Automobile Registration Process Summary
The registration process has two steps:
- The first fee is paid to ones place of residence or where the vehicle is housed.Concord, or Penacook, NH residents pay this fee to the City of Concord.
- The second fee is paid to theState of New Hampshire Department of Safety Division of Motor Vehicle
The City of Concord is now a Municipal Agent of the State of NH, which means you can now do most transactions completely at City Hall, with one check, saving a trip to the DMV. There is a $3.00 agent fee, per registration, for these transactions.
In our frequently asked questions, we have attempted to answer the most commonly asked questions and explain the many facets of the process of automobile registration. This information is designed to help citizens better understand their relationship with city government and the services it provides. The information is not intended to be complete or specific to all individual circumstances. Please navigate our frequently asked questions and if you still have a question, please contact us.
Where To Register A Boat In New Hampshire
Registrations for privately-owned boats may be processed in person at certain Department of Motor Vehicles offices, at authorized boat agents , or may be sent by mail to the Concord Department of Motor Vehicles at:
NH Department of SafetyDepartment of Motor Vehicles – Boat Registrations23 Hazen Drive
To add an additional owner to your boat registration you need to provide the following:
- Current boat registration
- A letter of request to add an additional owner that includes:
- The full name, address and date of birth of the additional owner
- Both owners signatures and
- Brief description of the boat that includes the Bow Number.
Boat Registration Numbers And Stickers
A boat registration number is its license plate and is comprised of letters and numbers that must be displayed on the hull, near the bow, on the front third of the boat on both sides. The letters and numbers must be read from left to right and may have a minimum size . The numbers can also be painted on. A registration sticker or decal proves that your boat registration is valid for that year. The length of validity varies by state but can be from one to three years.
Don’t Miss: Boating License Nebraska
Registering Your New Hampshire Boat Trailer
You’ll have to register your trailer if it is 15 years old or newer. You’ll also have to title the trailer if it weighs over 3,000 pounds and was manufactured later than 1999. The trailer registration process starts at your local town clerk’s office. Bring identification and proof of residency and call ahead to find out the charges.
If you have your trailer title, present the certificate of title or a copy of your title application for registration. If your trailer is exempt from titling, present a bill of sale, proof of the Vehicle Identification Number, or a copy of an earlier New Hampshire registration.
You can usually process the entire registration transaction at the same office. If you need to title the trailer, you may have to file a title application with the DMV.
Do You Need A License To Drive A Boat In New Hampshire
The State of New Hampshire has a mandatory boating education law that states that anyone 16 years of age or older who operates a motorboat over 25 horsepower on New Hampshire waters must have a boating education certificate. Although this is not technically a license, it is still a very important card that must be held at all times when operating a vessel.
New Hampshire accepts a variety of boating certificates and licenses. The types of credentials that are accepted include:
- A boating certificate issued by the U.S. Power Squadron.
- A boating certificate issued by the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary.
- A boating certificate issued by another State agency that is NASBLA-approved.
- An unexpired commercial boating license issued by the U.S. Coast Guard.
- An unexpired commercial boating license issued by the State of New Hampshire.
Recommended Reading: Boat Upholstery Cleaner Mildew
How To Obtain A Boating License In New Hampshire
A New Hampshire boating license or boating certificate is a requirement for anyone 16 years of age or older who operates a motorboat over 25 horsepower on New Hampshire waters. This boat safety certificate must be obtained by completing an approved boating course and passing the New Hampshire boater exam. Although the course is a requirement for anyone wishing to receive a certificate, the courses are also available to anyone interested in learning more about boating safety and skills.
There are boating laws in New Hampshire that must be followed at all times, and among those laws are restrictions about the minimum age of boat operators and the requirements for registering watercraft. It is crucial to be familiar with those laws in order to stay safe and avoid legal consequences. To learn more about getting a boat license or certificate, continue reading the information included below.
Renewing And Replacing A New Hampshire Boating License
If you are wondering, âDo boating licenses expire?â the answer to that question is that the safety certificates provided by education programs in New Hampshire do not have an expiration date.
However, if your certificate was lost or destroyed, you must request a replacement. Do not operate any vessels over 25 horsepower on New Hampshire state waters if you do not have your certificate on-hand.
The exact steps for getting a replacement vary depending on the program, so you must contact the agency that issued you your card in order to obtain a duplicate.
Q: What Should I Do If I Lose My Registration Or Title
A: If your registration or title certificate is lost, destroyed, or mutilated, you can apply for a duplicate. Just fill out the proper form and mail to the nearest registration office along with a check for the appropriate fee.Please note: Customers are allowed only 3 duplicate decals during a registration cycle.
Q: How Long Are The Registration And Title Good For And How Much Do They Cost
A: The title certificate is good for the life of the boat, or until the boat is sold or otherwise transferred, at which time the new owner must obtain a another title. The title fee is $27.50. This is a one-time charge.
The boat registration certificate is valid for two years from the date of issuance. Cost is based on the length of the vessel.
Don’t Miss: Ameritex Boat Covers
Vehicle/boat Registration And License Plates
The Town Clerks office registers automobiles, trucks, RVs, trailers, motorcycles, low speed utility vehicles, and boats.
There are additional processing fees for online transactions. Or you can go to the Town Clerks Office at Town Hall during office hours and submit the application in person.
VEHICLE REGISTRATION/LICENSE PLATES:RSA 261:3 REQUIRES THAT ALL VEHICLES WITH A MODEL YEAR OF 2000 OR NEWER WILL ALWAYS require a title. This law went into effect 1/1/2015.
If you are a new resident to the State of New Hampshire, you have 60 days to transfer your vehicle registration and obtain a N.H. drivers license. If your vehicle is model year 2000 or newer you will need to change your title to a New Hampshire title at registration time. If you have a lien on your vehicle model year 2000 or newer the Town Clerk will need to obtain your out-of-state title before registration can be completed. The following information needs to be forward to the Town Clerk for this process to begin:Full Name:
Where Do I Register My Boat
A good place to start is right here on Discover Boatingjust visit our Boat Registration page, which allows you to start the registration process online. In most states, you can also register a boat with the Department of Motor Vehicles. In some cases it may be with the Department of Fish and Game, the Department of Licensing, or the Department of Natural Resources . A boat can be officially registered in only one state.
Don’t Miss: How To Keep Boat Seats From Cracking
Q: What About Registration Renewal
A: Boat, ATV and Snowmobile owners will receive a registration renewal notice at least one month prior to the expiration of their current registration. You have the following options to renew.
- Return with enclosed envelope write your registration number or renewal number on check.
- You may bring renewal to any one of our 5 registration offices. Keep in mind that during the boating season, lines can be long .
- Renew online at www.mass.gov/ole
Where To Register Your Boat
If your boat is used recreationally, you have the option of registering it in person at some DMV locations or through the mail. Here is a list of DMV offices that process boat registrations.
If you prefer to use the mail, send all of the required information and fees to the Concord DMV.
NH Dept. of SafetyConcord, NH 03305
Don’t Miss: Is Banana Boat Sunscreen Good
Replacing Your New Hampshire Boat Registration
The steps to replace a boat registration in New Hampshire are similar to those for registration renewal, except you must complete and submit an Application for Replacement Boat Decals form. It is important to know how to replace your registration in New Hampshire, so you can replace it if it is lost or too damaged to use. Carrying proper registration verification is required by law any time a watercraft is in operation.
Note: You cannot replace a boat registration online at this time, but you may mail your form to the address listed above or submit it at a DMV office.
What Is The First Step In Getting A Real Estate License
You can become a real estate agent in about four to six months, depending on where you live. Online prelicensing classes can speed up the process. Requirements vary by state, but the general steps are to take a real estate prelicensing course, take the licensing exam, activate your license, and join a brokerage.
How Do I Register Or Transfer Plates To A Vehicle Motorcycle Or Trailer In Salem
Please know the Town of Salem and State of New Hampshire have many laws and ordinances with respect to the registration of vehicles. As Municipal Agents for the NH DMV and Clerks for the Town of Salem, we must follow all current laws and ordinances. There are certain, required procedures and documents that MUST be provided for all registration transactions. In other words, we do not make the laws, we must follow them.
Registering vehicles in the State of New Hampshire MUST start at the municipal/local level, first: at the Salem Town Hall. As Municipal Agents for the NH DMV, we are able to perform most State registration functions such as issuing passenger, trailer and motorcycle plates. Specialty registrations and plates, such as Antique and Veteran, must be completed at the NH DMV. A nominal fee of $3 is automatically added to each transaction that we are completing on behalf of the NH DMV, thereby saving you an additional trip to the NH DMV to complete the registration process.
For vehicles, motorcycles or trailers purchased from an Out-of-State Dealership OR Private Sale OR Moved into Salem from Out-of-State, please present the following at time of registration at the Town Hall:
Q: What Do I Do With The Registration Certificate Number And Decal
A: The registration certificate is proof that the boat is registered. It also serves as proof of ownership if the boat is not titled or documented. The registration certificate should be available for inspection on board the motorboat whenever it is in operation.
The registration number is assigned when you register your boat for the first time. It should be painted or attached to each side of the forward half of the boat. It should read from left to right, be in block letters not less than three inches high, and contrast with the color of the boat’s hull. The number consists of the letters MS followed by no more than four numbers and two capital letters. A two-inch space or hyphen must separate the letters and the numbers. The registration number is issued to the boat owner and not the vessel. Therefore, it can be transferred to different boats for a given owner, but it cannot be transferred to a new owner.
The registration decal should be placed in line with and three inches to the stern of the registration number on the port side of the boat. The decal is issued with the initial registration and each registration renewal it indicates the month and year that the registration expires.
Recommended Reading: How To Clean Mold From Boat Seats
What Kind Of Boat Must Be Registered
Generally, boats must be registered in their state if they have a gasoline, diesel or electric motor, including a trolling motor. Personal Watercrafts are considered motorized crafts and needs to be registered in most states. Sailboats without auxiliary power must be registered if over a certain size like eight feet, but that differs by state. The registration requirements for kayaks, paddleboards, canoes, rowboats and other human-powered craft also differ by state but most dont need to be registered.
Which Boats Require Registration
Requirements for vessel registration vary from state to state. In New Hampshire, you must have a Certificate of Registration and validation decals to operate a vessel legally on public waters. This includes motorboats of any size and sailboats or sailboards 12 feet in length or longer. The only exceptions are:
- Sailboats and sailboards under 12 feet in length
- Other small, non-motorized vessels, such as canoes and kayaks
- Vessels registered in other states using New Hampshire waters for 30 or fewer consecutive days
- Vessels owned or operated by the U.S. government
- Unit 4 of 6
Read Also: How To Get Mold Stains Out Of Boat Seats
Registering Your Boat With The New Hampshire Dmv
All motor-operated boats operated on public waters in New Hampshire must be registered with the state’s Division of Motor Vehicles. This includes any boat with an inboard or outboard motor, excluding sailboats under 12 feet. Boats owned by the U.S. government and those just passing through are exempt.
You’ll want to start your registration process by filling in a DMV boat registration form, called DSMV form 157A. You’ll also need proof of ownership, like a bill of sale in your name and your picture identification.
If your boat doesn’t have a 12-digit hull identification number, you must also obtain a DSMV form called Verification of Vessel Identification. It has to be completed and signed by a New Hampshire law enforcement officer under penalty of perjury.
Expect to pay a registration fee. The fee depends on the length, age and type of boat. Check both RSA 270-E:5 Vessel Registration Fees, and RSA 72-A:3 Boat Fees to figure out the fee for your boat. Or, you can call the DMV and ask about boat registration fees.
Once you collect these documents, you can register the boat in person at certain DMV offices in New Hampshire. Check the DMV website for a list of those accepting boat registration. You can also register your boat at an authorized boat agent. These are often town clerks, but see the list in the DMV website. Alternatively you can mail the documents to the Concord DMV at: NH Dept. of Safety, DMV Boat Registrations, 23 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03305.
Q: I Haven’t Registered Or Titled My Boat Before What Should I Do
A: In Massachusetts, initial registration and titling is done by filling out the department’s registration application at any of five Registration offices. The boat owner must submit proof of ownership, a bill of sale, proof of payment of Massachusetts sales tax, and the appropriate registration and/or title fees. For new boats, an original manufacturer’s statement of origin must be provided as proof of ownership. An MSO, title, or previous registration can serve as proof of ownership for used boats.
In order to complete the application, you must provide the vessel’s Hull Identification Number and the boat’s year of manufacture, make, and length. State law requires that the title application must be made and the sales tax paid within 20 days of purchasing a boat. The Division also stores information such as the engine manufacturer, serial number, and horsepower for record keeping purposes.
Recommended Reading: What Pitch Prop For My Boat
Renewing Your New Hampshire Boat Registration
If you are wondering how to renew a boat registration in New Hampshire, note that all NH registrations expire on December 31 of every year, regardless of when you first obtained the registration. Therefore, it is recommended that you obtain your initial registration early in the year so that you are not paying a full year of fees for just a few months of registration.
You can obtain a boat registration renewal in New Hampshire by completing and returning the renewal notice along with a check payment for the renewal fee. You can deliver this in person at any DMV office, authorized boat agent or certified marina, or submit it by mail to the Hazen Drive address provided above.
First Time Registration Of A New Or New To You Boat
You must provide proof of ownership to register a boat in any of the following forms:
Your boat must have a Hull Identification Number . Any boats manufactured after 1972 with a short or no HIN, homemade boats, and boats that do not have a compliant HIN must be inspected only by a NH marine patrol officer or a NH law enforcement officer. You may print a Verification of Vessel Identification RDMV690 for the officer to complete.
To transfer a registration to another boat:
- The primary owner of the old boat and the primary owner of the new boat must be the same.
- You must have the original current registration for the boat you are transferring from. Copies will not be accepted. This gets surrendered at the time of the transfer.
- You must have the proper proof of ownership for the new boat.
To renew your boat registration, you must have one of the following:
- The previous boat registration, OR
- The mail-in renewal notice mailed to you by the State.
Renewals may be done in person by the owners family members. No permission form is needed.
- Online boat registration renewals are not permitted by the State at this time.
- We can accept $100 bills ONLY if it is part of the exact amount due. We do not keep sufficient change to break a $100 bill for DMV and Tax Payment transactions.
Also Check: How To Get Mildew Out Of Vinyl Boat Seats