How To Choose A License Tonnage
The tonnage of license you receive is also dependant on boating experience.
A 100-ton license requires 180 days aboard boats over 51 gross tons or 360 days aboard boats over 34 gross tons.
A 50-ton license requires 180 days on boats over 26 gross tons if your service began after March 2014. If your sea service started before March 2014, you only need one day on a vessel over five gross tons. If you dont meet the requirements to make the 50-ton cutoff, youll receive a 25-ton license.
Figure out the gross tonnage of the boats you crewed on by either contacting the vessel owners or calculating it yourself with the USCG guide to tonnage.
Do You Need Insurance On A Boat Trailer In Alberta
Alberta Registries do not need to see insurance to register the trailer. However, you must make sure to let your insurance company know that you have purchased a trailer to have it added on to your insurance policy. If the trailer is a homemade Trailer, you will be required to undergo the Assigned VIN program.
Is Being A Captain The Right Move For Me
If you dont have a lot of experience on the water, you might be wondering if being a captain is right for you especially if youre young. For some reason, theres an assumption that all captains are salty old men with white beards, which just isnt true. Theres a wide range of ages within all levels of the merchant mariner industry both male and female. One great thing about having your captains license is that as long as youre professional and have the skills to back up your credentials, you can land some great jobs.
Questions? Contact a school advisor;here.
Also Check: What Is The Best Pontoon Boat For Fishing
Why Should I Take My Boating Safety Course With Boat Ed
Boat Ed is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC., a print and online provider of recreational safety education, and is dedicated to providing print and Internet boating education courses and certification across North America.
Boat Ed is the only boating safety education course and exam provider that develops online courses, eBooks, and print materials on behalf of government boating and boater safety agencies in North America.
Ontario Boating And Alcohol Laws
It is illegal to operate a vessel in Ontario while consuming alcohol. While underway, open alcohol cannot be transported on any type of boat in Ontario. Alcohol may only be consumed on board vessels equipped with a galley , head and sleeping quarters, and only consumed while at anchor. The fines and penalties for operating a boat under the influence of alcohol in Ontario are the same as those for operating a motorized vehicle.;;
The OPP and local municipal police enforce Ontarios boating and alcohol laws. Contact the Ontario Provincial Police for more information about the laws for boating with alcohol in Ontario.
Recommended Reading: Is Banana Boat Sunscreen Good For Sensitive Skin
Take A Boating Safety Class
Choose the method that best fits your schedule, style and needs. Both options are approved by the New York State Office of Parks and result in certificates that never expire. Please note that some courses charge a fee.
New York State Parks’ Bureau of Marine Services has over 55 years of experience teaching New Yorkers to operate their boats safely. In the last 15 years, through State Parks network of certified instructors, we have taught more than 300,000 people.
The in-classroom course option is designed as a comprehensive study of boating safety to teach the fundamentals of safe boating operation. The course requires a structured classroom setting and has been approved by the National Association of Boating Law Administrators .
- Courses are available throughout the state. The course listing is updated daily.
- Find a safe boating course near you.
- Registration for a course is completed by calling the contact number provided. Course providers are responsible for any fees they may charge.
- Fees paid to the instructor do not cover the cost of your permanent certificate issued by NYS Parks.
Please refer to Frequently Asked Questions for more information on classroom courses
- Safe Boating America Buffalo, Lower Hudson, New York City and Long Island
- SUNY Maritime College Lower Hudson, New York City and Long Island
- Instruct NY New York City, Westchester and Long Island
Online Class Instruction
Criminal And National Security Background
One has always been required to agree to a criminal background and driving record check. As you can well imagine, adverse findings in either of these areas will negatively affect ones application.
With the creation of the Department of Homeland Security , a requirement was added that licensed mariners have a TWIC card. In fact, anyone working in the transportation sector is required to have a TWIC card. You will be investigated for any evidence of threat potential to national security. This is because as a licensed Captain, you may have access to vital and strategic marine facilities.
The TWIC card is issued by DHS through a federal contractor. There is an application to complete and a fee to pay. Furthermore, you must appear in person so that your photo and fingerprints can be taken. This bio-metric data is stored on the TWIC card and protected by a pass code. You must submit a copy of your TWIC with your license application; therefore, one must start the TWIC process at least four to six weeks or more before submitting ones license application.
Separately, a photograph of the applicant must accompany the application. This can be a drivers license or passport photo. It should be a state or federal government issued document. Others may be accepted but the applicant should verify this with the NMC before submitting the application to avoid processing delays.
Read Also: Should I Get Boat Insurance
Instructors For New York Safe Boating Course
How to become an Instructor for the New York Safe Boating Course
New instructors are needed to teach the New York Safe Boating course to youths and adults. New York State Parks provides textbooks, lesson plans and a power point presentation at no cost to all instructors.
To begin the certification process, complete the New York Safe Boating Instructor Application . For more information call .
Q: I Have A Boat Safety Certificate From Another State And I Am Moving To New Jersey Will New Jersey Issue A Certificate Based On That
A6: No. The Marine Services Bureau can only issue New Jersey Boat Safety Certificates for successfully completed approved New Jersey courses. However, some courses taught in Pennsylvania and New York States are approved as New Jersey safety courses. In this case, the instructor of the course will provide you with a New Jersey State Police Application for a Boat Safety Certificate to serve as your temporary Boat Safety Certificate. The Marine Services Bureau will send the instructor your permanent certificate for issuance to the student. If there is any question if this applies to your course, the matter has to be resolved by the course provider not the Marine Services Bureau.
Also Check: Is Banana Boat Sunscreen Good
What Is A Boat Licence
While a licence for boat sailing is not required in the UK, there are certain circumstances in which permits will need to be authorised for boat owners sailing across inland waterways and moors.
We make having aboat licence a simple, stress-free process
All boat owners will need to register their boat with a BSSC, as well as insuring their boat with boat insurance. Depending on where the boat will be sailed, boat owners will also require a licence from the Canal and River Trust or the Environment Agency.
New York State Adventure License Program
Who is eligible for the Adventure License boating icon?Anyone successfully completing the New York Safe Boating Course may opt to have their driver’s license, non-driver ID, or learner’s permit indicate completion of the course.
I have a NYC ID; can I have the boating icon put on that ID?No, the icon can only be placed on licenses and ID’s issued by the NYS DMV.
Do I need to notify DMV before they renew my license or ID?No. DMV will maintain a record of your having completed the boating safety course, and automatically place the icon on your license each time it is renewed.
I have a U.S. Coast Guard License; Can that be listed on the Adventure License?No, only boating safety certificates can be listed.
What happens if I move out of state?If you move out of state you must relinquish your NY Driver license and apply for a driver’s license in your new state. In order to maintain the Adventure License status you will need to apply for a NY Non-Driver ID which will include that designation and maintain it continuously.
I have a lifetime fishing and hunting license and a boating safety certificate. Can I put all three on my driver’s license?Yes you may.
I live in NY but I have an out of state boating safety certificate, do I qualify for the Adventure License program?No, you must have a New York safe boating certificate to be eligible.
- Boat US     Boat-Ed     Boater Exam     US Power Squadron
Don’t Miss: Can I Use Banana Boat Sunscreen On My Face
Lost Boat Licence In Ontario Heres What To Do
Its happened to so many of us. You come in from a great trip out on the water and everything was a success. Youve finally come to port, and now youre covering the vessel. As youre putting everything in its proper place and taking off the items you brought on, you notice something: the boat licence is gone. You retrace your steps, you go through the entire vessel, and yet, somehow, its still lost. You cant figure out where it might have disappeared, but its surely gone. We can help you to best deal with what happens when youve lost boat licence Ontario.
Apply By Regular Mail
To apply for a Pleasure Craft Licence by regular mail, download and fill out the application form along with all other required documents. The form and instructions about what documents to attach are available in the following application package.
Then you must print the form and mail it along with the other required documents to the following Transport;Canada address:
Pleasure Craft Licensing CentreE3B 5G4
Read Also: Can I Rent My Boat Out
Waiting For Your License
The Coast Guard has implemented a very good system of tracking your application and providing feedback at every step of the way. You will receive emails as the application moves through the system. It may take up to a week for the REC to review and forward your application to the National Maritime Center in West Virginia. That was my experience with the New York City REC. It may be less in smaller, less congested venues.
Once the NMC has your package, the process usually will not take long at all. It is very likely you will receive 2 or 3 emails a day, often within minutes, as the application moves through the various approvals. Nothing beats the feeling you will have when you get the final email saying that you have been approved and your credential is being printed!
My original license took slightly more than two weeks from dropping off my application at Battery Park in New York to finding my MMC in my mailbox.
Boating Registration And License Information
Aquatic Invasive Species Stamp
Beginning in 2016, all resident and non-resident boaters will be required to pay a fee to fund programs aimed at combating aquatic invasive species.
Boaters who register their motorized watercraft in Nebraska will be required to pay $5 in addition to their three-year boater registration fee. Boaters who register their motorized watercraft in any other state will be required to obtain a $15 Aquatic Invasive Species Stamp each year that they boat in Nebraska. This stamp is available for purchase online. A temporary stamp may be purchased at some state parks and recreation areas.
Also Check: Does Capital One Offer Boat Loans
New Hampshire Boater Safety Courses
There are a few different types of boat license course options that can choose from in order to get your certificate in New Hampshire. These program options include:
- New Hampshire Classroom Course: This in-person, instructor-led class is offered through the New Hampshire Marine Patrol. You can select the date and time in which you would like to participate in the class. The course is approximately 7 and a half hours long, with the exam provided during the last hour of class time.
- Online Course: Taking an online course allows you to complete the requirements at your own pace. After completing your course online, you must register for and pass a proctored examination.
New Hampshire also accepts certificates from other states and programs as well, as long as they are approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators . Therefore, you may enroll in a course provided by the U.S. Power Squadron, U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary or another NASBLA-approved State agency.
Regardless of which course you enroll in, upon successful completion of the boaters safety test you will be awarded a valid certificate. The information you learn in any of the courses is designed to prepare you for the exam, and typically includes topics such as boating safety equipment, boat navigation, handling emergency situations and laws and rules.
Can I Go Boating In Another Province
Yes, the Pleasure Craft Operator Card that you will receive when you successfully complete the Ace Boater course is valid in all Canadian provinces and territories. Additionally, if you want to go boating in the United States of America, the PCOC is recognised as meeting the boating education standards of the United States Coast Guard and the U.S. National Association of State Boating Law Administrators .
Also Check: Does Minnesota Require Boat Insurance
Why Is Boater Education Important
In the United States alone, more than 40 states have educational requirements that must be completed before you can operate a recreational vessel or personal watercraft on state waters. State law enforcement officers and boater safety agencies enforce education requirements to make sure everyones nautical experience is both pleasant and safe. Cooperate with them by following the boating laws and regulations found in your states approved boating license safety course, and carry your boater education certificate on board your vessel in case an enforcement officer asks to inspect it.
Even if your state does not require boaters to complete a boating license safety course before taking to the water, boating safety education can save lives and reduce accidents on the water. Boat Eds safety content, live-action videos, and up-to-date animations can help you learn about responsible boat operation and the rules of the waterways so that you can keep yourself and your passengers safe while boating. An educated boater is a safer boater.
What Is The Difference Between A Pleasure Craft Operator Card And A Pleasure Craft License
Completing the Ace Boater course qualifies you for the Pleasure Craft Operator Card , commonly known as the boating license; it is required for anyone operating a motorized vessel. The PCOC is valid for life and there are no renewal fees. Find out more about the Canadian Boating License.
On the other hand, the Pleasure Craft License is required for all recreational vessels with an engine of 10 horsepower or more. The PCL is a document that attributes a unique license number to each vessel. The pleasure craft licensing system allows Search and Rescue personnel to access your information at any time in the event of an emergency. You must display your pleasure craft license number above the waterline on both sides of the bow, as far forward as practical, and where it is easy to see. The numbers must be in block letters, at least 7.5 cm high, and in a colour that contrasts with the background. You do not need a pleasure craft licence if a boat is registered.
Don’t Miss: How To Remove Mold Off Boat Seats
How To Obtain A Motor Boat Licence
A motor boat licence is required to operate a vessel 4hp or more .
- Motor Boat Licences can only be obtained by completing a BoatSafe Practical Course with an Accredited Provider.
- Fees apply
- The motor boat licence is valid for a three year period . Licences all have a common expiry date.; It is not a requirement to carry your licence when on the water in Tasmania but MAST by-laws stipulate that, if requested, the licence must be produced within 14 days.
- Plastic licence cards are no longer automatically issued.; If you would like to purchase a plastic card, complete the Application for Plastic Licence Card form and lodge at any Service Tasmania Service Centre together with evidence of identity and the current plastic licence card fee.
- MAST has been advised by a number of hire companies both overseas and in Australia that producing a plastic licence card is not necessary when hiring a vessel.
All answers are available in the MAST;Safe Boating Handbook below.
A;Provisional Licence is available for children aged between 12 and 17 years of age.
What If I Dont Live In The United States But I Want To Learn Boating Safety
Boat Ed resources and educational materials have been developed in conjunction with boating safety experts and state boating safety agencies throughout the United States. State courses are recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard and approved by both the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators and the agency responsible for boating safety in that state.
Boat Ed has also been accredited by Transport Canada to offer a boating safety course and administer tests for the issuance of the Pleasure Craft Operator Card , including replacement cards, for Canadian boaters. The Boat Canada course is offered nationwide and has been recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard and NASBLA.
All states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canadas requirements.
Don’t Miss: What Size Cranking Battery For Bass Boat