How To Obtain A Boating License In California
A California boating license or Boater Card is required for all applicants under the age of 20 operating a motorized vessel on state waterways. All applicants, regardless of age, will be required to hold a boater card after 2025. While educational courses are mandatory for anyone applying for a license, they are also available to boaters interested in expanding their knowledge. Course fees may vary. Online boating license applications are available to residents and visitors. Applicants may also apply by mail.
The states safety laws must be adhered to all times. Further restrictions are placed on minors operating vessels without an adult present. Boat registrations are required for all eligible vessels operating on CA waterways. Applications may be submitted in person or by mail. Registration and title fees vary.
Captains License Classes In Toms River New Jersey Tybee Island Ga Coconut Grove Miami And Watson Island Miami Florida
Have you been considering applying for your USCG Captains License, but keep putting it off because of time constraints? Our top-notch instructors will guide you through everything you need to know in just three weekends, with no Coast Guard exam .If you already hold a OUPV captains license, perhaps, you may be interested in a USCG Masters License upgrade. In just a three day weekend, we will teach you everything you need to know to obtain this prestigious certification.All course materials are included. Student workbooks and study guides with sample test questions come standard along with plotting tools . Students will also receive training charts, a USCG Light List reference guide and a Mariners School carry bag. Your tuition includes the exam fee.A US Citizenship or Form I-551, Alien Registration card is required. The minimum age to attend the OUPV class is 17 years. You must be 18 years old to apply for the OUPV License. The minimum age to attend the Masters class 18 years. You must be 19 years old to apply for the Masters License.
Us Coast Guard License / Credential Requirements
The Captains License is required to operate a commercial vessel or to take paying passengers out on your vessel. Understanding the Captains License Requirements should be understood prior to taking a captains license course.
These general prerequisites should be reviewed before applying for any U.S. Coast Guard license/credential. This is recommended so you dont spend your time and money pursuing a license that you dont qualify for. For full consulting and credentialing services, to get more info. For credential packets and USCG forms
But please, dont rule yourself out on your own if you have any questions at all about whether you qualify for a license. Call us at 619-263-1638 and one of our friendly student services advisors will answer your questions.
You May Like: What Is The Best Ski Boat For Money
How Do I Get A Pcoc
You can get your PCOC by taking the Transport Canadaapproved boating safety course from Boat Ed. The Boat Canada boating safety course from Boat Ed was developed specifically for Transport Canada to meet the competency requirements for the PCOC. By taking your boating course on boat-ed.com, you can be sure that when you complete the course and pass the Transport Canada Boating Safety Test, you will have the Canada PCOC that you need to operate a pleasure craft legally in British Columbia and all other provinces.
With Boat Ed, you can complete an online boating safety course at your own pace and on any devicea smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer. All courses are mobile-ready, which means that you can complete your course easily and in the way that is most convenient for you. And it only takes a few hours of your time to complete the requirements to get your card.
Proof Of Application Fees
Be sure to pay the appropriate fees through pay.gov. Consult the USCG payment webpage to determine what you need to pay for your license evaluation. Pay via the Pay.gov website. Its always a good idea to print the confirmation page after you pay. $145 Application fee. Choose the Officer Endorsements only, Original Officer Endorsement , Course in lieu of exam , MMC issuance fee . Include a copy of the payment receipt with the MMC application.
Don’t Miss: Is Banana Boat Ultra Sport Reef Safe
I Want To Operate A Boat In British Columbia How Do I Get The British Columbia Boating License
You may have heard that you need a Canada boating license or British Columbia boating license to operate a boat. Unlike driving a car, you do not need a drivers license or a boaters license to operate a pleasure craft. What you really need is a Canada PCOC. This card is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course that is required for pleasure craft operators in British Columbia and other provinces. Since the PCOC does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Canadian Boat License, British Columbia boat license, or pleasure craft license.
Sailboat Captains License Vs Asa And Us Sailing Courses
The American Sailing Association and US Sailing Association both provide sailing certification programs. These programs are different from taking a course for the USCG sailing endorsement that can be added to your captains license. The Mariners Learning System auxiliary sailing endorsement online course will prepare you for this certification whereas ASA and US Sailing courses will not.
Don’t Miss: Does Boat Insurance Cover Animal Damage
Operator Of Uninspected Passenger Vessels
Also referred to as the 6-Pack license, it allows you to operate a vessel up to 100 gross tons and travel 100 miles offshore while carrying only 6 passengers without requiring your boat to be inspected. The Coast Guard is really cracking down on people that run charters without having a Licensed Captain onboard. It is illegal to use a vessel for hire without having a captain onboard.
Operator Of Uninspected Passenger Vehicles
Commonly called a 6-pack license, the Operator of Uninspected Passenger Vessels credential allows you to carry up to six passengers on uninspected vessels. Uninspected means the Coast Guard doesnt have to inspect your boat before you can operate, and the boats design and safety specifications arent as strict.
The Coast Guard issues 6-pack captains licenses for a specific range that reflects your sea service either Inland, Inland and Great Lakes or Near Coastal, which allows you to go up to 100 miles offshore. For a 6-pack license the requirements you need to achieve are 360 days of sea time, 90 of which must be in the range for which you apply. For example, the Near Coastal OUPV requires at least 90 days on near coastal or ocean waters.
Recommended Reading: How To Remove Mold And Mildew From Vinyl Boat Seats
More Information For Charter Operators Captains And Guides
Surf fishing and freshwater fishing guides and their customers are subject to Florida’s recreational fishing license requirements. The FWC does not require additional guide licenses.
A charter vessel captain who possesses a six-pack license under USCG and an FWC charter vessel license for up to 4 people may carry up to two extra passengers ONLY when they are NON-FISHERS.
Additional restrictions on charter boat captain and crew and for-hire guides on a keeping their limit of fish under their own valid recreational saltwater fishing licenses are species specific. Currently, for most species of saltwater fish, with the exception of snook, grouper and red snapper in federal waters, all persons aboard a charter vessel can keep a legal limit of fish if the paying passengers fish under the vessel license and the crew fish under their own valid licenses. For-hire guides may also keep a legal limit of fish while on duty with the exception of snook, grouper and red snapper in federal waters.
An occupational license may be required by the city or county where you are doing business. Check with the city and county to see if you need an occupational license.
If you are operating a for-hire vessel in a park or a refuge , you may be required to have additional permits. Please check with the park or refuge headquarters for any specific permitting requirements for those areas.
Who Needs A Boating License In Bc
If you operate a powered watercraft in the province of British Columbia, then you need to carry a valid Pleasure Craft Operator Card. Sometimes referred to as a boating license, the Pleasure Craft Operator Card is actually a federal certificate issued by Transport Canada and valid in all Canadian provinces and territories. You can obtain your PCOC by completing the Transport Canada-approved online course.
Recommended Reading: How To Register My Boat In Ga
Uscg Master Near Coastal
Inspected or Uninspected vessels up to 100gt on up to 200 miles offshore:
At least 720 days of boating experience including 360 days offshore and 90 within past 3 years. If all sea time is under 5gt you will get 25gt license. If 180 days is over 5gt, you will get 50gt license. If 360 is over 34gt, you will get 100gt license.
Find A Certified Course Provider
Once you are sure you pass the requirements find a location approved for training and examination. The USCG Maritime Center keeps an updated list of course providers we recommend you start here. In addition, you can find relevant forms, including the application, on the right hand side on the main USCG website.
Don’t Miss: How Do I Register My Boat In Colorado
How To Renew Your Captains License
Once you receive your captains license, we highly recommend not letting it expire. Even if you dont plan on using it in the near future, its still a good idea to keep renewing it and you only have to do it every five years. If you let it expire and then decide that you want to start operating boats again, youll have to satisfy all of the Coast Guard requirements for getting a captains license from scratch.
Renewing your license is easy. You will need:
- 360 days of sea service within the last five years or a refresher course through a USCG-approved training school. These refresher courses can take as little as one day and cover Rules of the Road, Deck General and Deck Safety.
- A completed application form for renewal this is the same form you use to get your original license, so be sure to specify youre renewing yours
- DOT drug testing enrollment with proof of a test within the last six months
- A USCG mariner medical examination the same type as for your original license
- Payment of fees through the USCG website
If you do let your license expire, there is a one year grace period in which you can renew it without having to complete the full USCG exam again. Even if you decide to pursue another career, many people use their captains license after retirement. Its a great way to make some extra money and keep yourself busy on the water.
California Boat Registration Basics
A boat registration certificate may be applied for by mail or in person at the DMV. Applicants cannot apply for a boat registration online. Not all vessels are subject to the states registration laws. However, all eligible boats brought into the state must be registered within 120 days. Exceptions may apply. Applicants must submit the registration application form, proof of ownership and payment before a certificate can be issued. A title may also be applied for using the same form.
The registration and title must be kept on the vessel at all times when in the water. Similarly, stickers must be placed on the vessel in specific locations. Registration and title fees vary. Mussel fees and sales taxes may also be applied.
Also Check: How To Use Banana Boat Self Tanning Lotion
What Are The Types Of Captains Licenses
The two main captains licenses issued by the Coast Guard are the Operator of Uninspected Passenger Vessels, also known as the Six-pack or charter boat captains license, and the 25, 50, or 100-Ton Master License.
The Six-pack Captains License allows the holder to carry up to six paying passengers plus crew on uninspected vessels up to 100 gross tons, hence the term six-pack. These are usually recreational vessels that are normally engaged in charter fishing, scuba diving, or tour cruises.
The 25, 50, or 100-Ton Master License allows the holder to operate inspected vessels as well as uninspected vessels. Any vessel that is authorized to carry more than six paying passengers must have on board a captain who holds a Master license. Ferry boats, harbor tour boats, whale watching, and water taxis are examples of inspected vessels.
How Boatsetter Helps Boat Charter Captains
Devoting your career to the ocean has its perks. According to 2015 statistics from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the wages of captains, mates, and pilots of water vessels ranged from $39,100 to $102,870 a year. The average hourly wage in 2015 was $39.98 and the average annual wage for the same year was $83,150. Yet, a career as a boat captain is rewarding for reasons beyond money. Boat captains enjoy flexible schedules and opportunities for a variety of work two days are never the same out on the water.Boatsetter is always looking for experienced boat charter captains to help navigate the vessels in our ride sharing database. When working with Boatsetter you get to do what you love and share the excitement with less experienced boaters. Read more about boat charter captains working with Boatsetter.
Also Check: Does Geico Do Boat Insurance
How To Acquire Your Boat Captains License In Florida
Are you looking to make some extra money or to live out your boating dreams? You could work as a paid captain, use your boat for charter, or simply enjoy the open seas while making money. However, to any of the listed you will need to acquire your boat captains license in Florida and we are here to help! While it may sound like a whole bunch of mumbo-jumbo its crucial to understand the requirements to attain your captains license. Let us jump right in!
Ensure You Meet The Requirements
In order to proceed with earning a captains license there are requirements that need to be met. Applicants must:
- Have logged 360 days on the water, at four hours each day, documented within the last five years, and have proof of doing so
- Pass a drug test
- Posses CPR/First Aid certifications and
- Pass a background test, with fingerprinting.
You May Like: How To Remove Mold Off Boat Seats
How To Get Your Captain’s License In Florida
If you want to be a charter captain in Florida, you have to have a license issued by the United States Coast Guard as an Operator of Uninspected Passenger Vessels. The process is straightforward you have to prove experience in operating a boat, apply for and receive an identification document from the Department of Homeland Security, and pass a physical. You can take a test on maritime knowledge or a course in lieu of a test.
Meet the requirements for sea time and training. Minimum requirements for a charter captain’s license are spelled out on the Coast Guard website on the checklist for a charter captain’s license, also called an “Operator of Uninspected Passenger Vessels.” All the forms you need to complete, including the application, physical and drug screen are on the National Maritime Center website.
Get a Transportation Workers Identification Credential . This involves an application and an investigation into your past and is required by the Department of Homeland Security’s Transportation Security Administration. While you can operate your own boat without one, if you operate a boat professionally, you’re required to have one before your license can be issued. The application is on the Department of Homeland Security website.
Put your application package together, containing all of the required information. Mail it to the Coast Guard Regional Examination Center in Miami. The address is:
Boating In British Columbia
With 27,200 km of coastline, British Columbia offers boaters many choices for getting out on the water. On the Pacific Ocean, boaters can enjoy the open waters and also go whale watching. With their scenic coastlines, the Gulf Islands, the Broughton Islands, and other islands are popular areas for recreational boating. British Columbia also has thousands of lakes, many of which, such as Okanagan Lake and Atlin Lake, are perfect for boating, sailing, canoeing, and kayaking. Boaters in British Columbia will also find coastlines, lakes, and rivers that offer private, secluded coves for gunkholing.
In addition to the ocean, lakes, and rivers that are available for boating, the weather along the coast is typically mild so that it is possible to boat year-round. The Georgia Basin, including the east coast of Vancouver Island and the coast of the Gulf Islands, receives less rain than other areas, making this area popular for boaters.
No matter which waterway you choose for boating, it is important to take precautions to protect everyone on board your pleasure craft. When going out for a day of fun on the water, no one wants a boating accident to cut their outing short. By taking a boating safety education course, you can learn how to boat safely and legally and can make sure you are prepared and know what to do should an emergency occur.
Read Also: Where Do I Get My Boat Licence
Boating License In Ontario
Since 2010, all Canadians are required to hold a valid Pleasure Craft Operator Card in all provinces across Canada. Thisboat license card is issued by Transport Canada and is valid in Ontario as wellas all other provinces. There is no special license required for boating in Ontario,so as long as you hold your valid PCOC you can enjoy the beautiful waterways ofOntario with extra safety and peace of mind.