New York Adventure License Program:
After successful completion of this course, you can choose to have your certification noted, as an anchor icon, on your NY Driverâs License or other identification document issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles . The advantage is that you no will longer need to carry your boating safety certificate with you when boating, provided you have your driverâs license with you. The New York State Adventure License costs $13.50
For more information click on the link below to be taken to New Yorkâs Adventure license page:
Take The Boating Course Online
Take the official BOATsmart! Course online and watch, listen and learn on any device. Our animated, narrated and brilliantly illustrated boating course puts you right in the Captains seat. Everything you need to pass the New York Boating Safety Test and boat with confidence included.
- Made for boaters, by boaters
- Designed for all ages and abilities
- Study at your own pace, your progress is tracked automatically
- Optimized for all devices, including mobile
The State Boating Safety Certificate
The State Boating Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a State Boating Safety Certificate must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
Don’t Miss: What Wakeboard Boat To Buy
Need To Take A Ny Boating Safety Course This Year What You Need To Know
Need to take a New York State-approved boater safety course?
Last year a new state law took effect, mandating that all motor boat operators, regardless of age, will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2025. The legislation includes a five-year, phase in plan.
Both online and in-classroom boater safety courses are currently available, according to Brian Nearing, a spokesman for the state Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation, which oversees the courses. Last year, the vast majority of courses taken were online. That trend will undoubtedly continue this coming year.
As for in-classroom safe boating courses, they may now resume in counties that are in Phase 4 re-opening, according to the Parks website. Contact the instructor listed to confirm if the course you are interested in attending is still being offered. Students must wear face coverings during courses whenever social distancing cannot be maintained.
The legislation, called Briannas Law was signed into law in 2019 and took effect Jan. 1, 2020. Prior passage of this law, only boaters born on or after May 1, 1996 were required to complete a boater safety course.
Briannas Law expanded that requirement. Under the 5-year phase-in plan:
*All motor boat operators born on or after Jan. 1, 1993 needed a boating safety certificate beginning in 2020
*Those born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2022
How We Chose The Best Online Boater Safety Courses
Extensive online research revealed that although there are many websites offering online boater safety courses, many redirect to one of the providers listed in this article. Therefore, we decided to focus on companies that offer courses themselves rather than outsourcing them. We also prioritized those that are approved by NASBLA and recognized by the Coast Guard, and that operate in as many states as possible. We found that some providers, like BoatTests101, appear to offer courses in every state but in reality have yet to launch in most areas.
You May Like: Boat Dealers In Jackson Ms
Complete The Course In Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, its easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
How Can I Get My New York Boating License
You can obtain your New York State Boating Safety Certificate in 3 easy steps:
You May Like: Where Can I Junk My Boat
Do I Have To Take An Online Exam
The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the Certification Exam to pass. You have 2 attempts to pass the Certification Exam. If you do not pass the exam in the 2 attempts given, you will be required to repeat the entire course. If you dont complete the exam in one session, dont worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
New York Age And Operator Restrictions
- All operators of motorized vessels will need a New York State Boating Safety Certificate by Jan. 1, 2025.
- A person under the age of 10 years may operate a recreational boat if he or she is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who either has a New York State Boating Safety Certificate or is not required to have a certificate.
A person 10 years of age or older may operate a recreational boat only if he or she carries the New York State Boating Safety Certificate on board, if required.
- A person at least 14 years old may operate a PWC only if he or she:
- Has passed a boating safety course approved by the New York State Parks and
- Carries the New York State Boating Safety Certificate on board the PWC or is accompanied on board.
Recommended Reading: How Much Are Boat Clubs
Q: Can I Take The Boat Safety Course On
A8: Yes. However, after successful completion of the internet portion of the course, the student will have to complete an in-person, proctored exam. The Marine Services Bureau cautions students, prior to beginning the on-line study, to check with the on-line course provider to insure they provide a testing location within driving distance from the students location.
New York State Requires Certain Boat Operators To Have A Boating Safety Certificate
New York State provides boating safety certificates to those individuals who successfully complete a New York State Safe Boating Classroom Course. New York State also recognizes the safety certificates issued by the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary, the US Power Squadron and the US Powerboating. Boating Safety Certificates from several online course providers are approved for New York State residents, such as BoatUS Foundation .
Read Also: Facebook Marketplace Boat For Sale
Official New York Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating licenseno timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the New York State Parks.
New York law requires all personal watercraft operators 14 years of age or older to have a State Boating Safety Certificate. As of Jan. 1, 2020, Briannas Law requires all motorboat operators born on or after Jan. 1, 1993, to carry the State Boating Safety Certificate. The law is being phased in over several years.
This course is approved by the state of New York and, once successfully completed, will result in your New York Boating License.
Q: What Is A Boat License
A2: It is an endorsement on your New Jersey Drivers License or ID card that allows you to operate a vessel on non-tidal waters. It is not a replacement for your Boating Safety Certificate, but an additional required document for non-tidal waters. Follow the link below to find out more information about Boat License requirements.View Non-Tidal Boat Operator License Requirements
Read Also: How To Install Boat Hatch Actuator
Best Free: Boatus Foundation
Why We Chose It: BoatUS Foundation was the obvious winner for this category since it is the only free online boater safety course sanctioned by the majority of state authorities.
Can be completed at your own pace
Accessible from any device with an internet connection
Not NASBLA-approved in every state
Participants receive a certificate, not a card
More time consuming than most other courses
BoatUS Foundation is a national nonprofit funded by grants and donations, and as such, it is able to offer online boater safety courses free of charge. In 35 states, these courses are approved by the relevant state agency and NASBLA and recognized by the Coast Guard. In the rest of the states, the course is not NASBLA-approved, but it can be used as a valuable refresher or to get a discount on your BoatUS insurance policy.
Simply enroll, study, and take the exam online. There are six lessons, each with a 10-question quiz. The final exam is comprised of 60 questions chosen at random. Once you pass it, you will be able to print out your own certificate of completion for free. BoatUS estimates that the course takes between four and eight hours to complete, with the ability to start and stop at will. Your progress will save automatically when you close your browser.
Q: I Am Visiting New Jersey Do I Need A Boat Safety Certificate
A3: To operate a vessel upon the waters of this State, an individual would need one of the following: a Boat Safety Certificate issued in their home State, a New Jersey Boat Safety Certificate, United States Coast Guard Captains License, or written proof of completion of a safety course approved by N.A.S.B.L.A. or one substantially similar to a New Jersey Course.
Also Check: How Much Does Tow Boat Us Cost
Boater Safety Course Signup
The Monroe County Sheriff’s Office is committed to bringing boaters safety awareness to the residents of Monroe County. To register for the Boater Safety Course, select the date below and click on the link to register. Follow all directions on the registration form. Please bring the following items with you for the class: Pen/Pencil, a bag lunch, and beverage. You must be at least 10 years-old to attend the course. Each course is limited to 15 persons per class.
All classes will be held at the Public Safety Training Facility, 1190 Scottsville Road, Rochester, NY, 14624, unless otherwise noted. Click to see map.
The courses are as follows:
Saturday, April 9, 2022 from 8am-4pm.
New York Boater Education Card Requirements
Anyone who operates a motor boat and who was born on or after . You must complete a New York approved boater safety course to get your certificate. All PWC Personal Watercraft operators must hold a New York State Parks approved boating certificate. The law will be phased in over the next 5 years:
If you were born on or after: You will need a boating safety certificate as of:
All operators of motorized vessels, regardless of age, will need a boating card by January 1, 2025.
Read Also: How To Dispose Of An Old Fiberglass Boat
Best For Paddlers: Boat Ed Paddlesports Safety Course
Boat Ed Paddlesports Safety Course
Why We Chose It: We chose Boat Eds Paddlesports Safety Course because it is NASBLA-approved and designed in partnership with the American Canoe Association .
Endorsed by NASBLA and the ACA
Can be completed on any device with internet
Unlimited exam attempts
Expensive for a course that isnt legally required
Not particularly interactive
Customer service availability is based on EST
Paddlesports education may not be a legal requirement, but people who plan on exploring their local waterway with a canoe, kayak, or stand-up paddleboard need to be familiar with state laws and regulations and should understand how to stay safe on the water. Boat Ed offers an easy way to achieve this with its paddlesports safety course, developed in conjunction with the American Canoe Association.
The course content is accessible from any device and can be completed in a single sitting in just a few hours, or broken up into smaller sessions to suit you. If you close your browser in the middle of the course, it will automatically save your progress. Unlimited exam attempts ensure that you get the result you want, after which you can print your online course completion document and head straight onto the water. There is no minimum age requirement or residential requirement to take this course. The cost is $29.50.
New State Archery Range Opens
The Saratoga Sand Plains Archery Range is now open.
The range, located in the Town of Wilton in Saratoga County, will provide recreational opportunities for bow hunters and archers, from novice to expert.
This is the Department of Environmental Conservations first-ever archery range. The 50-yard range has 16 targets, including eight adult lanes from 15 to 50 yards four youth lanes from five to 20 yards, and four elevated ranges up to 40 yards simulating tree stand shots.
The range will be open year-round. Information is available on the DEC website at www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/24418.html.
Read Also: Boat Slips For Sale Nj
Q: I Have A Boat Safety Certificate From Another State And I Am Moving To New Jersey Will New Jersey Issue A Certificate Based On That
A6: No. The Marine Services Bureau can only issue New Jersey Boat Safety Certificates for successfully completed approved New Jersey courses. However, some courses taught in Pennsylvania and New York States are approved as New Jersey safety courses. In this case, the instructor of the course will provide you with a New Jersey State Police Application for a Boat Safety Certificate to serve as your temporary Boat Safety Certificate. The Marine Services Bureau will send the instructor your permanent certificate for issuance to the student. If there is any question if this applies to your course, the matter has to be resolved by the course provider not the Marine Services Bureau.
Free Online Boating Safety Course For Ny
If you boat and fish in Suffolk County, NY, you have probably heard that new boating laws will be going into effect on November 6, 2013. The new regulations will require those who drive boats to take an approved boating safety course, pass an exam, and carry their boating safety certificate when operating a vessel on county waters. This shall come in addition to existing New York State boater education laws.
In order to promote awareness and compliance with these new laws, the Boat Owners Association of The United States is distributing free, one-page fact sheets through six Suffolk County West Marine Stores. These include the Huntington, West Babylon, West Islip, Patchogue, Port Jefferson and Riverhead locations. They are also available for download by visiting www.BoatUS.com.
According to BoatUS Government Affairs correspondent, Nicole Wood, BoatUS wants to take a proactive stance to help Suffolk boaters and their members understand the requirements so they have plenty of time to take a National Association of Boating Law Administrators approved boating safety course. She also prefaced that a free BoatUS Foundation Online Boating Safety Course now being offered satisfies the new requirements for those 18 and older. Boaters can enroll for this free course by visiting BoatUS.org.
For a list of NASBLA-approved Suffolk County courses visit: www.nysparks.com.
Also Check: How To Sell Boat With Lien On It
Free Nys Boating Safety Classes:
The Great Sacandaga Lake Association provides NYS Boating Safety classes during the boating season. The 8-hour course provides successful participants with a NYS Boating Safety certificate.
The GSLA class is offered as a member benefit to GSLA members depending on membership type. An individual would normally be charged $55 for the course. An individual membership in the GSLA entitles the member to one free course. A family membership provides FREE courses to the members family . The benefit is a good one for the member and great for boater safety on the Great Sacandaga!
Join now because GSLA members receive an exclusive member-only PRIOR e-notice of the class schedule. Membership fees can be paid using PayPal.
Take A Boating Safety Course
Courses are available both in person and online so that you can choose the course the best fits your needs.
Classroom courses are offered around the state by our certified and experienced instructors. Classroom courses are a great opportunity for boaters of all ages, especially first time and youth boaters, to earn their certificates. Please note that some instructors may charge an instructional fee. Fees paid to your instructor do not include the fee for a permanent certificate for students age 18 and older.
With an approved online course, learning is completed online and successful completion of unit exams is required in order to advance through the course. Fees paid to the online provider include the cost of your permanentcertificate issued by the provider.
Registering for a classroom course is quick and easy – follow the below links to find a course.
Please refer to for more information about online boating education courses
You May Like: What Is Freedom Boat Club
New York State Adventure License
If you have a lifetime recreation certificate or sporting license, your New York State Driver License can now become an all-purpose boating, fishing, hunting andparks ID card. Anyone successfully completing the New York Safe Boating Course orapproved online boating safety course may opt to have the anchor icon placed on your NYS DMV issues document. DMV will maintain a record of your having completed the boating safety course, and automatically place the icon onyour license each time it is renewed.
The advantage to this program is that you will no longer need to carry your boating safety certificate with you when boating, provided you have your DMV credential with you. DMV will maintain a record of your having completed the boating safety course, and automatically place the icon on your license each time it is renewed.
If you would like a new driver’s license issued immediately, the cost is $12.50. If you would like to wait until your next, regularly scheduled license renewal, there is no charge. There are several ways to apply:
If you took a New York State Parks Classroom Course:
- For payments for your new DMV license, go to the NYS Parks Adventure License.
- For check or money order payments for your new DMV license, please use this form.
- If you are currently taking or are about to take your classroom course, your instructor will provide the necessary paperwork.
If you took an online safe boating course:
Please refer to for more information before you call DMV.