Who Offers The Best Boat Insurance Rates
Many insurance companies offer competitive boat insurance rates. Shop around to make sure you are getting the information you need to make an informed decision. Sites like allthingsboat.com and consumeraffairs.com provide reviews for many different insurance companies and are great places to begin your research. Speak with other boaters find out what features are important to them and why. Do your homework by researching different companiesâ offerings and you will be prepared to make the best decision for your needs.
Failure To Wear A Required Pfd
If you are operating a boat that is less than 26 feet in length, then anyone age 13 and younger who is on board the boat must wear an appropriate PFD at all times. The only two exceptions to this rule are:
- The child is below deck in a totally enclosed cabin, or
- The boat is being operated on private property.
We urge you to take this requirement seriously. The IDNR reports that, on average since 1964, 20 people have died each year in Illinois due to drowning, including children.
Illinois Boating Rules And Regulations
Boaters who have obtained an Illinois boater safety card as proof of completion of the safety course have already satisfied certain rules and regulations imposed by the IL DNS. The boating rules and regulations include age and safety requirements, as well as certain boating laws that determine the penalties for operating a boat or vessel with the appropriate documentation.
IL residents must be at least 10 years of age to operate a boat or vessel under the supervision of a parent or legal guardian. However, the boat requirements for persons between 12 and 18 years of age require individuals to obtain a boater certificate as the main criteria for operating a boat or a vessel.
Recommended Reading: Bitlife Boat License Test Answers
Do You Have To Have Boat Insurance
Non-motorized vessels do not need registration. You must title a boat or outboard motor of 25 horsepower or more. Mandatory boater education is required for operating a vessel over 10 HP if born on or after January 1st, 1984. The minimum age requirement is 10 years of age.
If you’re driving with a suspended license because of a DUI, traffic violation, or failure to pay child support, Illinois Vehicle offers different options for you to get insurance with a suspended license. We always recommend you do your homework to understand how much auto insurance coverage you need for your particular circumstance. .
Serpe Insurance Agency prides itself on providing timely customer service to answer any insurance question or provide you with an analysis comparing quotes from multiple insurance companies. We can provide you with any type of insurance you may need and help you to find the maximum amount of insurance coverage for the minimum price.
If you do not title the boat, vessel, or outboard motor, there is a title penalty of $10 on the 61st day. The penalty increases another $10 for every 30 days you are late with a maximum penalty of $30. To title and register a boat, vessel, or outboard motor in the state of Missouri, the owner must submit the following
When you are buying or selling a trailer in Illinois, it must have a title. The Illinois Secretary of State’s office handles titling duties for trailers, including boat trailers.
Us Coast Guard Auxiliary
PLEASE READ: Due to Covid-19 our classes will be held virtually.
NOTE: In Illinois anyone born on or after January 1, 1998 must take a boating safety class to operate a motorized water vessel. Click here for more information. Wisconsin does not accept the US Coast Guard Auxiliary Boating Safety Card as proof of having taken a class. Classes taught by the Auxiliary in Wisconsin may be eligible to get a State Issued card. Check with a Wisconsin flotilla for more information. For this reason, we only accept students in IL, MI, and IN.
Each student must have video capability and will be required to be on video on their own device. Sharing a device is not allowed.
See below for more details.
If you have questions email and we will respond ASAP.
Sign up now for our 2022 Classes
Choose a date/time below. Register Now to Reserve Your Seat
Please complete registration form below for each attendee. A confirmation email will be sent with payment instructions. Thank you!
This beginner boating class will give you the knowledge needed to obtain a boat license or safety certification in many states. Many boat insurance companies will offer discounts on boating insurance to boaters who successfully complete About Boating Safely.
Introduction to Boating – Types of power boats sailboats outboards paddle boats houseboats different uses of boats various power boating engines jet drives family boating basics.
You May Like: Sell Your Boat Fast
Does My Illinois Homeowners Insurance Cover A Boat
Your Illinois homeowners policy may offer an extension for watercraft that would provide protection for your boat. Usually, there is a limit of 100 horsepower vessels for a homeowners policy to cover a boat.
If you plan on operating a boat that has less than 100 horsepower, your Illinois independent insurance agent can look into adjusting your homeowners policy.
While a homeowners policy may provide some protection, most owners benefit from a separate policy. Always check with your agent to compare policies before determining what will provide the best coverage.
Keeping Boat Insurance Afloat In The Off Season
Summer is over, and youve taken your boat out of the water. To save a few dollars, you cancel your boat insurance. After all, what could possibly happen to your baby while its hibernating? A lot, according to Progressive.
Youd be shocked at the number of claims filed in colder months, says Dominic Mediate of Progressive. Nearly two out of every 10 Progressive boat claims filed in northern states happen between Labor Day and Memorial Day.
Dont gamble that nothing bad will happen. Common off-season claims include:
Fire, Theft, Vandalism and Flooding Most claims are filed for one of these reasons, which can occur anytime of year. Without coverage, boats damaged by fire, theft, vandalism or flooding arent protected.
Injuries that Occur on or Around Your Boat Some boaters dont realize they could be responsible for injuries that occur on or around their boat even if the injured person was there illegally. Without liability coverage, you could be responsible for the damages or the injured persons medical bills.
Keeping your policy all year round might also save you a few bucks. For example, Progressives disappearing deductibles reduce your Comprehensive and Collision deductible 25 percent for every claim-free policy period. Four policy periods in a row without a claim equals a $0 deductible.
Canceling your policy could mean paying more or the entire deductible, generally $500 or $1,000.
Recommended Reading: Freedom Boat Club Seattle Cost
Do You Need A License To Drive A Boat In Illinois
If wondering whether a boating license is needed for operation of boat or vessel, residents need to know that the IL DNS requires boaters to possess a boating certificate from a boaters safety course provider. Boaters, both old and new, must possess the certificate of completion if they want to operate boats and vessels on open water territories in Illinois.
Overall, the purpose of holding an IL boat certification is to help residents avoid penalties if caught operating a boat or vessel without previously obtaining the needed certificate of a completed course.
Why Is Boating Insurance Recommended
Boating insurance is recommended for two main reasons, both of which can save you thousands of dollars.
Don’t Miss: Remove Stains Vinyl Boat Seats
Is Boat Insurance Required
One of the biggest misconceptions people may have is that your boat is covered under your homeowners insurance policy. While your homeowners insurance may provide very limited coverage to a small boat on your property larger boats need their own insurance policy especially if you dock your boat in a marina.
The state of Illinois does not require boat owners to purchase insurance to ride in their waters, but R.C. Keller & Company strongly recommend you protect yourself with the proper boat insurance coverage before you hit the water.
Where Can I Buy A Used Boat In Illinois
I am from Illinois and recently purchased a used boat from a private owner who is also from Illinois. I had to do some searching and calling to find out exactly what I needed to complete the transaction, so I thought I would post this to help others save a little time and confusion.
These forms are generally obtained from a dealership or currency exchange. If you need to obtain the form prior to registering your boat, you can request copies to be mailed to you by calling the Illinois Department of Revenues 24-hour Forms Order at 1-800-356-6302. What is my tax obligation when I apply for title or registration in Illinois?
Read Also: Is Boat Insurance Required In Minnesota
Welcome To Ncib Group Inc
We are a team of professional and highly experienced insurance agents serving the larger Chicago, IL region. We are dedicated to underwriting client-friendly insurance policies that focus on the unique needs of our customers. We have been serving our Illinois community for many years, and we understand the value of insurance in your life. We are here to focus on you so that you can focus on the other things that matter in your life. We value our customers, and that is why we always strive to build long-lasting relationships through open communication. We offer the following insurance policies:
Do you have a family that depends on your income for survival? Have you ever thought about what might happen if your life ends unexpectedly and they donât have an alternative source of income? Our life insurance policy is here to take care of your loved ones in Illinois when you depart. We understand that no amount of money can replace your position in their lives, but we shall ensure that they don’t suffer both emotionally and financially. We shall replace your income and make them feel comfortable.
Owning a car is a nice thing, but it also comes with its share of unforeseen risks. Even the most experienced and careful drivers in Chicago, IL are usually involved in road accidents. However, with our auto insurance policy, there will be no need to worry about the extra expenses since we got you covered. We shall meet the cos
What Is Boat Insurance
Boat insurance covers you in the event of a loss or damage to your boat. It covers most watercrafts with motors, including fishing boats, pontoon boats, paddle boats, leisure crafts and yachts. Boat insurance does not usually cover canoes, kayaks or personal watercrafts .
For small watercrafts, you may find some limited coverage under your homeowners policy. You may also be able to add a special endorsement or buy separate coverage. Contact an independent agent for assistance with all of your boat coverage.
Also Check: Boat Insurance Oklahoma
Its A Big Country But When It Comes To Boating Each State Or Territory Sets Its Own Requirements Heres What You Need To Know About Reciprocity
If you plan to skipper your boat outside the state in which you reside, check state and local boating requirements to ensure youre on the right side of the law.
Youve tested your trailer lights, packed the fishing rods, checked all the boats mechanical and safety gear, inspected the life jackets, and downloaded the local charts. Just when you go to check the last item off your prevacation checklist, a question dawns on you, Can I even use the boat legally in the state Imheading to?
If youve ever boated out of state, you may already know that the answer depends on many factors including the state youre visiting, your age, your boating education, vessel type, engine size, whether you rent or own the boat, how long youre staying, and if you want to engage in towed watersports.
First things first your boating education certification is not a license, which can be suspended or revoked. It allows you to operate certain watercraft in the waters of the state it was issued by. But many states practice reciprocity, meaning a valid certification in one state is accepted in another state . But if youre certified to operate a boat in Florida, can you throttle up in California? Or Connecticut?
Its important to know that not all the available courses meet the states educational requirements or are NASBLA-approved.
Lastly, the reciprocity period allowed for operating on an out-of-state boating card varies from state to state and can range anywhere from zero to 90 days.
Boat Insurance Indiana Requirements
Indiana may not have mandated insurance for boats, but they do have a number of laws for registering and operating marine vessels.
If youre about to dock your boat anywhere in Indiana, it is advisable to know the rules and regulations in place:
- Boating Licence
Although you dont need a boating license in Indiana, state laws mandate that anyone born after 1988 has to complete a boating safety course and possess a boating safety education identification card if they operate a vessel with more than 10 horsepower.
For jet-ski, the boater safety identification card is necessary for people under the age of 22. The card can be obtained from the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Center .
- Boat safety equipment laws
Boat safety equipment laws in Indiana state the requirement of the following:
- Fire extinguishers and backfire flame control
- A horn or any other device producing sound to signal other boats
- A ventilation system
- At least 1 personal floatation device
- Boat registration requirement
To operate a boat in Indiana, you need to title and register your boat with the authorities within 30 days of purchasing the boat. The application can be submitted to a county tax collector or license plate agent office.
You can either apply for a one or two-year registration. Once registered, you need to keep it with you on the boat along with a number and decals that have to be affixed on your vessel.
Indiana boat titling fees are as follows:
Cheapest boat insurance Indiana
Don’t Miss: Freedom Boat Club Freeport
Can I Insure A Boat I Don’t Own
The boat rental market is expected to exceed $19.7 billion by 2030. Boating has become a popular pastime, but not everyone is in the market to buy. If you’re renting a boat you may still want to have protection in the event of an accident.
Similar to renting a car, your boat rental agreement will list what damage you would be responsible for in an accident.
Most companies offer protection to be purchased along with the boat rental, but you can also check with your insurance company to see if your homeowners insurance extends to watercraft. Boating accidents cause millions of dollars in damage every year.
Total damage caused by recreational boating accidents in the US
Boat Insurance Basics: Whats Covered
Learn about boat owners insurance and what the coverage means to you.
Did you know that boat insurance is one of the earliest known forms of insurance? Ancient sailors knew firsthand about the risks of a life at sea and sought to insure their boats against hurricanes and other unpredictable weather and waters. And it still applies today.
Boat insurance policies can vary widely in what they do and do not cover based on a number of considerations, including the type of boat, the waters it will traffic, and how many months of the year the boat will be used. Still, there are a few basic kinds of coverage you can expect to receive, as well as some potential discounts for safe boaters.
Also Check: How To Clean Vinyl Boat Seats Of Mildew
Don’t Miss: Mildew Cleaner For Vinyl
What States Require Boat Insurance
As of right now, only two states have boat insurance lawsâArkansas and Utah. In Arkansas, all motorboats powered by engines of more than 50 horsepower, and all PWC, must be covered by a liability insurance policy. The policy must provide at least $50,000 of liability coverage, and it is illegal to operate the PWC without the required insurance.
In Utah, all motorboats and PWC are required to carry ownerâs or operatorâs liability insurance when operated on Utah waters. Motorboats equipped with engines less than 50 horsepower and airboats are exempt. It is illegal to operate a PWC on Utah waters without the required insurance.
Utahâs boat insurance policy requires the following minimum coverage limits per occurrence:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person.
- $50,000 for total bodily injury if multiple people are hurt in the accident.
- $15,000 for property damage.
There are some instances of states requiring insurance for boats used in some state parks or kept in some state-operated marinasâcheck with your state marine board or alternative governing agency to see if you are impacted.
What Is The Difference Between Comprehensive And Limited Boating Insurance
While both types of insurance provide the all-important liability coverage, comprehensive boating insurance provides protection against a far greater number of sources for damage. When you have named-perils coverage, you get a list of damage thats covered. On the other hand, when you have comprehensive coverage, you get a small list of incidents that arent covered while everything else is.
Since comprehensive insurance is only incrementally more expensive yet much more inclusive, it is the best choice for serious boaters.
Also Check: Mildew On Vinyl Boat Seats