I Have A Sailboat Without A Motor Does It Have To Be Registered
All sailboats with mechanical propulsion must be registered regardless of length. Sailboats less than 12 feet in length without mechanical prolusion do not require registration. Sailboats 12 feet or longer must be registered whether or not they have mechanical propulsion. Boats operated exclusively on private ponds or lakes do not have to be registered.
How To Register A Boat
So you’ve finally purchased the boat of your dreams. Now, what’s the next step? A good place to start is with boat registration. Registering a boat is required by lawmuch like with a carand the rules and guidelines for how this process is done and what kind of watercraft must be registered are dictated by the state in which the vessel will regularly operate .
Here’s the basic steps to follow when registering a boat:
Hull Identification Number Inspection
A Hull Identification Number Inspection is necessary when boat owners do not have a Hull Identification Number from the Manufacturer on any vessel built after 1972. HIN Inspections are also required for any Homemade vessel. HIN Inspections are handled through the Law Enforcement Division.
Don’t Miss: How Much To Join Boat Club
Q: What Should I Do If I Am Buying Or Selling A Boat
A: In order to execute a boat transaction, the following items are necessary:
- Bill of sale
- 12-character serial number pencil tracing
- Proof of payment of Massachusetts’ sales tax
- A completed application
- Appropriate fees
- Title from seller if applicable
Massachusetts sales tax is now payable online. For more information visit the Department of Revenue website or call 392-6089.
In addition to the previous requirements, if the boat is 14 feet or greater in length and uses a motor either temporarily or permanently, or if it is designed for use with a motor, the certificate of title must be signed over from the seller to the buyer. The buyer then presents this information and documentation to the Massachusetts Environmental Police Registration Bureau to obtain a new registration card and certificate of title.
Now You Can Search The Details Of Vessel For Coast Guard Documented By Owner Name
Every person has a different choice regarding their interests or hobbies, so they work accordingly. There are many people who want to have their own boat or vessel, but it is equally important for the owner to complete the documentation work. There are different procedures available through which one can complete the documentation work, but it is very important to follow the procedure, so one will never face any kind of issue in the future. For every documentation, there is a procedure and a person has to follow it to get the legal document.
Also Check: How To Register Boat In Missouri
The Role Of The Documentation Center
The Documentation Center is a department of the U.S Coast Guard and part of the larger Department of Homeland Security. This agency is responsible for registering and tracking all commercial vessels registered in the United States and any large pleasure craft that has opted for documentation. The center takes care of maintaining an accurate register of vessels, and they take care of all new registration, renewals, replacing lost certificates, and the like. The department also maintains the database of registered vessels so that owners and potential owners can get information on a ship regarding liens, mortgages and other vital information.
When you become a boat owner and decide you would like a Certificate of Documentation for your boat, going through the U.S. Vessel Documentation Center becomes a necessity for you. You will need to fill out the appropriate forms as the owner of the boat, providing personal information and information about your vessel, along with any associated fees for registration. The process can seem confusing when doing it for the first time, and you want to be careful not to make mistakes that could delay your registration.
Boat Safely & Competently
With your new boat comes a lot of fun, adventure … and responsibility. Most states require anyone skippering a boat to complete a boating safety course, and there are many groups that offer courses that meet state requirements. The BoatUS Foundation offers online state-recognized courses in 36 states for free. Additional courses on a wide variety of boating topics are also available.
You’ll also need to learn how to properly handle your boat. BoatUS Magazine offers a comprehensive library of boat handling and seamanship videos and articles. Visit BoatUS.com/Expert-Advice to search the archives. Prefer hands-on training? Search for a nearby BoatUS Foundation On-Water Training course, taught by Coast Guard-licensed captains.
Read Also: How To Get Mildew Out Of Vinyl Boat Seats
What Is A Documented Vessel In The Us
Many responsibilities are involved when you enter into boat ownership. You have the financial aspect of ownership that you need to live up to, but you are also responsible for the maintenance and upkeep, the safety and security, and understanding what you must do to keep the vessel at its best. One aspect you do not want to neglect involves the registration of your boat. While registering your ship with the state that you live in is undoubtedly an option for you, you do have another choice you can make. Opting for Coast Guard documentation is another way you can go. If you are wondering what is a documented vessel in the U.S.? we at the would be happy to explain why it may be beneficial or necessary for you.
Boat Registration Vs Documentation
Recreational boat owners in the U.S. are required to register their vessels with their respective state governments. I wont get into each states myriad requirements for registration, since some have two year registration, some three, and they all have different agencies responsible for management. Heres a link to your particular states rules for boat registration. That saves me enough space to outline some of the basics of federal documentation.
Any vessel of five net tons or more, and that is wholly owned by a U.S. citizen, can be documented. Net tonnage is a measure of a vessels cargo carrying volume. It should not be confused with the vessels weight, which may also be expressed in tons. Most vessels more than 25 feet in length will have a cargo volume of five net tons or more.
Documenting vessels started as a way for the federal government to manage commercial shipping and its resultant taxes on merchant cargoes. Today the U.S. Coast Guard is in charge of documentation, and there are multiple types of vessels that can be documented, including recreational vessels. Any documented vessel may be used for recreational purposes, regardless of its endorsement, but a vessel documented with a recreational endorsement only may not be used for any other purpose. If you want to run a commercial charter business on your fishing boat, you will have to document your vessel with a fishing designation even if you use it at other times for pleasure.
Recommended Reading: Does Minnesota Require Boat Insurance
Follow These Steps To Ensure That Your Boat Is Properly And Lawfully Registered
California may be best known for the 1,000 miles of Pacific Ocean shoreline, but did you know there are over 3,000 lakes and 3 major rivers that run through the state? The glittering water of California makes it the perfect place to own and operate a boat. Much like registering your car, you will also have to go through the process of legally registering your boat in California. Heres your guide to getting through the boat registration process legally and quickly:
How do I know if my boat needs to be registered?
If you own and operate a boat in the state of California, it likely needs to be registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles. The rule is that any sail-powered vessel over 8 feet in length and every motorized vessel on the water needs to be registered with the DMV, unless its already documented by the U.S. Coast Guard.
The way the Coast Guard sees it, your vessel is considered either documented or undocumented on the water. Most likely, yours will be considered undocumented. An undocumented vessel does not have a marine certificate issued by the Coast Guard, while a documented vessel does not require that same DMV registration since its already been issued a marine certificate from the Coast Guard. Any undocumented vessel must be registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles, whether operated on a private lake or on public waters.
What boats are exempt from boat registration in California?
How do I register my boat in the state of California?
Q: Do I Need To Apply For A Certificate Of Title
A: All boats 14 feet or greater in length that are designed for use with a motor, or that use a motor at any time, must be titled. For example, sailboats 14 feet or longer with a backup motor in use, or sailboats designed for use with a backup motor, must be titled. Even canoes 14 feet or longer that use a motor of any type must be titled. Boats exempt from titling requirements include U.S. government-owned vessels federally documented vessels boats used solely for demonstration, testing, sales, or promotional purposes by a dealer or manufacturer and boats registered in another state which are not located in the Commonwealth for more than 60 consecutive day
Read Also: How To Remove Oxidation From Boat
Q: I Live In Another State But Sometimes Boat In Massachusetts Do I Need To Register And Title My Boat
A: Visiting boat owners who are registered in another state are allowed to boat in Massachusetts for up to 60 consecutive days without obtaining a Massachusetts registration and title. If you plan to keep the boat in Massachusetts for more than 60 consecutive days, you must obtain a Massachusetts registration and title certificate.
How Do I Permanently Affix My Hull Identification Number To My Boat
A HIN is required for recreational boats manufactured after November 1, 1972. If the HIN is assigned by DNR, or if the HIN is known but the plate is missing or the HIN not inscribed on the boat, the boat owner is responsible for permanently affixing the HIN to the boat.
Each hull identification number must be carved, burned, stamped, embossed, molded, bonded, or otherwise permanently affixed to the boat so that alteration, removal, or replacement would be obvious. If the number is on a separate plate, the plate must be fastened in such a manner that its removal would normally cause some scarring of or damage to the surrounding hull area. A hull identification number must not be attached to parts of the boat that are removable. The characters of each hull identification number must be no less than one-fourth of an inch high.
Two identical hull identification numbers are required to be displayed on each boat hull.
Read Also: Get Mildew Off Boat Seats
Q: I Made My Own Boat What Do I Do About Registration And Titling
A: The owner of a homemade boat should contact the Environmental Police to schedule an inspection of the vessel by an officer . Homemade boats must be inspected to establish proof of ownership and to verify the description of the vessel. The inspecting officer will provide the customer with an inspection certificate that must be presented when registering the vessel. At the time of registration, your boat will be assigned a HIN . You will be given instructions on how to place this HIN on your boat. You must provide proof, to the registration office, of the HIN placement on your boat before you will receive your registration card and decal. In addition, the applicant must submit a completed form provided by the Department of Revenue showing that sales tax on materials used has been paid .
Why Do You Need Documentation For Your Boat
US Coast Guard documentation of a vessel is considered the preferred method of recording ownership of your boat with the government. As a national form of registration, you receive benefits that would not otherwise be available under state registration and is generally considered a more prestigious form of registry.
Also Check: Mildew Remover For Boat Seats
Q: What About Registration Renewal
A: Boat, ATV and Snowmobile owners will receive a registration renewal notice at least one month prior to the expiration of their current registration. You have the following options to renew.
- Return with enclosed envelope write your registration number or renewal number on check.
- You may bring renewal to any one of our 5 registration offices. Keep in mind that during the boating season, lines can be long .
- Renew online at www.mass.gov/ole
Must Be Disclosed And Included On The Title
- Like motor vehicles, boat owners are now required to disclose lien and security interest details on the application or demonstrate satisfaction of the lien before receiving the title.
- All boat titles with an active lien will be sent to the lienholder.
- The owner will receive the registration containing the lienholder name.
Don’t Miss: How To Clean Mildew Off Boat Seats
Why Is Documentation Of Boats Needed
If you intend to travel to foreign territories, you will need a Certificate of Documentation to protect you from other governments.
Its also easier to get a bank loan when your boat is documented. Also, sometimes getting your boat documented can help you save on taxes.
In case your boat is stolen, it makes it easier to track it down if it is documented.
Why Did You Cash My Check For Boat Registration Before Sending My Registration Decals
Our mail-in boat registration procedures were established to meet our fiduciary responsibility to both the State of Georgia and to our customers. The first objective for mail-in payments is to ensure that customers fees are processed and recorded in such a manner to prevent mishandling of payments, in part accomplished by keeping the number of individuals handling your payment to the lowest level possible. The P.O. Box that receives your boat registration application and payment are physically located at a bank processing center used by the State of Georgia so that your payment is deposited immediately upon receipt. A scanned image of your check or money order is generated as a reference, and your boat registration application is sent from the bank to our license vendor for processing and fulfillment. If the application is complete and all necessary documents are present, the application is typically processed within 48 hours. Decals are created each night and mailed 5 days a week. It typically takes about two weeks from the time we receive your application at the P.O. Box until you receive your decals, or receive a letter or email stating that the application is not complete or documents are missing.
Don’t Miss: How Much Do Boat Mechanics Make In Florida
From Registration To Ownership
- Recognizing that Alaskan boat owners have not historically been required to prove boat ownership when registering at DMV, a tiered system exists to help qualifying boat ownersâ transition towards obtaining a boat title in addition to registration, depending on the ownerâs documents.
- If ownership cannot be established a boat title cannot be issued, and the boat registration must be marked âNo Title Issued â.
- If after three years the âNo Title Issuedâ registration remains uncontested and there is no undisclosed security interest in the boat, a certificate of title may be issued.
Is Your Boat Documented And Should She Be
Date Posted: 2021-02-22: Vincent Pica Commodore, First District, Southern Region
This column is part of a partnership between Waterway Guide Media and the US Coast Guard Auxiliary. Commodore Vincent Pica, First District, Southern Region United States Coast Guard Auxiliary provides our readers with his valuable insights on a regular basis.
All of us are familiar with registering our vessels with the State Department of Motor Vehicles. Like a car, DMV wants to know her horse-power, fuel type and the Hull Identification Number, or HIN#. This is the on-the-water equivalent of a cars VIN#.
You are required to display on each side of the bow the state registration numbers, followed by the expiration sticker itself. But is your boat eligible for documenting with the USCG and, if so, should you? This is what this column is about.
Whither the HIN?
The HIN is the unique 12-digit identification number of the vessel. It is emblazoned on the starboard side of the transom and it is, as you would expect, illegal to alter it, paint over it, obscure it or in any way make it seem like youre trying to make it look like a different HIN#! This number indicates the boat manufacturer, its serial number, and the month and year of production.
This one item is of critical importance during any vessel safety check or exam. If the HIN# on your State registration doesnt conform to the vessels physical HIN#, you would be required to resolve that immediately.
So Why Document the Vessel?
Recommended Reading: Who Owns Freedom Boat Club