Boating Safety And Education
While Florida does not have a boating license, anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 is required to either have successfully completed a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators approved boating education course or have passed an equivalent course or temporary certificate examination. Additionally, they must have in their possession a boating education ID card and a photo identification card before operating a vessel with a motor of ten horsepower or more in Florida.
Florida visitors must comply with the boating safety education requirements. If a non-resident can show proof of having successfully completed a boater safety course or equivalent exam that meets or exceeds Floridas requirements , a Florida Boating Safety Education Identification Card is not required.
Visitors wanting to rent a vessel while in Florida may obtain a temporary certificate. These certificates are issued by vendors around the state. Visit www.myfwc.com for a list of approved vendors. The temporary certificate is valid for 90 days and is not intended to be a permanent replacement for the Boating Safety Education Identification Card.
For more information on Florida boating laws, boating safety and the Florida Boating Safety Education Program, visit www.myfwc.com.
Youre In Thecaptains Seat
BOATsmart! has been educating boaters since 2003 and is proud to be North Americas Largest independent course provider. Our courses are designed and developed from the ground up in North America for boaters, by real boaters. Each BOATsmart! Course is approved and accredited to prepare boaters to obtain their State Approved Boater Education Card, and all BOATsmart! courses are 100% narrated, illustrated and animated.
Frequently Asked Questions For The Boating Safety Education Requirements
I was born on or after Jan. 1, 1988, and want to operate a boat in Florida. Do I need a license?
In order to operate a motorboat of ten horsepower or greater, Florida law requires anyone who was born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 to successfully complete an approved boating safety course and obtain a Boating Safety Education Identification Card issued by the FWC.
Florida does not have a “boating license.” The Boating Safety Education Identification Card is proof of successful completion of the educational requirements and is valid for life.
I’ve heard there were some changes in the law regarding the requirements to operate a boat in Florida. What were the changes?
Effective Jan. 1, 2010, boat operators who were born on or after Jan. 1, 1988, must have a Florida Boating Safety Education Identification Card to operate a motorboat with 10 horsepower or more. The requirement to take an approved boating safety course and to obtain an FWC-issued identification card did not change, but the age threshold for the educational requirements is now be based on whether or not you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1988.
- The new law also created an exemption from the educational requirements for an operator if he or she is operating a vessel within 90 days after the purchase of that vessel and has available for inspection aboard that vessel a bill of sale meeting all the requirements as established in Chapter 328.46, Florida Statutes.
Recommended Reading: How Much Boat Can I Afford
Official Florida Boater Safety Course
The fastest way to get your boating licenseno timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
You need boating education in Florida if you were born on or after January 1, 1988, and you will be operating a motorized boat of 10 hp or more.
This course is approved by the state of Florida and, once successfully completed, will result in your Florida Boating License.
Complete The Course In Under 3 Hours
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, its easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours!
Also Check: Boat Storage West Palm Beach
Florida Boaters Id Test Answers
Questions and Answers for the Boater Test
1. Two boats are operating in the same general area. Who is responsible for avoiding a collision?
D. the operator of the smaller vessel
2. What is the best way to avoid overloading your boat?
C. Dont exceed the limits listed on the capacity plate.
3. When you see red flag or buoy with a white diagonal stripe , you must:
D. Both A and C
4. Florida law requires a person born on or after January 1, 1988, who is operating a boat powered by a motor of 10 horsepower or greater on Florida waters to:
A. Successfully complete an approved boating safety course and to obtaining have on board a Florida Boating Safety Education ID Card and Photographic ID card.
5. What piece of equipment on a boat is most important in preventing propeller strike injuries?
B. Engine cut-off switch lanyard
6. A passenger on your boat falls overboard. What should you do FIRST?
A. Reduce speed, and throw the victim a PFD
7. What three ingredients are required to ignite a fire?
A. Oxygen, fuel, and heat
8. If you see a dead or distressed manatee, or one that is being harassed, you should:
A. report it to FWC Law Enforcement on VHF vChannel 16 or by phone at 1-888-404-3922
9. You see a buoy with both red and green bands. What does this buoy mark?
A. The junction of two channels
10. You see a white buoy with an orange square and black lettering. What does this buoy tell you?
A. Keep out
Which side of a boat has a red light at night?
How To Get Started:
First, Click Education Requirements above to verify state requirements and then click Certificate/Card Info to learn what options are available for your state. For a brief tutorial and getting familiar with our new system
Complete the Course in Three Easy Steps:
Enroll yourself in a Boating Safety Course from the Course Catalog
Study and pass the FREE Boating Safety Course.
Print out your certificate of completion yourself for free
Get Started Today! Start Now
Don’t Miss: How Do You Get Rid Of An Old Boat
Study As Many Times As You Need And Pass The Florida Boating Exam
You can study the free online course material at boat tests101. After completing the course online at your own leisure, youll then take the Florida Certification Exam. You take the exam as many times as you need to pass.
Pay once you pass!
After passing the boating you only pay a small $29.50 course fee. After which you will be given the option to print out a temporary ID card to show that you passed.
Receive Your Boater ID card
You will receive a Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card after you pass your boating exam. It will come in the mail, until then you can use the certificate of completion that you will receive at Boattests101.
Learning Boating safety
To help you improve your boating skills and to prepare you for the Certification Exam, the boattests101 website has many practice tests covering all boating exam questions.
Study Tests over and over:
The practice study tests cover all the boater safety topics that will be on the boating exam.
If you dont pass the boating exam the first time, youll just go back and study the practice test again until youre ready to pass the final boating exam.
Take the Final Boating Certification Exam:
After completing all boating exam practice tests, youll have the option to proceed directly to the boating certification exam.
Both the practice exam and the final boating certification exam cover all the course material and will assess your knowledge of boating safely on Florida waters.
The Boating Safety Education Id Card
The Boating Safety Education I.D. Card is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boating Safety Education I.D. Card must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
You May Like: Destin Boat Rentals Crab Island
Now Is The Time To Take A Class
It may not feel like boating season yet, but the BoatUS Foundation for Safety & Clean Water urges boaters to enroll in a boating education course.”We recommend that boaters get educated prior to the kickoff of the boating season to make the most of your time on the water,” says Amanda Suttles Pérez, Director of Education for the BoatUS Foundation.
“Statistics show that taking a boating education course will make you a better and safer boater,” she explains. “Even seasoned boaters can spend the off season brushing up on their knowledge of safe boat operation.”
As an incentive, the Foundation is offering 25% off all its specialized courses purchased through March 31, 2020, using the code SPRING25 . In addition, the Foundation will also offer $25 off any BoatUS Foundation on-water training courses purchased during the same time period .
While the courses are designed to educate, Pérez notes certain questions seem to consistently get the better of test-takers. She hears grumbling from some students, but there’s only one correct answer.
Can you get them right? Test your knowledge with these 10 questions most often answered incorrectly. You’ll find the correct answers at the end of the article.
1. Air moves from ______________ to ______________?a. East to west
Florida Age And Operator Restrictions
- No one under the age of 14 years may operate a personal watercraft on Florida waters at any time, even if such person possesses a Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card.
- No one under the age of 18 years may rent/lease a PWC.
- It is illegal for the owner of a PWC to knowingly allow a person under 14 years of age to operate a PWC.
You May Like: What Kind Of Boat For Wakesurfing
The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course In Florida
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
Official course provider approved by:
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission 620 S. Meridian Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600
We Look At The Top 10 Questions Students Answer Incorrectly On A Variety Of Boatus Foundation Online Course Tests How Does Your Knowledge Stack Up
The BoatUS Foundation for Boating Safety and Clean Water promotes safe, clean, and responsible boating. The nonprofit arm of BoatUS provides educational outreach to boaters and anglers with the purpose of reducing accidents and fatalities, increasing stewardship of America’s waterways, and keeping boating safe for all.
To that end, the Foundation offers a range of online and on-water boating safety training courses including 36 free state courses that can be found at BoatUS.org/Courses. More than 171,000 people took the free boating certification courses last year.
Beyond the free courses, the Foundation offers 14 specialized courses for a fee ranging from $8.50 to $40, including Modern Marine Navigation, How to Use GPS, and Planning Your Cruise.
“Our students often start with the basic course and get excited to learn more,” says Amanda Suttles Pérez, the Foundation’s Director of Education. “With all the courses we offer, there is something for everyone, whether your interests are offshore cruising, inland boating, sail, or power we have courses to help you expand your knowledge and grow in confidence.”
Read Also: How To Register Homemade Boat
Save On Boat Insurance
Weve partnered with Global Marine Insurance to bring you a fast, convenient way to protect your investment and hit the water with peace of mind. Global Marines boat insurance experts work with the major insurance carriers to find you the coverage you need at the best rates, it couldnt be easier. Get your quote and start saving today!
How Do I Get My Florida Card
If you prefer to receive a one-time-only, plastic version of your Florida Boater Card, check the corresponding box at the bottom of your profile form before you complete the course. Allow 6-8 weeks to receive your plastic card. Otherwise, Florida will email your permanent, electronic card within 72 hours of course completion.
If you have questions about your card, please reach out to the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission directly at [email protected].â¨
Read Also: What Battery Should I Get For My Boat
Exemptions To Florida Boater Education Requirements
Operators are exempt from needing to get their boating license if they are:
- Licensed by the U.S. Coast Guard as a master of a vessel
- Operating on a private lake or pond
- Accompanied on board by a person who is exempt from the education requirement or by a person who is at least 18 years old, possesses the required identification cards, and is attendant to the operation of the vessel and responsible for any violation that occurs
- Operating a vessel within 90 days after purchase and have a bill of sale on board and available for inspection