Thursday, June 30, 2022

Where Can I Register My Boat In New Hampshire

Replacing Your New Hampshire Boat Registration

REGISTERING A BOAT

The steps to replace a boat registration in New Hampshire are similar to those for registration renewal, except you must complete and submit an Application for Replacement Boat Decals form. It is important to know how to replace your registration in New Hampshire, so you can replace it if it is lost or too damaged to use. Carrying proper registration verification is required by law any time a watercraft is in operation.

Note: You cannot replace a boat registration online at this time, but you may mail your form to the address listed above or submit it at a DMV office.

How Much Does It Cost To Register A Boat In New Hampshire

The registration fee of your boat is determined by the boats size. If the boat is within the length range of 16 feet to 21 feet, you will have to spend 34 dollars. For 45 feet and above boat length, the registration charge will be 92 dollars. In case of transfer and renewal of registration certificate, the respective authority will charge some extra money. You can pay them with credit cards, debit cards, checks, money orders, etc.

Requirements For Boater Registration In New Hampshire

The requirements to register a boat in New Hampshire begin with finding out which types of vessels require registration. The vessels owner must complete the registration form numbered DSMV 157A and submit it to the NH DMV.

New Hampshire boat registration instructions state that all motorized vessels must be registered, even those using motors as a secondary mode of propulsion, regardless of length. Sailboats and sailboards longer than 12 must also conform to NH boat registration guidelines to be legally operated on state waters.

When applying for a boat registration make sure to bring the following documents:

  • Proof of ownership, usually via a bill of sale or dealers receipt.
  • Your NH driver license or state-issued photo ID card.
  • Verification of Vessel Identity completed by a law enforcement officer, if your hull identification number needs an inspection.
  • Payment for your NH registration fees.

You may present your NH boat registration form and other documents in person at certain DMV offices or at authorized boat agents located throughout the state. If it is more convenient, you may submit your NH boat registration application by mailing to the Concord DMV:

NH Department of SafetyDMV  Boat Registrations23 Hazen Dr.Concord, NH 03305

You May Like: How To Register Boat In Missouri

Where Do I Register My Boat

A good place to start is right here on Discover Boatingjust visit our Boat Registration page, which allows you to start the registration process online. In most states, you can also register a boat with the Department of Motor Vehicles. In some cases it may be with the Department of Fish and Game, the Department of Licensing, or the Department of Natural Resources . A boat can be officially registered in only one state.

First Time Registration Of A New Or New To You Boat

Can I Get My New Hampshire Boating License Online ...

You must provide proof of ownership to register a boat in any of the following forms:

  • Properly executed bill of sale, OR
  • A title, OR a certificate of origin, OR a manufacturers statement of origin, OR
  • A registration signed over to the new owner by the previous owner
  • Your boat must have a Hull Identification Number . Any boats manufactured after 1972 with a short or no HIN, homemade boats, and boats that do not have a compliant HIN must be inspected only by a NH marine patrol officer or a NH law enforcement officer. You may print a Verification of Vessel Identification RDMV690 for the officer to complete.

    To transfer a registration to another boat:
    • The primary owner of the old boat and the primary owner of the new boat must be the same.
    • You must have the original current registration for the boat you are transferring from. Copies will not be accepted. This gets surrendered at the time of the transfer.
    • You must have the proper proof of ownership for the new boat.
    To renew your boat registration, you must have one of the following:
    • The previous boat registration, OR
    • The mail-in renewal notice mailed to you by the State.

    Renewals may be done in person by the owners family members. No permission form is needed.

    • Online boat registration renewals are not permitted by the State at this time.
    • We can accept $100 bills ONLY if it is part of the exact amount due. We do not keep sufficient change to break a $100 bill for DMV and Tax Payment transactions.

    Read Also: How To Clean Vinyl Boat Seats Of Mildew

    What Information Is Required To Register A Boat In New Hampshire

    Well, you need to prove your ownership of the boat to the respective authority in New Hampshire. Show them the bill of sale, boat manufacturers papers, tax forms of property and sales tax, etc. You must collect the registration application form from the counter and fill it with proper information. Provide the details regarding your boats size, weight, year of manufacturing, and so on in that application form. Finally, submit it to the counter.

    Boat Liens Database In New Hampshire

    Security interests in are not recoded because this state does not issue titles yet. Security interests in boats that are neither titled or USCG documented are recorded with the Secretary of State as Uniform Commercial Code filings. If the vessel is USCG documented, a lenders security interests will be recorded with the National Vessel Documentation Center and are indexed on the boats abstract of title. This is different from state registration lookups and can be ordered at boat-abstract.com.

    Tax liens may be flagged on boat registration records, recorded as UCC filings, shown on state revenue records, or filed with a county clerks office. There are no provisions for recording mechanics liens or other non-secured claims against state titled boats. Uniform Commercial Code searches are available online from the Secretary of State.

    Read Also: How To Register Boat In Missouri

    New Hampshire Boat Registration Basics

    All motorized vessels of any size and all sailboats and sailboards 12 fees or longer must have boat registration stickers before they can be operated in New Hampshire waters. You can complete the registration process at a Department of Motor Vehicles office or most marinas, sports shops and town halls. However, make sure to call the location beforehand to ensure that boat registrations can be completed there.

    To complete the registration, you must show proof of ownership, such as a bill of sale document, and a photo ID. You will then be required to pay any applicable registration fees. The exact fees will vary based on the length of the watercraft. Ensure that you have all necessary documents on-hand and adequate payment for the fee before you start the registration process.

    New Hampshire Boating Rules And Regulations

    Registering A Boat In Arkansas, Finally Legal !!

    There many strict boating laws that everyone must abide by in order to stay safe and avoid serious consequences. These rules include a minimum age for boat operation, requirements for necessary boating equipment and more. As a few examples, New Hampshire boating regulations include that:

    • No child 12 years of age or under can operate or be transported on a vessel upon the public waters of the state without a U.S. Coast Guard-approved personal flotation device.
    • No one younger than 16 years of age shall operate a motorized vessel with more than 25 horsepower on the public waters of the state unless accompanied by someone 18 years of age or older who holds a valid education certificate.
    • No one can operate a powerboat upon any state waters in a negligent or careless way or so that the lives and safety of the public are endangered.
    • No one can operate or sell any marine engines that are capable of being operated in a manner which exceeds the noise levels specified for that type of vessel.

    In addition to the boating rules listed above, there are many more laws that must be abided by when operating watercraft in New Hampshire. To learn more about those rules and laws, you can enroll in a safety course.

    You May Like: Ri Boat Registration Numbers

    New Hampshire Boater Safety Courses

    There are a few different types of boat license course options that can choose from in order to get your certificate in New Hampshire. These program options include:

    • New Hampshire Classroom Course: This in-person, instructor-led class is offered through the New Hampshire Marine Patrol. You can select the date and time in which you would like to participate in the class. The course is approximately 7 and a half hours long, with the exam provided during the last hour of class time.
    • Online Course: Taking an online course allows you to complete the requirements at your own pace. After completing your course online, you must register for and pass a proctored examination.

    New Hampshire also accepts certificates from other states and programs as well, as long as they are approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators . Therefore, you may enroll in a course provided by the U.S. Power Squadron, U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary or another NASBLA-approved State agency.

    Regardless of which course you enroll in, upon successful completion of the boaters safety test you will be awarded a valid certificate. The information you learn in any of the courses is designed to prepare you for the exam, and typically includes topics such as boating safety equipment, boat navigation, handling emergency situations and laws and rules.

    Renewing And Replacing A New Hampshire Boating License

    If you are wondering, âDo boating licenses expire?â the answer to that question is that the safety certificates provided by education programs in New Hampshire do not have an expiration date.

    However, if your certificate was lost or destroyed, you must request a replacement. Do not operate any vessels over 25 horsepower on New Hampshire state waters if you do not have your certificate on-hand.

    The exact steps for getting a replacement vary depending on the program, so you must contact the agency that issued you your card in order to obtain a duplicate.

    Don’t Miss: How Do I Register My Boat With The Coast Guard

    New Hampshire Boat Registration Lookup

    The Boat-Alert.com database combines 68+ nationwide databases into a single place so you can search in a matter of minutes. These include records for stolen boats, marine lien claims, boating accidents, pollution incidents, auctioned boats, factory recalls, and boat manufacturers.

    Titling & Registration Requirements in New Hampshire

    • TITLING:

    Renewing Your New Hampshire Boat Registration

    Lake Tarleton Club Pike, NH

    If you are wondering how to renew a boat registration in New Hampshire, note that all NH registrations expire on December 31 of every year, regardless of when you first obtained the registration. Therefore, it is recommended that you obtain your initial registration early in the year so that you are not paying a full year of fees for just a few months of registration.

    You can obtain a boat registration renewal in New Hampshire by completing and returning the renewal notice along with a check payment for the renewal fee. You can deliver this in person at any DMV office, authorized boat agent or certified marina, or submit it by mail to the Hazen Drive address provided above.

    Recommended Reading: How To Clean Mildew Off Boat Seats

    How Old Do You Have To Be To Not Have A Boating License

    Operators of personal watercraft must be at least 14 years of age. Operator must be 15 yrs old and meet ID and education requirements or 16 yrs old or older with a valid motor vehicle drivers license to operate a motorboat with a motor greater than 10 hsp. Minimum age 12 to operate vessel over 10 h.p.

    Can an unlicensed person drive a boat?

    Unlicensed drivers may drive a boat provided a licensed driver is onboard supervising and is able to take immediate control of the boat. Unlicensed drivers must not operate boats while towing someone else by a line attached to the ship for example, someone waterskiing or riding a toboggan or tube.

    New Hampshire Age And Operator Restrictions

    • A person under the age of 16 years may operate a vessel powered by a motor of more than 25 horsepower only if they are accompanied by a person 18 years or older who has a valid New Hampshire Safe Boating Certificate.
    • A New Hampshire Safe Boating Certificate is not needed if the vessel is powered by a motor of 25 horsepower or less.

    Also Check: Where To Place Boat Registration Stickers

    Nh Vessels You Must Register

    In New Hampshire, you’re required to register:

    • All motorized vessels, regardless of size.
    • Sailboats and sailboards 12 ft or longer.

    You DO NOT need to register:

    • Sailboat and sailboards less than 12 ft in length.
    • Non-motorized kayaks and canoes.
    • Any U.S. government vessel.
    • Any vessel registered in another state operating on New Hampshire waters for 30 consecutive days or less.

    Can You Mail Your Boater Registration Form In New Hampshire

    New Hampshire Title Transfer Instructions *SELLER*

    Yes, why not? Suppose you want to register your boat for the first time in New Hampshire. In that case, you can also mail the registration application and the required documents to the respective email addresses of boater registration offices. If you have a prior certificate of number, you can send it via mail too for renewal and transfer. Please send the particular registration fees to the number. It will take you around a fortnight to complete the registration and titling over mail.

    You May Like: Cleaning Mold On Boat Seats

    Boat Registration In New Hampshire

    BEFORE turning in a registration application, double check to make sure your vessel has a valid hull identification number . If your boat is missing a HIN, you’ll need to head to your local law enforcement office to have it inspected.

    A New Hampshire law enforcement officer will need to fill out a Verification of Vessel Identification for you do not lose this form!

    To register your boat, start by collecting the following items:

    • 23 Hazen Drive
    • Concord, NH 03305

    New Hampshire boat registrationsare valid until of each year, regardless of when you choose to register the vessel. Therefore, it’s best to register watercraft towards the beginning of the calendar year.

    FOR EXAMPLE: If you register your boat on December 1st, the registration will only be valid for 30 days .

    What Boats Need To Be Registered Nh

    sailboats

    People Also Asked, What do i need to register my boat in new hampshire?

    How to Register a Boat in New Hampshire: To register a boat in New Hampshire, the owner of the boat must provide the following:

  • Completed Boat Registration Application .
  • Proof of ownership .
  • The proper boat registration fees.
  • Also know, do boats have titles in NH?New Hampshire is a registration only state and does not issue boat titles. New Hampshire does not have provisions for bonded or conditional boat registrations. Boat registration records in New Hampshire are administered by the Division of Motor Vehicles.

    Contents

    Read Also: Hydrofin Pontoon Cost

    The Town Clerks Office Registers Automobiles Trucks Rvs Boats All Other Watercraft Trailers Motorcycles And Atvs

    PLEASE NOTE: There are additional fees to cover the cost of the credit card processing . These fees go directly to our third party processor and are not retained by the town/city. Credit card convenience fees cannot be refunded. If your payment is returned there will be additional penalty fees.

    New residents to the state have 60 days to register their vehicle and obtain a NH drivers license.

    I am a Bradford resident, what do I need to register my new vehicle?

    • DEALERSHIP purchase: If you purchased a vehicle through a NH dealership you will need to bring the title application. If you wish to transfer plates from your old vehicle to your new vehicle you will need to bring the current registration associated with the plates you wish to transfer. The DMV requires a certified registration to be turned in at the time of transfer. We can reprint the registration but it will be an additional $18.00 fee. When transferring plates whomevers name is listed first is considered the owner of the plates and those plates can only be transferred to a vehicle in that persons name. If there are two people listed the plate belongs to the first person listed and cannot be transferred into the second owners name.

    If your vehicle has a GVW over 26,000 lbs we can only process the Town portion and you will have to go to a DMV location to finish the process. It will not be a valid registration until you complete the state portion with the DMV.

    How Do I Register My Boat

    Attractions and Things To Do Around Lake Winnipesaukee ...

    Renewing a Boat Registration?

    Boat registrations can be renewed online.

    New Boat Registration?

    251 Causeway St. Suite# 101

    Boston, MA 02114

    Boats 14 ft and Over Documents Required

    • Bill of Sale Name, address and signature of the seller must be on the bill of sale. See note 1 below
    • Title from the seller signed over to the new buyer
    • If your boat is purchased brand new from a registered boat dealer, department store or internet sales, an original Manufacturers Statement of Origin is required.
    • Proof of sales tax paid . You can pay this 6.25% tax online at and print out your receipt.
    • Pencil tracing of the hull ID number See note 2 below
    • Required fees check or money order only, no cash, debit or credit cards accepted. Checks are payable to Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

    Boats Under 14 ft Documents Required

    • Bill of Sale Name, address and signature of the seller must be on the bill of sale. See note 1 below
    • Proof of sales tax paid . You can pay this 6.25% tax online at and print out your receipt.
    • Pencil tracing of the hull ID number . See note 2 below
    • If boat is purchased brand new, from a registered boat dealer, department store or internet sales, a copy of the Manufacturers Statement of Origin is required.

    You May Like: Mold On Boat Seats

    Popular Articles
    Related news