renew My Boat Registration Online
The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency offers online renewal of boat registrations through its website by Other types of transactions must still be processed in person at the License Office.
Please be aware that you will not receive a renewal notice from the Tuscaloosa County License Office the next year if you renew your boat registration online because the renewal will not be in our registration system.
Don’t Miss: Is Banana Boat Sunscreen Good
Do You Ride A Personal Watercraft
If so, listed are laws and regulations you should know:
All operators, passengers or persons being towed must wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved life preserver.
Unless your personal watercraft has the self-circling feature, you must have a âkill switchâ attached to the operator.
No person under the age of 12 may operate a personal watercraft. Must be 14 years old and have a vessel license to operate a vessel or personal watercraft alone. Operators 12 or 13 years old, after obtaining the vessel operator’s license, can only operate if there is someone 21 years old or older on board, who also has a vessel operator’s license in possession, and is seated in a position to take immediate control of the vessel if necessary.
No person shall maneuver a personal watercraft in a manner which endangers life, limb or property.
Weaving through congested vessel traffic at high speed.
Following closely behind within the wake of a vessel towing a person or persons on water skis, surfboard or other water sport device.
Jumping the wake of another vessel traveling in the same direction in close proximity to the vessel.
Cutting between a boat and the person or persons being towed by that boat.
Crossing at right angles in close proximity to the stern of another vessel, or when visibility around the other vessel is obstructed.
Steering a personal watercraft toward any object or person in the water and turning sharply at close range so as to spray the object or person.