Start With Your Pleasure Craft Operators Card
A Pleasure Craft Operators Card is your Transport Canada accredited proof of basic competency to operate a power-driven vessel of any size in Canada. It is also the first step in your journey to becoming a confident boater.
Boating Ontario also recommends additional training for anyone who plans to spend more than a few hours out boating.
You can get your PCOC by taking an in-person or online course and successfully completing the exam. The card is good for life and is enforceable. If youre out on the water, make sure you keep it handy as you can be pulled over and asked for it by law enforcement or volunteer officers.
If you are renting a boat for a short period of time, a PCOC is not required by Transport Canada although it is recommended. Rental companies are equipped with a TC safety checklist, which theyll walk customers through before heading out.
For more information on the Pleasure Craft Operators Card – check out Transport Canada’s FAQs.
To find a Transport Canada accredited course provider, .
How Do I Get A Pcoc
You can get your PCOC by taking the Transport Canadaapproved boating safety course from Boat Ed. The Boat Canada boating safety course from Boat Ed was developed specifically for Transport Canada to meet the competency requirements for the PCOC. By taking your boating course on boat-ed.com, you can be sure that when you complete the course and pass the Transport Canada Boating Safety Test, you will have the Canada PCOC that you need to operate a pleasure craft legally in Alberta and all other provinces.
With Boat Ed, you can complete an online boating safety course at your own pace and on any devicea smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer. All courses are mobile-ready, which means that you can complete your course easily and in the way that is most convenient for you. And it only takes a few hours of your time to complete the requirements to get your card.
Do You Need A License To Drive A Boat In North Carolina
Any person born after January 1, 1988 must take an education course to be awarded boating privileges. Residents born before this date are exempt from these requirements. In North Carolina, all residents 14 years of age or older must take boaters safety courses to drive personalized watercraft .
However, drivers older than 14 may operate water vessels without taking an education course if they are under a valid supervisor. An adult who has already completed the process of getting a boat license and is 18 years of age or older is an acceptable supervisor. This is similar to how minors with a learners permit must be accompanied by a licensed driver.
Recommended Reading: Clean Vinyl Boat Seats Mildew
Who Must Be Certified To Operate A Vessel Alone
In Texas a person cannot operate a windblown vessel over 14 feet in length, a motorboat with more than 15 horsepower, or personal watercraft unless he/she:
- was born on or after September 1, 1993 and has passed a boater education class or equivalency examination prescribed by the department.
- is 18 years of age and can lawfully operate the motorboat and is on board the motor boat when underway.
- is at least 13 years of age and have successfully completed a boater education course approved by the Department.
An Enjoyable Boating Experience Begins With Taking A Course
Boating is most enjoyable when youre well-trained and confident in your knowledge & skills. Depending on the type of boating you enjoy, and the level of difficulty you intend to embrace, there are many courses available from basic through advanced training to coastal navigation, anchoring, and docking.
Recommended Reading: How Much Does Freedom Boat Club Cost To Join
Pennsylvania Boating License Requirements
In Pennsylvania, boating license applicant age is an important factor when determining license requirements in the state. Residents born after January 1, 1982 must obtain licenses if they wish to operate a watercraft over 25 horsepower.
Education courses should be approved by the PA Fish and Boat Commission to be accepted by law enforcement. The requirement in Pennsylvania is waived for residents born before 1982.
Manitobas Boating And Alcohol Laws
The fines and penalties for operating a boat under the influence of alcohol in Manitoba are the same as those for operating a motorized vehicle. It is illegal to operate a vessel in Manitoba while consuming alcohol. While underway, open alcohol cannot be transported on any type of boat in Manitoba. Alcohol may only be consumed on board vessels equipped with a galley , head and sleeping quarters, and only consumed while at anchor.
Manitobas boating and alcohol regulations are enforced by the RCMP and local municipal police forces. For more information on boating and alcohol regulations in your province, contact the Manitoba Provincial Police.
Don’t Miss: Freedom Boat Club Wisconsin
Saskatchewan Boating License Requirements
WHAT IS A PLEASURE CRAFT OPERATOR CARD?
A Pleasure Craft Operator Card , more commonly known by Saskatchewans boating community as a boating license, is a federally mandated boating competency card. You must get your BOATsmart! Pleasure Craft Operator Card to drive a motorized boat in Saskatchewan. You can use your Saskatchewan Boat License to drive a recreational motorized boat anywhere in Canada. The card must be carried on board during operation. Photocopies are not accepted.
WHERE CAN I GET MY SASKATCHEWAN BOATING LICENSE?
To legally obtain a PCOC you must take the Transport Canada Approved BOATsmart! Course and pass the Boating Safety Test. You can take the test online from your own home, and print your temporary PCOC right away once you pass the test. our Official BOATsmart! Card will arrive in the mail within 4 weeks at no charge.
HOW OLD DO I HAVE TO BE TO GET A BOATING LICENSE IN SASKATCHEWAN?
There is no minimum age to obtain your boating license in Saskatchewan. Boaters of all ages, including those less than 16 years of age, are required by law to obtain and carry a Pleasure Craft Operator Card while boating. In addition, certain Age and Horsepower Restrictions apply to boaters 16 years of age and under. See below.
AGE AND HORSEPOWER RESTRICTIONS
No children under 12 years of age can operate a powerboat with a more than 10 horsepower engine.
Youths, aged 12 to 15 may only operate a boat with a motor up to 40 horsepower unsupervised.
How To Obtain A Boating License In Florida
A Florida boating license is not required to operate vessels in the state. However, boaters may be required to take certain educational courses to operate motorized watercrafts. Once a course has been completed, applicants are issued with a Boating Safety Education Identification Card. Your age and residency status may affect your eligibility.
Methods on how to get a boating license are varied. Education fees may apply. Depending on the type of vessel, you may be required to register and title the boat with the FL DMV. Vessel registrations must be completed in person. Fees may vary.
Read Also: Mildew Boat Seats
Are There Speed Limits That Apply On Albertas Waters
Yes. Boat operators in Alberta must abide by posted speed limit signs and other boating restrictions. These restrictions may vary depending on where youre operating your boat, your distance from shore, or the presence of hazards or marine life. Be sure to familiarize yourself with Canadas navigation buoys and boating restrictions signs to stay confident on that water.
Getting A Boating License In Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania boater education cards are easily obtained by drivers who successfully complete each step of the application process. A certain amount of hours must be spent in class or taking an online course for privileges to be granted.
Drivers should anticipate their upcoming responsibilities to ensure the best outcomes are obtained. Follow these boating license certification steps to complete the application process:
When the final exam is passed and fees are paid, certificates are awarded to new boaters.
Also Check: Best Propeller For My Boat
How To Get A Boating License
Each state determines the requirements for operating a powerboat, sailboat or personal watercraft on the waters in its jurisdiction , and most require some sort of boating safety and education certificate, which may be called a boating license. In most cases the boat license course can be completed online, and is followed by a boat license test that is also completed online. The boating safety certificate courses are not as comprehensive as those for an automobile drivers license theres usually no on-water drivers education required, for example.
Follow these simple steps to get your boating license:
Who Needs A Pcoc
In Canada, anyone who operates a pleasure craft must carry proof of competency on board if the pleasure craft has any type of motor and is used for recreational purposes. This includes boats powered by trolling motors.
Proof of competency shows that a person has at least the basic level of boating knowledge that is necessary to operate a pleasure craft safely. The most common proof of competency is a PCOC that a boater receives after passing a Transport Canadaapproved boating safety course. The Canada PCOC is accepted as proof of competency in Alberta and all other provinces.
You May Like: Freedom Boat Club Membership Price
How To Obtain A Boating License In Washington
Most boaters need a valid boating license to legally operate motorized water vessels anywhere on Washington territory. The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission oversees how to get a boating license and sets boating policies for waterways across the state. Boaters interested in applying for a license can submit a request to Washington State Parks after completing the necessary education requirements by a number of different application methods. Certain eligibility requirements apply to all license applicants.
Washington residents can apply for an online boating license by completing the application procedure of one of the states recommended web-based programs. WA boaters who have received a boat certification but who need a replacement due to misplacement or destruction of the original card can request a duplicate from Washington State Parks. All applications for a license to boat must be accompanied by the necessary application fee. Some education programs carry enrollment fees, though free programs can be found. Read on to learn more about legally boating in Washington.
What Is The Proof Of Online Missouri Boat Ed Course Completion
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boating Safety Certification Card. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Boating Safety Certification Card right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 60 days after course completion.
Also Check: How To Get Mildew Out Of Vinyl Boat Seats
Take A Boating Safety Course
Boat Massachusetts is a recognized safety course that meets the National Boating Education Standards and is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators.
The Boat Massachusetts course is available in two formats. A full in-person format that runs approximately 10-12 hours in length, generally over the course of several days. All full in-person classes are free of charge. There is also a hybrid format that consists of an online education course, followed by an abbreviated in-person session with a proctored exam. There is an associated fee for the online program. Classes are for adults and youth 12 years of age and older. Family participation is encouraged and has proven to be very rewarding. All graduates in the 12 through 15 year-old age group will be issued a safety certificate allowing them to operate a motorboat without adult supervision, as required by state law. The same is true for 16 and 17 year old youth who wish to operate a personal watercraft.
Do You Need A License To Drive A Boat In Pennsylvania
Getting a boat license is necessary for boaters in Pennsylvania. To do this, applicants should take boaters safety courses approved by the PA Fish and Boat Commission. These education class certificates are used as physical boating permits.
Official documents confirming attendance of drivers education should remain on boaters while operating motorized water vessels. A small laminated card is provided to applicants who have met education standards. Residents can begin to get a license when they have determined they meet eligibility requirements in the state.
Don’t Miss: How To Repair Canvas Boat Cover
New York State Adventure License
If you have a lifetime recreation certificate or sporting license, your New York State Driver License can now become an all-purpose boating, fishing, hunting and parks ID card.
Anyone successfully completing the New York Safe Boating Course or approved online boating safety course may opt to have their driver’s license, non-driver ID, or learner’s permit indicate completion of the course. A small anchor icon will be placed on your DMV document, attesting that you have earned a New York State boating safety certificate.
The advantage to this program is that you will no longer need to carry your boating safety certificate with you when boating, provided you have your DMV credential with you. DMV will maintain a record of your having completed the boating safety course, and automatically place the icon on your license each time it is renewed.
There are several ways to apply for this program
Please refer to Frequently Asked Questions for more information before you call DMV.
How The Typical Boating Safety Course Works
Learning: Boating Safety
To help you become a better informed and safer operator, each course is broken down into 6 easy-to-understand units that you can complete at your own pace.
Course topics include safe vessel operation, etiquette, boating emergencies, and the legal requirements of boating.
Assessment: Unit Quizzes
As you go through the course, youll take a quiz at the end of each unit to determine how well youre understanding the boating safety topics.
Each unit quiz requires a passing score before youre allowed to go on to the next unit. If you dont pass a unit quiz, dont worry. Youll just go back and study the unit and then try the quiz again.
Mastery: Course Completion
When you complete all units, youll then move on to the final steps in the certification process as mandated by your state or province. In most cases, the last step is a final exam that covers all the course material.
After you have successfully completed all education, you will receive your permanent boater education card in the mail.
Recommended Reading: Freedom Boat Club Lindenhurst
Connecticut Boat License Requirements
There are multiple boat safety certificate options that CT drivers can apply for to be able to legally operate water vessels in the state. Drivers who can provide proof of passing any of the following types of boating classes will be able to legally operate a water vessel in Connecticut:
- Safe Boating Certificate
- Certificate of Personal Watercraft Operation
- Valid vessel operator license issued by the United States Coast Guard
To be approved by DEEP, the boating school must provide courses that are a minimum of eight hours in length. The basic boating license age in Connecticut is 16 years of age. Drivers who are younger than 16 years of age can only operate water vessels under the direct supervision of a licensed adult.
Children 12 years of age and younger cannot operate motorized water vessels without supervision under any circumstances. The same age restrictions apply to drivers of PWC, who should enroll in a CPWO course.
How To Obtain A Boating License In North Carolina
The process to obtain a boating license in North Carolina is developed to ensure residents practice this recreational activity safely. Understanding how to operate motorboats is essential when applying for permits. In person and online boating license safety courses are available for boaters to enroll in. These classes teach students basic regulations and techniques for driving water vessels. Education certificates are awarded to drivers who successfully complete courses.
In order to be granted boating privileges in the state, residents must meet eligibility requirements for new drivers. Boat certification is only provided to applicants who adhere to these standards. Additionally, specific fees should be paid by drivers to receive education certificates. Learn more about the steps to obtain licenses for new boaters in NC by consulting the next sections.
Read Also: Removing Mildew From Boat Seats
Getting A Boat License In Connecticut
Drivers cannot enroll in an online boaters safety course to meet the states education requirement and earn an SBC. Instead, all CT drivers are required to meet the education requirement through a classroom-based program that provides in-person lessons. Beyond the CPWO and licenses issued by the USCG, there are two levels of SBC education that boaters can enroll in: the basic safety course and the DEEPs Equivalency Examination for more experienced boaters.
To pass the boat license test, drivers must be able to answer at least 80% of the exams questions correctly. Signing up for lessons is as simple as referring to the DEEPs list of approved courses and enrolling in one of the options currently accepting students.
Drivers must complete an application form to enroll in the DEEP course. All courses cost a standard enrollment fee. Once completed, students can print the certificate of completion for a course one week after passing the course exam.