Boat Registration In Idaho
You must register your boat with the Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation within 15 days of the purchase date.
You can do so by visiting your county assessor’s officeOR an and:
- Completing a boat registration application .
- A unique identifier, such as your:
- Idaho driver’s license.
You’ll then receive your Certificate of Numberthe IDPR’s approved boater education provider gives information on how to properly attach your registration number and stickers to your boat.
How To Register A Boat In Idaho
The month and year the vessel was manufactured. Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers. Titling is required on boat trailers weighing over 2,000 lbs. These must be displayed on all non-documented It can be one of two things: **Please be advised that beginning with the 2017 sticker year we must collect individual unique identifier information for every owner listed on the title or bill of sale.**. Requirements for Boater Registration in Idaho. properly attach your registration number and stickers, ID Boat Registration Renewals & Replacements. The data is maintained as an open wiki forum where readers are encouraged to
The boats title or a bill of sale. Why do I need to be concerned with U.S. Coast Guard regulations?
Your tax identification number which can be your social security number OR employer identification number OR an individual tax identification number. Get fishing tips and tricks and read personal stories from anglers who live and breathe fishing and boating. The Certificate of Number must be on board during operation and must be available for inspection by a law enforcement officer. I. Even if you’re not required to take a safety course, doing so allows you to become a better educated boater, and may even reduce your insurance rates. You may renew by mail, online, or at a retail vendor or County Motor Vehicle office.
Any vessel with an outboard motor that is over 12 feet in length.
Where Do I Register My Boat
A good place to start is right here on Discover Boatingjust visit our Boat Registration page, which allows you to start the registration process online. In most states, you can also register a boat with the Department of Motor Vehicles. In some cases it may be with the Department of Fish and Game, the Department of Licensing, or the Department of Natural Resources . A boat can be officially registered in only one state.
Read Also: How To Get Mold Stains Out Of Boat Seats
Idaho Kayak Life Jacket Laws
Do you have to wear a life jacket on a kayak in Idaho? You are not required to wear a PFD in Idaho. However, all vessels are required to have a wearable USCG-approved Type I, II, or III personal flotation device for each person. Except children 14 and under, on boats under 19 feet or less, must wear a PFD.
PFDs must be in good condition, properly sized for each person, and be readily accessible.
Idaho Boating Laws And Regulations
IDAHO BOATER EDUCATION CARD
Your Idaho Boater Education Card is NOT the same thing as your Idaho drivers licence. The Boater Education Card, or boating license, simply proves that you have taken a Boating Safety Course and is not required for boat operators on Idahos waters. However, all boaters should receive a Boating Safety Education to keep the state waters safe for everyone whos out there enjoying them.
OBTAINING YOUR IDAHO BOATING LICENSE
You can obtain your Idaho boating license by taking the online BOATsmart! Course youll be on the water with confidence in just a few hours.
Get your Official Idaho
WHAT ARE IDAHOS LIFE JACKET REQUIREMENTS
In Idaho, all boats are required to carry one, Coast Guard approved, wearable life jacket or PFD for each passenger on board the boat.
Adults are not required to actually wear life jackets at all times while boating, however you should always wear one. A life jacket can be the difference between life and death in an emergency.
In Idaho, children 14 years of age and under are required to wear a Coast Guard approved life jacket when underway on any boat that is under 19 feet in length. This includes paddle craft, sailboats, PWCs and fishing float tubes!
Parents, always make sure your childs life jacket is properly secured and in good condition.
BOATING AND ALCOHOL IN IDAHO
In Idaho it is illegal to operate any boat while under the influence of an intoxicating substance, such as drugs and/or alcohol.
Also Check: How To Get Mold Stains Out Of Boat Seats
What Does The Message Your Session Has Expired Due To Inactivity Mean
If you have not been active within the course for more than 15 minutes, you will automatically be logged out of your session. A notice stating, Your session has expired due to inactivity will appear at the top of the course. Log back in, and you can continue interacting with the course. Your progress will have been recorded, and you should be able to continue where you left off in the course.
Idaho Kayaking Sounding Devices Laws
Do I need a whistle on a kayak in Idaho? Vessels less than 65.6 feet in length, are required to carry on board a whistle or horn or some other means to make an efficient sound signal audible for at least one-half mile.
The best sounding device for kayakers and canoes is a whistle attached to your PFD in a place thats easy and quick to reach.
Heres what we consider to be the best whistle for kayaking.
Read Also: Banana Boat Cruelty Free
Idaho Boat Registration Fees
Below are the fees associated with registering your boat with the Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation:
- Original registration/renewal fee depends on the length of your boat:
- 12 ft and under: $20.
- Over 12 ft feet: $20 plus $2 per every 1 foot.
- For a full breakdown of original/renewal registration fees, check out IDPR’s fee table.
Boater Safety Courses In Idaho
There are no requirement for a boater safety course in Idaho, except for those applying to boaters with a record of repeatedly breaking Idaho boating laws. In addition, some counties have rules regarding Idaho boating safety course requirements and other qualifications to operate a boat on the states waters. One of the most convenient ways to take a safety course in Idaho is to do so online. Contact the IDPR at 334-4199 if you are interested in taking a boater safety course at a nearby location.
Don’t Miss: How To Clean Mildew Off Boat Seats
Boat Registration Numbers And Stickers
A boat registration number is its license plate and is comprised of letters and numbers that must be displayed on the hull, near the bow, on the front third of the boat on both sides. The letters and numbers must be read from left to right and may have a minimum size . The numbers can also be painted on. A registration sticker or decal proves that your boat registration is valid for that year. The length of validity varies by state but can be from one to three years.
Boats You Must Register In Idaho
The Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation requires all vessels with ANY type of motor to be registered.
Boats exemptfrom registration include:
- Manually propelled vessels .
- Float tubes.
- Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast Guard.
- Vessels currently registered in another state but being used on Idaho’s waterways for 60 consecutive days or less.
If you’re unsure about whether you need to register your vessel, call IDPR’s registration department at 922-6743.
Don’t Miss: Colorado Boat Registration
Idaho Boat Inspection Report
Why we do boat inspections
It is the policy of the state of Idaho to improve boating safety, to foster the greater development, use and enjoyment of the waters of this state by watercraft and to adopt certain standards for the safe operation and equipment of vessels. Idaho Safe Boating Act.
The sheriffs and deputy sheriffs of the respective counties are primarily responsible for the enforcement of the Safe Boating Act and in the exercise of their authority may stop and board any vessel subject to law.
The primary tool used by the sheriffs in the exercise of their responsibilities is the Idaho Boat Inspection Report.
The report consists of three sections, contact information, registration and carry law compliance and contact observation notes. Inspections are used to generate various safety and compliance statistics, while at the same time educating the public as to registration and safety equipment requirements.
What’s Included In A Boat Bill Of Sale
A watercraft bill of sale is like a fleshed-out receipt. A receipt or invoice contains just the basics: purchase price, brief description, and date of sale.
Do not confuse a bill of sale with a notice of sale. A notice of sale is a document used in real property to give notice of default proceedings.
A vessel bill of sale provides proof of the sale of a boat that is more detailed than a receipt. It includes the following information:
- Names and addresses of buyer and seller
- Date of sale
- Purchase price
- Detailed description of the boat or watercraft including make, model, year, color, condition, and hull identification number
- Information on what is being sold along with the boat or watercraft, such as the trailer, life jackets, cover, etc.
- Information about any warranties the seller is making about the boat
- Signatures of the seller and buyer
- Signature by a notary, if required by your state
Read Also: Resale Value Of Pontoon Boats
Renewing Your Idaho Boat Registration
You may renew your registration online via the Parks and Recreation Departments online portal. To apply for your boat registration renewal in Idaho, you will need the sticker number and personal identification number provided on your registration renewal notice.
If you want to renew your registration in person, you may do so at an authorized boat registration vendor or at your local county assessors office. You will know when to renew a boat registration in Idaho when the IDPR sends your renewal application form, which will also include an address if you wish to process your renewal by mail.
What Kind Of Boat Must Be Registered
Generally, boats must be registered in their state if they have a gasoline, diesel or electric motor, including a trolling motor. Personal Watercrafts are considered motorized crafts and needs to be registered in most states. Sailboats without auxiliary power must be registered if over a certain size like eight feet, but that differs by state. The registration requirements for kayaks, paddleboards, canoes, rowboats and other human-powered craft also differ by state but most dont need to be registered.
Also Check: How Much Does Freedom Boat Club Cost
Q: Are There Special Regulations For Riding Personal Watercraft
A: Personal Watercraft are small, jet-propelled boats designed to carry one to three people to sit on top rather than inside a vessel. Often referred to as jet skis, these watercraft are considered motorboats and are subject to the same regulations as motorboats, including equipment and responsible handling.
In Bonner County an operator of a PWC must 14 years old or have an adult supervisor on board.
Idaho counties have the authority to enact restrictions for personal watercraft that are more strict than state law.
Idaho and PWC manufacturers recommend that all drivers be at least 16 years old, and that all riders wear a helmet, protective shoes and life jacket.
Special concerns for PWC Operators:
- There is a countywide no-wake zone. Slow to 5 mph within 200 feet of a dock, structure or person in the water.
- No wake within 50 feet of another vessel.
- Wake jumping is restricted. A safe distance is at least 200 feet.
- Towing a skier or tuber requires a manufacturers capacity rating for three people. Towing two or more people in a tube is considered overloading and is illegal.
- It takes three to ski. The driver must have a passenger serve as the spotter and operate the skier-down flag.
- Operating at night is prohibited without the proper combination of lights.
- Yield the right-of-way to other powerboats and skiers.
How Do I Properly Attach My Registration Number And Validation Stickers
You must paint or permanently attach your registration number on each side of the forward half of the boat. Registration numbers must be vertical block characters at least 3 inches tall and read from left to right. Their color must contrast with the background, be distinctly visible and legible. A hyphen or space equal to letter width must separate letter and numeral groups . No other number may be displayed on the bow.
Attach the validation stickers securely to each side of the bow, within 6 inches and directly in line with the boats registration numbers. Expired stickers must be removed from your boat.
Also Check: Do You Need Boat Insurance In Mn
Find Out How To Register A Boat In Alberta Correctly
You are the proud owner of a new boat and want to make sure that you have fully complied with the requirements of Transport Canada. In order to make sure that your boat is fully documented and licensed if necessary, you need to start the process by learning how to register a boat in Alberta. This is not always as easy as you might think, and you could benefit from speaking to the National Vessel Registry team. We can help you to understand exactly what you need to know, where to apply and how to make sure that your forms are filled out correctly. By letting us help you, you can save money and make your application much easier.
What Lights Do I Need On My Kayak At Night
These are the rules for unpowered vessels, less than 23 feet, when underway in Idaho.
If practical, red and green bow lights must be displayed along with a white stern light visible 360 degrees for a distance of 2 miles.
If not practical, then only the stern light thats visible 360 degrees and for 2 miles away.
These lights must be displayed when away from the dock:
- Between sunrise and sunset
- During periods of restricted visibility
NOTE: Red or Blue lights are reserved for police.
Lights While Not Underway
Vessels less than 23 feet long are exempt from light laws unless anchored in a narrow channel, fairway, or anchorage, or where other vessels normally navigate.
Recommended Reading: Freedom Boat Club Initiation Fee
How To Apply For Registration Or Title
To title or register your vessel, fill out a Vessel Title Application but don’t sign it. Bring the application and the following information to your licensing agent:
- Model year and make
- Hull identification number, if any
- U.S. Coast Guard document number, if any.
- If vessel is documented by U.S. Coast Guard, a copy of documentation papers is required. Owners who appear on Certificate of Documentation must be present to sign vessel application.
Boaters must title and register their vessels within 60 days of moving to Washington. If you live in Washington and bought the boat in another state, you must title and register your vessel within 15 days of its purchase. Visit the Washington Department of Licensing for specific requirements related to applications, fees and more.
Q: Are Boaters Or Rafters Required To Wear Life Jackets
A: Children fourteen and under must wear an approved life jacket when they are aboard a boat 19 feet in length or less whenever the boat is underway or under power. This applies to manually propelled boats such as canoes and rafts in addition to powerboats, sailboats, personal watercraft and fishing float tubes.
Also, the right kind of personal floatation device must be on board the motorboat or paddle craft and within quick reach for adults. That is, they must say Coast Guard Approved on the label, be the right fit for the person on board, be the kind you wear and in like new condition. Stored under the seat or in a dry bag is not considered within quick reach.
Don’t Miss: How To Clean Mildew Off Boat Seats
Idaho Invasive Species Sticker
In a somewhat unique law, Idaho boating law requires that:
any motorized or non-motorized boat operating in Idaho is required to display an Invasive Species Fund sticker. When you purchase and display an ISF sticker, you contribute to a fund that provides vessel inspections, washing stations and informational materials that will assist Idaho with preventing the introduction of aquatic invasive species like quagga mussels
Idaho Parks and Recreation Website
Do I Have To Take An Online Exam
The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you dont complete the exam in one session, dont worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
Don’t Miss: Does Minnesota Require Boat Insurance
How To Get A Title For A Boat With A Bill Of Sale
A bill of sale is essential when you are buying a boat or watercraft. This document provides proof of purchase and includes important warranties.
Buying a boat means plenty of fun ahead. But before you can enjoy getting out on the water, you need to be sure the sale is handled legally. To do that, you will need a bill of sale from the seller. A bill of sale legally transfers ownership and also can provide important warranties about the boat itself.