Required Carbon Monoxide Sticker
By law, any new or used motor vessel, other than a Jet Ski type personal watercraft, must display a sticker that warns passengers of the dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning. Use the Washington State CO warning sticker or a Department of Licensing approved sticker previously installed in another state or by the manufacturer. If you don’t receive a sticker when you renew or register, contact your local vehicle licensing office or call 902-3812 or 833-6388 .
For more information or questions related to the warning sticker, call 902-3770, option 5. Download the carbon monoxide informational brochure, Boating and the Dangers of Carbon Monoxide.
Boaters Visiting Washington State
Boaters visiting Washington may recreate on state waters for up to 60 days without a permit as long as the vessel is registered in another state or has current U.S. Coast Guard documentation. If you plan to be on Washington waters longer, apply for a permit on or before the 60th day of your visit. To get a permit, visit any Vehicle Licensing Office, bring your unexpired state vessel registration and identification from your state. You may renew the permit once for an additional 60 days. When the renewed permit expires, you must either register your boat in Washington or remove your boat from Washington waters.
Birthday Bonus For Georgia Boat Owners
Starting July 2013, Georgia residents who have a boat registered with the state can fish on their birthday as part of their boat registration fee.
Its a one-day bonus for the states some 300,000 resident boat owners. This offer from the Georgia Department of Natural Resources also covers use of some DNR shooting ranges, plus some other sporting privileges. To take advantage of it, boat owners just have to get outdoors.
The birthday bonus is a one-day resident combination license that not only allows Georgians 16 and older who own a vessel and have a valid, current registration to fish , it covers many other recreational opportunities, including fishing at public fishing areas, accessing state lands where a Georgia Outdoor Recreational Pass is otherwise required, hunting small game and feral hogs on private land, and using shooting ranges where a license is required.
The license is good for the primary boat owners birthday during the three years the boat registration is valid.
Boat owners must carry a Georgia ID, such as a drivers license, and their plastic vessel registration card to show proof of a valid vessel registration. Activities like mountain trout fishing and big-game and migratory bird hunting require additional paid licenses. Saltwater fishing requires an additional free permit.
You May Like: Do You Need Boat Insurance In Nebraska
Registering Or Purchasing An Inherited Boat
When a person dies, title to their property, including any vessels they owned, becomes vested in another person. A formal legal process guides this action. Legal documents may be available to show who gained ownership of a vessel from the estate, or who has legal authority, such as an Executor or Administrator of an estate, to dispose of a vessel.
To transfer registration, the Department of Natural Resources must have a legal document reflecting the change in ownership of the vessel. We have past instances where we learn ownership of a vessel is in dispute. For example, someone may have sold a deceased’s vessel to a third party and others in the family or spouse claim the seller had no ownership claim to legally sell the vessel. Therefore, the person that sold the boat was not the owner and the buyer is unable to legally transfer registration.
Boat Is Registered In Another State
From a vessel title state: Buyer should obtain a detailed bill of sale from the seller and the original out of state title showing transfer to their name, and the original state registration card if available. All transfers of ownership must be on the title.
From a non-title state: Buyer should obtain a detailed bill of sale from the seller and the original state registration card. The seller should be the owner if record in that state, and if not bills of sale back to the owner of record must be submitted.
All are Title States/Territories except those below.
Non-Title States and Territories :
Recommended Reading: How Do I Rent My Boat Out
Selling/buying A Used Boat: What Documents Do I Give The Buyer/receive From The Seller
The documents that will later be used to transfer or register a boat in Georgia from a private sale may vary, depending if the boat is already registered in Georgia, if the boat has a paper title issued, if the boat has been reported sold, and if the seller is the owner of record in the Georgia registration system. There are many possible scenarios, but these below are the most common.
A Bill of Sale for a boat must have adequate information to positively link the BOS to the boat.
Additional Requirements For Registration Numbers
Different states have slightly different requirements for your registration numbers. The below are general requirements used by the majority of states. You will want to check out your states specific laws before you apply numbers to your boat.
Your registration numbers should be on the front of your boat. They should be the only numbers on that part of your boat and should be in a color that contrasts with the background color of your boat.
Its best to choose block lettering for your registration number. This makes them easy to read and authorities need to be able to see your registration number when your craft is moving. The numbers and letters should be at least three inches high, for the same reason.
You May Like: Who Makes Triton Boat Covers
How To Register An Inflatable Boat
So lets say you have to register your inflatable boat, how do you do it?
To register your inflatable boat, youll need to prepare a few things. One thing that you need is proof of ownership. This can be either a bill of sale or a receipt. Anything to show that you are the owner of this boat.
Youll also need to know the specifications of your boat. You need to know not only the maker and model, but also the length as well. A document showing all of these will come in handy.
Finally, the motor. You need to know what type of motor you are using for your boat. You need to know whether you are using an outboard motor, a trolling motor, or some other type.
With all of these, you should be ready to register at any state. Head to the DMV office and register your inflatable boat.
What Documents Are Needed To Register My Inflatable Boat
You will need a Manufacturers Statement of Origin and Bill Of Sale. The MSO and Bill of Sale are enclosed in a pouch attached to the shipping box along with a Warranty Registration card. If any of these documents are missing from the pouch, please visit the page for replacements. Please fill out all necessary information: purchase price, your name, address and date of purchase. Dont forget to enter the correct HIN number. Dont bring blank forms to the Tag agency. Fill them out first.
In very rare cases, some states may ask you to provide the MSO with a signed and notarized First Assignment. In general this absolutely unnecessary. The First Assignment is for you to fill out when you are going to re-sell the boat. BoatsToGo, Inc represents manufacturers in the US and a signed first page should be more then enough to register your boat. There are no manufacturers in the US who provide a notarized copy of the MSO. However some offices are just giving a hard time to customers. If it is absolutely necessary, we can provide a notarized copy of the MSO for a fee of $5. This is what the notary public charges us for the seal. Please visit to send $5 payment if you need notarization.
Don’t Miss: What Battery Do I Need For My Boat
How To Register An Inflatable Boat Or Kayak
Alright, so now that weve gone through the states that may require an inflatable boat or kayak to be registered, how would you register it? Like everything else, this is going to be dependent on which state you live in, but it will almost always be run through the DMV for your state. Youll likely need to know the following things about your inflatable boat or kayak:
- The vessel length
- Proof of purchase
- Make and model of boat
- Type of motor used
Most states will allow you to submit the information either electronically or through the mail, but its possible that you might have to visit the DMV to complete the registration of your inflatable boat or kayak. It varies from state to state, but some states will allow for boat registrations for up to 3 years in length, so at least youll save some paperwork with that.
The registration fees usually arent too expensive although that is definitely a matter of opinion. I think it would be understandable to be a little annoyed at paying $20 a year to register an inflatable boat that might have cost only $150 new, tops.
Expiration And Renewal Of Registration
Registrations are valid for three years. Renewal notices are mailed to the last known address of all watercraft owners approximately 45 days before expiration. The most common reason owners do not receive a renewal notice is because their address has changed within the three years and DGIF was not notified. If a renewal notice was not received, the registration may be renewed by checking the Renew Registration box at the top of the application to register and title a watercraft, then completing the application. A shorter is also available on this website.
Also Check: What Cleans Vinyl Boat Seats
Do You Have To Register Your Inflatable Boat
Registering your inflatable boat may seem like a huge hassle. After all, its not like you use it every day. Whats the big deal about registering inflatables anyway?
All this, plus the confusion on how to register, can lead you to throw your hands up and say I dont care.
But thats illegal.
Its your responsibility as a boat owner to know the regulations and requirements.
So do you have to register your inflatable boat?
However, there are some exceptions. Once again, these exceptions are different in every state. Some common exceptions include:
Contact The Dmv Or Dnr When In Doubt
If you have any questions or uncertainties about whether you will need to register your inflatable boat or kayak, it would be a great idea to contact your DMV regardless. Theyll know more about the regulations and will be able to walk you through the entire process.
If you anticipate that youll be boating on state lands such as state parks or state-managed fish and game lands, it would be very beneficial for you to understand how your local DNR views inflatable boats and kayaks. Its possible that you might need to register it if you plan on kayaking or fishing those waters.
Note: The above is a summary of state laws and may or may not be the most current or up to date source on the matter. Always check with your local authorities to ensure your compliance with all laws and regulations. This post should not be taken as legal advice.
Read Also: What Boat Prop Do I Need
How Do I Get A Hull Identification Number
- Boat owners should use every effort to determine if a boat has an existing HIN or resolve problems with a HIN for use in the registration process.
- A HIN is required for boats manufactured after November 1, 1972. If the HIN is unavailable and unknown, the boat owner must first contact the boat manufacturer to obtain a replacement HIN .
- If the HIN is known but the plate is missing or the HIN not inscribed on the boat, the boat owner is responsible for permanently affixing the HIN to the boat.
- If the HIN is an improper format, the applicant will be asked to electronically upload or send a picture or pencil tracing of the HIN to DNR for verification and further instruction.
- If the manufacturer is out of business or will not assist the boat owner, a DNR HIN Inspection is necessary. DNR will assign a HIN number after the inspection process and the boat owner is responsible for permanently affixing the HIN to the boat. Information on arranging an inspection can be found at .
How To Put Registration Numbers On Inflatable Boats
When you register your boat, youll get a sticker and a registration number. Before you hit the water, you should stick the sticker, and paint the registration number on your inflatable.
Doing this is very easy. All you need is some stencils, paint, and masking tape. With these, you can apply your boat registration number in 5 easy steps.
Also Check: What Size Boat Should I Get
Titling And Registering Your Watercraft
The form is available from VDGIF offices, Department of Motor Vehicle service centers, and from the VDGIF website. This is a combined application for both the registration and title.
An application for title and registration requires a detailed description of the watercraft that includes the make, length, model year, type of vessel, hull material, type of propulsion, and the 12 character hull identification number. The make, horsepower, and serial number of the motor , and name ofthe lienholder are also required.
Most of this information will be available from the Certificate of Title and/or Certificate of Number provided by the previous owner or the Manufacturers Statement of Origin provided by the retail outlet where the watercraft was purchased.
Certain supporting documents must be submitted with an application for titling and registration as follows:
Best Inflatable Boat Fishing Tips
HOW LONG DO INFLATABLE BOATS LAST ?
White Mountains of Arizona Horseshoe Cienega Lake. State Record Brown Trout 16lb. 7oz. 121 acres Elev. 8100 ft
My research really comes down to how you take care of your inflatable boat. The average lifespan is about 8 to 12 years. A few last longer, and many dont even last that long. PVC boats that are left in the sun or on the water, dealing with the full weather issues, may not last 5 years. Its best to store your boat in a cool dry environment. But reality is, most of us dont and wont store our boat indoors.
I store our boat in my shed and I know it gets very hot in there.
Why you ask? Because we live like most of you do, in a Hot and Humid Summer location. It gets pretty toasty here!!
All I can do to help protect it, is to make sure we put it away clean and dry, plus keep it in the shade. I believe no matter how long our boat last, if we divide the cost of our boat by the years it last, and the FUN and FREEDOM we enjoy while using it, certainly outways any so called issues with the boat that we are not able to repair.
I can guarantee you, we will get another one when that time comes and Im sure you will do the same!!
Unless you enjoy fishing from the shore!
HOW DO YOU STORE AN INFLATABLE BOAT ?
Im not to worried and you should not be worried either, about some of the stains the boat material may get on itYOU ARE OUT FISHING ! Then I just make sure it is completely dry before re-folding it and putting it away.
You May Like: How To Sell Boat Without Title
How To Check If Your Inflatable Boat Is Registered
Suppose you bought an inflatable boat from a private seller, do you have to register it?
Before you bring home your boat, its good to ask the previous owner about its registration. If its already registered, you wont have to register it again until it expires. This is unless you want to put it under your name right away.
You should also ask for the latest registration papers. A lot of states require these when you register your boat.
But lets say you forgot to ask. Or lets say youre not sure if your boat registration is already expired. How do you find out?
Its simple, first find the registration number on your boat . Then call the office that handles boat registration in your state , and ask the status of your boat. The office will check their records and let you know if you need to register or not.
What Kind Of Boat Must Be Registered
Generally, boats must be registered in their state if they have a gasoline, diesel or electric motor, including a trolling motor. Personal Watercrafts are considered motorized crafts and needs to be registered in most states. Sailboats without auxiliary power must be registered if over a certain size like eight feet, but that differs by state. The registration requirements for kayaks, paddleboards, canoes, rowboats and other human-powered craft also differ by state but most dont need to be registered.
Don’t Miss: What To Use To Clean Boat Seats
Where Do I Register My Boat
A good place to start is right here on Discover Boatingjust visit our Boat Registration page, which allows you to start the registration process online. In most states, you can also register a boat with the Department of Motor Vehicles. In some cases it may be with the Department of Fish and Game, the Department of Licensing, or the Department of Natural Resources . A boat can be officially registered in only one state.