Renewing Your Wisconsin Boat Registration
A Wisconsin boat registration renewal will need to be completed every three years. Vessel registration renewal can be completed in person at a DNR office, online or by mail. Registering a boat online during the renewal period requires a DNR customer number, mailing address, boat registration number and payment via credit card.
Renewing a registration through mail means payment and the renewal notice will need to be sent to the specified DNR office. If there is no notice, boaters will need to complete a Boat Registration and Titling Application form. In-person renewal requires the renewal notice and payment to be presented at a Department of Natural Resource office.
Boating Season Is Not That Far Away Now Is The Time To Get Ready
Check your boat decals now. If they have expired or are missing, you can renew your registration or request replacement decals using DNR’s Online Registration System at dnr.wi.gov, click on Register boat/ATV/snowmobile under Quick Tasks. It’s fast it’s easy and you will have your new decals in hand before the ice melts!
Boat owners whose boat registration expires this March, and who renew renew online before February 10th will not have to watch their mail for renewal coupons. However, if you prefer to renew your registration by mail, you will receive a renewal coupon before your boat expires.
Wishing you a safe and fun-filled boat season! Visit the DNR’s webpage to find more information about boating in Wisconsin, just enter “boat” in the keyword search.
Wisconsin Kayaking Laws Summary
That only summarizes Wisconsin boating laws as they are applied to kayaking and canoeing. The details are more in-depth and specific. Read on to find out how to paddle legally in Wisconsin.
Amazon and Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some of the links below are affiliate links, which means we will earn a commission on the products or services you purchase using the links.
You May Like: Freedom Boat Club Costs 2021
Wisconsin Kayaking Sounding Devices Laws
Do I need a whistle on a kayak in Wisconsin? Yes. Vessels less than 39.4 feet in length must have some means of making an efficient sound signal. A human voice is not acceptable.
The best sounding device for kayakers and canoeists is a whistle attached to your PFD in a place thats quick and easy to deploy.
Heres what we consider to be the best whistle for kayaking.
Requirements For Boater Registration In Wisconsin
Before registering a boat in Wisconsin, applicants are required to provide proper titling for boats over 16 feet in length. When a boat is bought through a dealership, the dealer will apply for the title. Vessel registration requires a registration and certificate of title application be completed, proof of ownership like a boat bill of sale and payment of applicable fees.
Documents can be mailed or dropped off to a DNR office. Wisconsin boaters can photocopy his or her application to use as a temporary registration until the official one arrives. First time registration requires information on the manufacturer, hull material, type of propulsion, HIN, model, year and proof that sales taxes have been paid.
You May Like: Boat Registration Colorado
Can I Drink And Boat
State law says you can’t be under the influence of alcohol or drugs while behind the wheel, whether you’re on a boat or in a car. The law also says that once you’ve gotten behind the wheel, you automatically give consent to a breathalyzer test or other OWI tests.
It’s safest to designate someone to pilot the boat sober if you plan on bringing alcohol aboard.
Bonus: You also can’t drink and surfboard, or drink and water ski according to Wisconsin state law.
Wisconsin Kayaking Oui Laws
Can you get a DUI on a kayak in Wisconsin? Yes. Wisconsins OUI law prohibits anyone from operating any vessel under the influence of alcohol or drugs. You can get the equivalent of a DUI, an OUI in Wisconsin with a Blood Alcohol Content of 0.08%, or if under the influence of controlled drugs or other substances when operating any motorized vessel.
Related Article: Can You Get a DUI on a Kayak?
Don’t Miss: Freedom Boat Club Tampa Cost
Minnesota Boat Registration Fees
When registering a boat in Minnesota, you will be required to pay a fee depending on the size and nature of your vessel. Boat registration fees are higher for larger vessels and cheaper for smaller ones. In addition to the base fee, you will need to pay a small issuing fee and invasive aquatic species charge as well. Below is the base fee schedule for some of the more popular types of watercraft:
- Personal Watercraft $37.50
- Kayaks, Canoes, and Sailboats $10.50
- Small Pleasure Craft $18
- Leased or Rented Personal Watercraft $37.50
- Commercial Vessel Registration $75
If you are registering a boat by mail, you must send a check made payable to the Deputy Registrar of Motor Vehicles cash will not be accepted. If you register in person, you may pay with a check, cash or a major credit card. The issuing fee changes periodically, so boaters will need to check the Minnesota state website for a current fee schedule. Fees for larger and less common watercraft can also be found on the same site. Boaters who still do not know how to register a boat can study for their boating safety exam beforehand.
Updating Your Contact Information
It is important the department has your updated address on file so you receive registration renewal notices and other registration materials sent by the Department. State law requires boat owners to notify the department within 15 days after moving. )
To update your contact information you can log into your DNR GoWILD customer account. After logging in, you will be asked to verify or edit your address and contact information.
If you have difficulties accessing your DNR GoWILD account, you may also . We ask that you include your customer ID number , first and last name, date of birth, old address, new address, phone number and email address.
Don’t Miss: How To Clean Mildew Off Boat Seats
What Is The Age Limit For Piloting A Boat
There are different age limits for various types of watercraft.
Kids under 10 are not allowed to operate motorboats. At 10 and 11, they’re allowed to pilot motorboats if someone is with them who either has boat safety certification or was born before 1989. Once someone turns 12, he or she can receive their boating safety certification.
Kids under 12 are not allowed to operate personal watercraft such as jet skis. Kids 12 and over can pilot a personal watercraft as long as they’re certified. However, you have to be at least 16 years old to rent or lease a personal watercraft.
Which Boats Require Registration
Requirements for vessel registration vary from state to state. In Wisconsin, you must have a Wisconsin Certificate of Number and expiration decals to operate a recreational vessel legally. Exceptions to the requirement to register a recreational vessel include:
- Sailboats 12 feet in length or less and not equipped with a motor and sailboards
- Manually propelled vessels not equipped with a motor or sail
- Vessels properly registered in another state and using Wisconsin waters for less than 60 consecutive days
- Unit 4 of 6
Recommended Reading: Does Minnesota Require Boat Insurance
Boater Safety Courses In Minnesota
After completing the MN registration process, you will have the option to take a safety education class. Even if you have a boat registration, you will need to complete this course if you wish to receive your operator permit. After you finish registering a boat, you may take an approved course either online on in person. Before you enroll, be sure that your course is approved by the Department of Natural Resources.
Do You Need Insurance On A Boat In Wisconsin
Though several states require boat owners to carry insurance, Wisconsin does not require coverage, except in the case of commercial fishing boats. However, vessels such as bass boats or cabin cruisers can be rather expensive, and a comprehensive Wisconsin boat insurance policy can protect your investment.
How To Create An Esignature For The January 2020 Wisconsin Boat Registration And Titling Application Form 9400 193 On Ios
To sign a wisconsin boat registration form right from your iPhone or iPad, just follow these brief guidelines:
After its signed its up to you on how to export your wisconsin dnr boat registration: download it to your mobile device, upload it to the cloud or send it to another party via email. The signNow application is just as productive and powerful as the web tool is. Get connected to a smooth connection to the internet and start completing documents with a legally-binding eSignature within a few minutes.
Do You Need A Title For A Boat In Wisconsin
What boats are titled in Wisconsin. Effective February 1, 1989, the owner of a boat, 16 feet in length or greater, in Wisconsin, whether or not the boat is operated on the waters of this state, is required to hold a certificate of title.
Recommended Reading: How Long Are Boat Loans Usually
Wi Boats Requiring Title & Registration
ALL motorized boats AND ALL sailboats more than 12 feet in length must register with Wisconsin’s Department of Natural Resources.
Boats that are exemptfrom registration in Wisconsin include:
- Boats from another country temporarily in Wisconsin.
- Ships’ lifeboats.
- Non-motorized sailboats 12 feet or less in length.
- Manually propelled watercraft, like canoes, kayaks, and rowboats.
- Boats registered with a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band.
- Non-recreational vessels owned by an entity of the U.S. government or military.
- Any boat registered in another state and using Wisconsin waters for no more than 60 consecutive days.
Additionally, you must title any motorized vessel with a 1988 or newer registration, measuring 16 feet or longer.
If you aren’t sure about whether your boat requires a Wisconsin registration and/or title, give the Department of Natural Resources a call at 936-7463 for assistance.
Do You Have To Register A Boat In Wisconsin
In Wisconsin, you must have a Wisconsin Certificate of Number and expiration decals to operate a recreational vessel legally. Exceptions to the requirement to register a recreational vessel include: Sailboats 12 feet in length or less and not equipped with a motor and sailboards.
Also Check: What Is My Pontoon Boat Worth
Wisconsin Boat Registration Fees
Boat registration fees are contingent on the boat type, length and place of purchase. Boaters are also required to pay a 5 percent sales tax when purchasing a water vessel. Wisconsin boat registration fees are used to keep the waterways safe and clean for all boaters.
Registering a boat in WI also contributes to the education of knowledgeable boat operation in the state. The current schedule for motorized boats is as follows:
- Under 16 feet $27 and $22 when renewing
- 16 feet to 26 feet $37 and $32 when renewing
- 26 feet to 40 feet $65 and $60 when renewing
- Any boat over 40 feet $105 and $100 when renewing
Exemptions From Registration And Titling In Minnesota
Before you begin the boat registration process in Minnesota, it is helpful to know what can and cannot be registered. You must register all motorized and non-motorized vessels. However, documented vessel registration is not required for the following types of boats.
- Rice boats
- Duck boats
You do not need to complete registration if you will be in possession of a watercraft that has been registered in another state for less than 90 days. Individuals are also not required to register vessels from foreign countries that they will be in possession of for less than 90 days. Canoe registration must be handled with the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources.
Don’t Miss: How To Get Mold Stains Out Of Boat Seats
Wisconsin Specific Registration Laws
Please review your state specific requirements before purchasing identification decals as they do vary from state to state. Our designer is setup to comply with the general requirements above. If you require a specific requirement not in our designer, just leave a comment at checkout and we’ll adust your design . Wisconsin provides an easy to read pdf of boating regulationHere.
How To Make An Electronic Signature For Putting It On The January 2020 Wisconsin Boat Registration And Titling Application Form 9400 193 In Gmail
Below are five simple steps to get your wisconsin boat registration form eSigned without leaving your Gmail account:
The sigNow extension was developed to help busy people like you to reduce the stress of putting your signature on documents. Begin putting your signature on wisconsin dnr boat registration using our tool and join the millions of happy customers whove already experienced the advantages of in-mail signing.
Don’t Miss: Does Illinois Require Boat Insurance
Apply For Wi Vessel Title & Registration
After purchasing a vessel, you have 10 days to submit a title/registration application to the DNR.
If you’re applying for a Wisconsin registration ONLY you can submit an application online through the Department of Natural Resources Go Wild portal. You will need to create an account AND provide the necessary payment for WI boat registration fees.
If your watercraft requirestitle AND registration ORyou’d prefer not to use Go Wild for registration, you can submit a title/registration application in person OR by mail. To do so, begin by gathering:
- P.O. Box 78701
- Milwaukee, WI 53278
Once the DNR receives your application, they’ll give you a temporary operating receipt, which you can use to operate your boat while waiting for your official title and/or registration to arrive by mail.
Wisconsin vessel registrations are valid for 3 years and expires on March 31st of the final registration year.
How To Generate An Esignature For Your January 2020 Wisconsin Boat Registration And Titling Application Form 9400 193 In The Online Mode
Follow the step-by-step instructions below to eSign your wisconsin boat registration form:
After that, your wisconsin dnr boat registration is ready. All you have to do is download it or send it via email. signNow makes eSigning easier and more convenient since it provides users with numerous extra features like Invite to Sign, Add Fields, Merge Documents, and many others. And because of its multi-platform nature, signNow can be used on any gadget, PC or mobile, regardless of the OS.
Recommended Reading: How Do I Register My Boat In Colorado
Wisconsin Boat Registration Number Display Requirements
The vessel must display the boat number and expiration decal as stated below.
- Both port and starboard sides of the bow must display the registration number.
- Registration number must read from left to right on both port and starboard sides of the bow.
- Boat number must be in at least three inch high BLOCK letters.
- Color of numbers must contrast with the background as to appear legible. Two-toned and camouflage numbers are not allowed .
- The letters must be separated from the numbers by a space measuring at least two inches wide. example: WS 1024 AB
- The boat expiration decal must be three inches behind and in line with the number .
To register your boat/watercraft for the state of Wisconsin or to read more about Wisconsin Boat Number Registration Decal Display Laws, you can visit the boat registration and titling page of Wisconsins DNR website using this link
Boater Safety Course In Wisconsin
Boat registration requirements state that any boat operator born after January 1, 1989 will need to attend a boater safety course before operating a water vessel. DNR offers third party online courses at the convenience of boaters. Classroom courses that will meet new boat registration requirements are offered in March, April, May and June.
Prior to signing up for class, students will need to obtain a DNR customer ID through a DNR office. The course will cover topics like navigation, non-lateral markets, handling boating emergencies. There will be a 25-question certification exam that needs to be passed with at least 80 percent score before obtaining a temporary certificate.
Note: A permanent boating certificate will later be mailed to the boater.
Don’t Miss: Suntex Boat Club Cost
Wisconsin Kayak Life Jacket Laws
Do you need a life jacket to kayak in Wisconsin? Yes. All canoes, kayaks, and paddleboards must have on board one USCG approved wearable PFD for each person on board, and all persons 13 years of age and under must wear a properly sized coast guard approved life jacket while underway in an open vessel on federally controlled waters.
General Information About Numbers
We have put together a collection of information for Wisconsin residents seeking to purchase boat registration numbers. This page contains information you’ll need to know before designing your own lettering.
- A minimum of 3″ letter height
- A block style font such as
- Generally located on the forward hull portion of the boat next to the DNR tag
- A contrasting color to base color of your boat.
- Letters separated by a space or a dash
You May Like: Do You Need Boat Insurance In Nebraska