The Only Approved Interactive Boater Safety Course In Florida
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by NASBLA as well as meets the requirements of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
Official course provider approved by:
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission 620 S. Meridian Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600
The Boating Safety Education Id Card
The Boating Safety Education I.D. Card is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boating Safety Education I.D. Card must carry their card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by enforcement officers.
Do I Need To Take A Boating Course
Yes If you have never taken a NASBLA approved boating safety course .
No If you have previously taken a NASBLA approved boating safety course and still have a card/certificate. Most state boating courses, United States Coast Guard Auxiliary courses, and United States Power Squadrons courses are NASBLA approved.
No If you hold or have held a license to operate a vessel issued by the United States Coast Guard. You must carry this license on board while operating a recreational vessel. If you would like to obtain a Virginia Lifetime Boaters Card, fill out this .
No If you are or have been a Virginia Registered Commercial Fisherman . You must carry documentation on board while operating a recreational vessel. If you would like to obtain a Virginia Lifetime Boaters Card, fill out this application.
No If you are or have been a surface warfare officer/enlisted surface warfare specialist in the United States Navy. You must carry documentation on board while operating a recreational vessel. If you would like to obtain a Virginia Lifetime Boaters Card, fill out this .
No If you are serving or have qualified as an Officer of the Deck Underway, boat coxswain, boat officer, boat operator, watercraft operator, or Marine Deck Officer in any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States, United States Coast Guard, or Merchant Marine. If you would like to obtain a Virginia Lifetime Boaters Card, fill out this .
Read Also: How To Clean Mildew Off Boat Seats
Usa > Boating License
BOATERexam.com® offers boating safety courses approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators and recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard, and each of our state-endorsed boating exam courses has been approved by the state agency responsible for boating safety.
Since boat license laws and requirements vary from state to state, each course is custom tailored to meet state-specific education requirements. Registration is free and simple. Get started and on your way to becoming a safe and smart boater! Get Your Boating License!
How To Get A Boater Education Identification Card
- Take this course which is approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission and the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators .
- Score 80% or better to pass the course exam.
- Wait for the Florida Fish and Wildlife Commission to issue your permanent education identification card. You will have the option to receive a physical card in the mail or an electronic card sent through email.
- You should receive your official digital card from the Commission within 2 weeks of completing the course or the physical card within 3 to 4 weeks.
Also Check: How To Renew My Boat Registration
Florida Virtual School Outdoor Education Course
Florida Virtual School Outdoor Education Course: The only course in the nation to combine both hunting and boating safety. Participants will develop skills in outdoor activities and learn about the benefits of physical activity while using proper safety procedures to experience wildlife, outdoor and extreme sports. By meeting all of the requirements of the Outdoor Education course, not only will students receive their Florida Boating Safety Education ID Card and be eligible to obtain a Florida Hunter Safety Certificate, theyll also earn a 0.5 credit for high school, and meet public school requirements for taking an on-line and a physical education course.
Do I Need A Boating License In Florida
Florida law requires anyone born on or after January 1, 1988, who operates a vessel powered by 10 horsepower or more must pass an approved boater safety course and have in his/her possession photographic identification and a boater education ID card issued by Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
Florida does not have a “boating license.” The online boating safety education ID is proof of successful completion of the educational requirements and is valid for life.
Don’t Miss: How To Get Mold Out Of Boat Carpet
Apply For A Ca Boater Card
The good news: Boaters can prevent most accidents by learning safe boating techniques and using common sense. California boating safety courses are designed to provide boaters with state specific boating laws and federal navigation requirements in many different environments to suit individual boater needs. There are home study, classroom, online and on-the-water courses.The California Boater Card requirements can be found in the links below. The courses shown on this page are approved for the California Boater Card. If you are looking for another course to fulfill the card requirements, be sure to check that it is on the list of approved courses. If you are looking for more advanced courses, check out the many providers and aquatic centers throughout the state. Parents and teachers can give their children and students a head start on boating and water safety through the K-12 AquaSmart safety curriculum.
- California Boater Card inquiries – 1-844-421-8333
Send Your Information To The Commission
Upon completion of the course, youâll need to send a request for the boat safety education i.d. to the FWC with the following information:
- Your Full Name
- Your Full Address
- Date The Course Was Completed
Donât worry about submitting this too much as the majority of courses online will do this for you automatically once completed.
Simply ask your course instructor what are the submission options once you have completed everything. As states, most courses will automatically do this for you.
When your course instructor sends your information automatically, youâll have the required boating safety i.d. between 2 – 3 weeks upon completion.
Also, something worth mentioning is to make sure you print off a hard copy of proof youâve taken the courseâ¦. Better safe than sorry.
If your course instructor doesnât automatically submit your information for you, then youâll need to do it yourself.
With the information mentioned above youâll also need to send proof of course completion to:
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
Division Of Law Enforcement
Or you can send them an email to with the required information.
Also Check: How Much Are Boat Clubs
Do You Need License For Boating In Florida
Do you need a license for boating in Florida? To be eligible to use a motorboat with an engine size greater than 10 horsepower, anyone born after Jan. 1st 1988 must complete an accredited safety course on boating. Once completed, you will receive a Boating Safety Education Identification Card. While you donât need a license, you will need this safety card if you are born in the above specified time.
Essentially, the safety card for boating in Florida acts as a license You will also need to have photo identification when operating a boat in Florida, this can usually be a passport or other government issued photo identification.
The safety card ensures you have basic knowledge of operating a boat and are aware of all the safety precautions you must take when hitting the waters.
Other criteria like being over the age of 14 and not being convicted of boating related incidents in the last 12 months is also required.
How Can I Get My Florida Boating License
You can obtain your Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card in 3 easy steps:
You May Like: Do You Have To Have Boat Insurance In Oklahoma
Now Online As An Ecoursebook
This DBW course meets the California Boater Card education requirement. It can be read online or downloaded to a home computer. This national and state approved course allows boaters to study at home at their own pace, and it covers state and federal boating laws, rules of the road, boat handling, required equipment, navigational aids, accident reporting and special topics.
Receive The Boating Safety Card & Start Boating Legally
Once youâve submitted all the required documents to the above address, you simply wait until your card has arrived and you are good to go.
As mentioned, this will usually take 2- 3 weeks. Once you have your card, make sure you also carry a government i.d. with you while boating also as this is a further requirement.
Recommended Reading: Pontoon Boat Rental Lake Tahoe
Florida Boating Course More Information
This course is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators and is recognized by the United States Coast Guard.
Those receiving boating citations from law enforcement may be required to take a safe boating course. However, this must be a classroom boater education course The online course does not meet this requirement.
Approved and Accepted by:
Who Needs A Boater Safety Education Card In Florida
Florida Boating Safety Educational Requirements were updated January 1, 2010. This update requires boat operators who were born on or after January 1, 1988 to obtain a Florida Boating Safety Education Identification Card in order to operate a motorboat with ten horsepower or more.
The requirements to take an approved boating safety course and to obtain a Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission issued identification card are the same, but the age threshold for the educational requirements is now based on whether or not you were born on or after January 1, 1988. For more information, visit the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission website.
This Florida boating safety course meets the State of Florida’s requirement for basic boater safety education. When you successfully complete the course and exam online, you will receive a course completion certificate by mail or email. We will automatically report your completion to the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission for issuance of your Boater Safety Education I.D. Card if you are covered by Florida’s mandatory boater education law.
Recommended Reading: Types Of Boat Captain License
Florida Boating Safety & Education
If youre planning to use a boat or personal watercraft in Florida, there are some rules you should know about, and a great course on boater safety that everyone should take for a Florida boating education regardless of age and legal requirements.
If you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1988, you must get the Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card to operate any powered watercraft with more than 10 horsepower, including personal water craft, or PWC.
Its simple and well worth the time and modest fee of $29.50.
The online Boat Florida Course features clear boating safety instructions and detailed graphics that help you improve your boating skills.
It is based on the How to Boat Smart Florida Boating Safety Course manual that was developed and printed by Boat Ed specifically for the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission for use in classroom instruction.
Some of the rules to be aware of include:
– No one under age 14 may operate any PWC on Florida waters at any time, even if such person possesses a Boating Safety Education ID Card.
– No one under age 18 may rent/lease a PWC.
– It is illegal for the owner of a PWC to knowingly allow a person under 14 years of age to operate a PWC.
Those of just a few of the highlights you need to know.
Once youve passed the course, you are able to navigate Florida’s waterways immediately by printing out a temporary card until your official card arrives by mail.
Can You Get Your Florida Boating License Online
When you successfully complete the course and exam online, you will receive a course completion certificate by mail or email. We will automatically report your completion to the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission for issuance of your Boater Safety Education I.D.
How much is a captains license in Florida?
2 How much does a captains license course cost? The most popular captains license course, the OUPV/Six-pack course, costs $595 for a deluxe edition including online and physical materials through Mariners Learning System. The Deluxe Master Captains License course costs $795.
Also Check: How To Clean Mold On Vinyl Boat Seats
Canada > Boating License
BOATERexam.com® offers a Transport Canada approved boat licence course and exam for the Pleasure Craft Operator Card, required by Canadians operating powered pleasure boats in all provinces. By signing up to BOATERexam.com® to get your Canadian boating licence, you get access to our comprehensive and easy-to-understand study guide, complete with illustrations, animated videos and audio.
BOATERexam.com® is the largest issuer of the PCOC in Canada, offering the most convenient way to get your Canadian boat licence. You can study and take your boating exam completely online, print out a Temporary Card to get on the water right away, and become certified for life!
How Long Does It Take To Complete The Florida Boaters Safety Course
Taking the Course You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or completed a little at a time over several days. All pay-up-front courses are available for 90 days from time of registration and payment.
How do I get my Florida boating license fast?
The fastest way to get your boating licenseno timers! ilearntoboat.com is a delegated provider for the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission. You need boating education in Florida if you were born on or after January 1, 1988, and you will be operating a motorized boat of 10 hp or more.
Recommended Reading: Where Do I Get My Boat Registered
Online Personal Water Craft Course
To take the free DBW Personal Watercraft Safety Course online, .
Wave Runners, Jet Skis, Sea Doos, Tigersharks—personal watercraft or PWCs, go by many names, and they all mean fun. They are found at most waterways these days. In 2015, there were nearly 100,000 PWCs registered in California! Personal watercraft are fast, powerful, and fairly easy to operate, but they are also involved in many boating accidents and injuries. With their ever-increasing popularity it is important for all PWC users to know how to operate them safely and with courtesy at all times.
California boating accident statistics paint a picture of PWC use and misuse. For example, PWC account for 13% of registered vessels, but 17% of all reported boating accidents in 2015 involved PWCs. Of those PWC accidents, the majority involved a collision with another vessel or fixed object. There are three main causes of PWC accidents: inexperience, operating at excessive speed, and inattention on the part of the operator.
Finally, there are two statistics that show a real need for public education on the proper, safe and fun use of PWC over half of PWC accidents involved people who had borrowed a vessel and another 37% had rented their equipment. These accidents might not have occurred if the operators had taken the time to read the owner’s manual and safety literature that most dealers provide after a sale, or taken a safe boating course.
Us Coast Guard Auxiliary Courses
The US Coast Guard Auxiliary offers a variety of public educational classes including Boating Skills and Seamanship for powerboats and Sailing and Seamanship for sailors. Both classes generally last 13 weeks and cover legal requirements, rules of the road, aids to navigation marlinspike seamanship, charts and compasses and boat handling. Some auxiliary flotillas also offer classes in basic coastal navigation, boating safely, advanced coastal piloting, advanced coastal navigation, personal watercraft, sailing fundamentals, boat and kids, and water and kids.
Read Also: Can Am Boat Storage Whitefish
What Is The Permanent Florida Boating Safety Education Id Card
The Boating Safety Education I.D. Card is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. If you selected to receive a physical copy of the Boating Safety Education I.D. Card, it will arrive within 3-4 weeks after you complete all certification requirements. However, if you opted to receive an electronic Boating Safety Education I.D. Card, it will be emailed to you at your registered email ID within 14 days after successfully completing the course.
Exemptions To Florida Boater Education Requirements
Operators are exempt from needing to get their boating license if they are:
- Licensed by the U.S. Coast Guard as a master of a vessel
- Operating on a private lake or pond
- Accompanied on board by a person who is exempt from the education requirement or by a person who is at least 18 years old, possesses the required identification cards, and is attendant to the operation of the vessel and responsible for any violation that occurs
- Operating a vessel within 90 days after purchase and have a bill of sale on board and available for inspection
Don’t Miss: Is Boat Insurance Required In Wisconsin
Official Online Boating License Course And Test
BOATERexam.com® is a leading provider of safe boater education and certification across the United States and Canada. Our online boat safety course and exam allows boaters to meet mandatory education requirements and to obtain their official boater education card or boating license online.
BOATERexam.com® has certified over 2 million boaters and counting during the past 11 years! We will guide you through the exam study and preparation process with easy-to-understand explanations and instructions, including colourful illustrations and animations. We will help you prepare for your boat license exam so that you can get onto the water and boat safe.
Florida Other License Requirements & Exemptions
On top of needing a safety education card, there are some other requirements.
- No one under the age of 14 may operate a boat in Florida
- There is no age limit on becoming certified so minors can sit the safety course
- You may be exempt from the law of needing a boating safety id if you are onboard with someone over the age of 18 who already carries such an id.
If you have been convicted of boating violation or have been involved in a boating accident in the last 12 months, youâre also required to complete a mandatory violator education course also.
For the majority of people reading this,
However, for those that may be concerned about this, you can simply read here for more information on this.
To summarize, hereâs a quick video explaining the process of legally boating in Florida:
Now that the video summed it up nicely, hereâs a checklist of the boating license requirements in Florida.
Apply & Do The Safety Course
Approx. 8 hours
Once passed, send information to the FWC
Approx 10 mins to prepare everything and mail it/email it
Wait for ID in the mail
Approx. 2 – 3 weeks
Thatâs a simplified checklist to help guide you in the right direction. If youâre new to the world of boating, you might want to check out boating at night, fire safety while boating, or how to plane out a boat .
Read Also: How Do I Renew My Boat Registration In Tn